FROM MATISSE TO THE BLUE RIDER
EXPRESSIONISM IN GERMANY AND FRANCE
KUNSTHAUS ZÜRICH 7.2.–11.5.14

Alexej Jawlensky
Girl with Peonies, 1909
Oil on cardboard, 101 x 75 cm
Kunst- und Museumsverein Wuppertal

Paul Gauguin
Swineherd, 1888
Oil on canvas, 73.03 x 93.03 cm
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, gift of Lucille Ellis Simon and her family in honour of the 25th anniversary of the museum

Erich Heckel
Girl with Doll, 1910
Oil on canvas, 65 x 70 cm
Serge Sabarsky Collection, Courtesy Neue Galerie New York
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Wassily Kandinsky
Section of Composition II, 1910
Oil on cardboard, 57 x 47.5 cm
Merzbacher Foundation
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Franz Marc
Stony Path (Mountain/Landscape), 1911
Oil on canvas, 130.8 x 101 cm
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, gift of the Women’s Board and Friends of the Museum

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Street, Berlin, 1913
Oil on canvas, 120.6 x 91.1 cm
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, acquired 1939

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff
Garden Street Early in the Morning, 1906
Oil on cardboard, 71.5 x 71 cm
Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, loan from private collection
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Kees van Dongen
Modjesko, Soprano Singer, 1908
Oil on canvas, 100 x 81.3 cm
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, gift of Mr. and Mrs. Peter A. Rübel, 1955
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff
The Broken Dike, 1910
Oil on canvas, 76 x 84 cm
Brücke-Museum, Berlin
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Dodo at the Table (Interieur with Dodo), 1909
Oil on canvas, 120.5 x 90 cm
Kirchner Museum Davos, Rosemarie Ketterer Stiftung

August Macke
Landscape with Cows and Camel, 1914
Oil on canvas, 47 x 54 cm
Kunsthaus Zurich

Marianne Werefkin
The Red Tree, 1910
Tempera on paper on cardboard, 75.5 x 56.5 cm
Ascona, Fondazione Marianne Werefkin, Museo Comunale d’Arte Moderna

Alexej Jawlensky
Girl with Peonies, 1909
Oil on cardboard, 101 x 75 cm
Kunst- und Museumsverein Wuppertal

Today, ‘Expressionism’ is commonly viewed as a German movement – yet in fact it originally emerged at the start of the 20th century from the enthusiastic engagement of German artists with Classical Modernism in France, even as contemporary French art had already established a presence in Germany. ‘Van Gogh struck modern art like a bolt of lightning,’ was how one German observer of the scene described the painter’s impact on German artists – at a time when they were simultanesouly receptive for the art of Seurat, Signac and the Post-Impressionists. Then followed Cézanne, Gauguin and Matisse. The response by the artists of ‘Die Brücke’ and ‘Der Blaue Reiter’ (Blue Rider) to French Post-Impressionism and the ‘Fauves’ was an explosion of colour. Collectors in Germany also eagerly acquired and exhibited French art, while museum directors with an eye to the future were purchasing it for their own collections.

MORE THAN 100 MASTERPIECES

This exhibition sets the record straight. It demonstrates that Expressionism is a movement shaped by the spirit of cosmopolitanism and productive international exchange. It presents the findings of recent research into the 107 masterpieces by 37 artists on display, documenting a history of reception that has hitherto been little studied by scholars. The curator of the exhibition’s sole showing in Europe is Cathérine Hug. Together with the Kunsthaus Zürich, Timothy O. Benson, curator at the Robert Gore Rifkind Center for German Expressionist Studies, has succeeded in bringing together paintings and graphic works that featured in major exhibitions and collections of the time, or were studied in detail by German artists in Paris. They are juxtaposed with ‘counterparts’ in which the impact of the works that provided the initial inspiration can clearly be seen.

