INTRODUCTION

Marc Chagall (1887–1985) was one of the great figurative painters of the twentieth century and since the 1960s the Kunsthaus Zürich has staged numerous exhibitions devoted to his art. In addition, the museum houses a dozen or so of Chagall's important paintings, donated by the artist's family and other generous patrons, which represent various phases of his artistic career. Between February and May 2013 the Kunsthaus Zürich will once again celebrate the art of this much-loved artist with the landmark exhibition, Chagall: Modern Master.

Unlike previous Chagall exhibitions held here, Chagall: Modern Master will focus primarily on the three years the artist spent in Paris (1911–1914), and the subsequent period passed in his native Russia (1914–1922). During these crucial years Chagall established himself as a pioneer of modern art, and consolidated his unique visual language to create pictures that were to form the core of his art for the remainder of his life. Suffused with imagery drawn from Jewish ritual and folklore, Chagall's paintings of these years responded to the stimuli of the emerging avant-garde styles as well as to the art of the past. Chagall experienced modernism's 'golden age' in Paris before the First World War, and combined elements of Fauvism, Cubism and Orphism to produce his dreamlike visions that were in turn to influence Expressionist and Surrealist art. During his sojourn in Russia between 1914 and 1922, Chagall encountered the prevailing artistic trends of Suprematism and Constructivism. Throughout these artistic phases Chagall retained his identity as a Jewish artist. His roots in an impoverished Jewish shtetl would remain significant for his worldview and his nostalgia for his Hasidic upbringing would remain a dominant presence in his art.

The exhibition is organized by the Kunsthaus Zürich together with Tate Liverpool. The curators Simonetta Fraquelli and Tobia Bezzola have secured the loan of numerous works from major European and American collections, including the Centre Pompidou – MNAM (Paris), the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and MOMA (New York), the State Tretyakov Gallery (Moscow), the State Russian Museum (St Petersburg) and Tate (London).

The Cattle Dealer
Marc Chagall, The Cattle Dealer, 1912
Oil on canvas, 97.1 x 202.5 cm
Kunstmuseum Basel, acquired with a contribution from Dr. h.c. Richard Doetsch-Benziger, 1948

EINLEITUNG

Marc Chagall (1887–1985) zählt zu den grossen figurativen Malern des 20. Jahrhunderts. Seinem Werk hat das Kunsthaus Zürich deshalb seit den 1960er Jahren zahlreiche Ausstellungen gewidmet. Nun würdigen wir das Schaffen dieses herausragenden Malers aufs Neue mit der grandiosen Ausstellung «Chagall – Meister der Moderne».

Im Unterschied zu früheren Ausstellungen im Kunsthaus konzentriert sich «Chagall. Meister der Moderne» hauptsächlich auf die frühen Pariser Jahre des Künstlers (1911–1914) und die anschliessende Zeit in seiner russischen Heimat (1914–1922). In diesen entscheidenden Jahren etablierte sich Chagall als Pionier der modernen Kunst und prägte seine unverwechselbare Bildsprache, die für den Rest seines Lebens den Grundstock seines Schaffens bilden sollte. Während sich die Motive oft aus dem jüdischen Ritus und Brauchtum speisen, spiegeln Chagalls Bilder dieser Jahre aber deutlich die Stimuli aktueller Avantgarde-Strömungen. Chagall hat das «goldene Zeitalter» der Moderne in Paris vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg miterlebt und fauvistische, kubistische und orphistische Elemente zu traumartigen Visionen kombiniert, die ihrerseits die Kunst der Expressionisten und Surrealisten beeinflussen sollten. Während seines Russlandaufenthalts von 1914 bis 1922 war Chagall mit den dort herrschenden Kunstrichtungen des Suprematismus und des Konstruktivismus konfrontiert. Durch alle künstlerischen Phasen hindurch bewahrte er sich jedoch seine Identität als jüdischer Künstler. Die Herkunft aus einem verarmten Schtetl hat seine Weltsicht dauerhaft geprägt, die wehmütigen Erinnerungen an die chassidische Kindheit und Jugend bleiben in seinen Bildern präsent.

Die Ausstellung ist eine Kooperation zwischen dem Kunsthaus Zürich und der Tate Liverpool. Die Kuratoren Simonetta Fraquelli und Tobia Bezzola können mit zahlreichen Leihgaben aus berühmten europäischen und amerikanischen Sammlungen rechnen: aus dem Centre Pompidou – MNAM (Paris), dem Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum und dem MoMA (New York), der Staatlichen Tretjakow-Galerie (Moskau), dem Staatlichen Russischen Museum (Sankt Petersburg) und der Tate (London).

Marc Chagall Der Viehhändler
Marc Chagall, Der Viehhändler, 1912
Öl auf Leinwand, 97,1 x 202,5 cm
Kunstmuseum Basel, mit einem Beitrag von Dr. h.c. Richard Doetsch-Benziger erworben 1948