THE BERLIN SECESSION, SONDERBUND AND OTHER INFLUENCES

Unlike Impressionism and Divisionism, with their focus on the world around us, this is an art that gives formal expression to the inner feelings and psychological states of its creators, in a language that is both powerful and laden with energy. The relatively coarse brushwork reflects the fears, but also the hopes, which imbued that extraordinarily productive and eventful period before the First World War. The strong influence on the art scene of associations such as the Berlin Secession and the Sonderbund in Cologne, as well as gallery owners, art dealers and collectors such as Paul Cassirer, Harry Graf Kessler and Karl Ernst Osthaus, is absolutely essential in order to understand this chapter of art history and the perception of art works from the various expressionist movements. Visionary museum directors populated their collections with masterpieces of Impressionism, Post-Impressionism and Fauvism, arousing widespread public interest.

A VIVID PRESENTATION OF SCHOLARLY RESEARCH

As well as a tour through European art history from Paris to Berlin, the exhibition reflects the findings of new research into Franco-German relations in the early years of the 20th century, opening up striking perspectives and new interpretations of Expressionism with remarkable alacrity. The Kunsthaus Zürich is dividing the works up into thematic and formal groups: van Gogh, Paris, Fauves, Berlin, Cubism, ‘Die Brücke’, ‘Der Blaue Reiter’. Visitors can expect an all-encompassing sensory experience marked by surprising confrontations. The expressive power of the works and their relationships to each other are immediately apparent and easy to comprehend. A section including historical materials – printed matter such as source texts, archival records, photographs and press reviews – further underscores the exhibition’s contribution to scholarship.

LOANS FROM THE WORLD’S LEADING MUSEUMS

The 77 paintings and 30 graphic works by 38 artists are drawn from public and private collections in Europe and overseas. The most celebrated include the Musée d’Orsay, Tate, the Metropolitan Museum, New York, the National Gallery of Art Washington, the National Gallery in Berlin, the Folkwang Museum and the Merzbacher Kunststiftung. From Zurich, the exhibition travels to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) and the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. Timothy O. Benson is responsible for the background scholarship and for the cooperation between the Kunsthaus and LACMA. The results of his most recent research form part of an extensive catalogue, complemented by essays by Laird M. Easton, Claudine Grammont, Frauke Josenhans, Katherine Kuenzli, Peter Kropmanns, Magdalena M. Moeller, Sherwin Simmons and a contribution by curator Cathérine Hug with Georg Baselitz and Robert Menasse. This exhibition was organized by the Los Angeles County Museum of Art and the Kunsthaus Zürich in collaboration with the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts.

DISCUSSIONS

Details of academic events related to the literature, architecture and music of the early 20th century are published here in German language.

CONCERT

Modern art is the locus for a striking confluence of painting and music. For composers such as Debussy, concepts such as sound and colour are synonymous. The music of Expressionism, by contrast, lives from bold brushwork and a desire to test boundaries. The ZKO will be performing in the Kunsthaus at 11 a.m. on Sunday 2 March. For tickets and further information, see www.zko.ch

GUIDED TOURS

Guided tours take place on various days of the week: Wednesdays and Thursdays at 6 p.m., Fridays at 3 p.m. and Sundays at 11 a.m. On Saturdays from 3 p.m. to 4 p.m., special guided tours link the contents of the exhibition with works from the Kunsthaus collection.

English tours: 27 February at 4 p.m., 21 March and 13 April at 1 p.m. Private guided tours by arrangement.

WORKSHOPS

A comprehensive art education programme in German for all generations has been organized. See «Begleitprogramm» on the German website.

CATALOGUE

Curator Timothy O. Benson of the Robert Gore Rifkind Center for German Expressionist Studies is largely responsible for the exhibition catalogue. It contains the results of his latest research as well as essays by Laird M. Easton, Claudine Grammont, Frauke Josenhans, Katherine Kuenzli, Peter Kropmanns, Magdalena M. Moeller, Sherwin Simmons and a contribution by curator Cathérine Hug with Georg Baselitz and Robert Menasse. The comprehensive publication (Prestel Verlag, 304 pages, approx. 200 colour illustrations) is available in the Kunsthaus shop and from bookstores.

KUNSTHAUS ZÜRICH

The Kunsthaus is centrally located in Zurich, within walking distance of the main railway station and lake.
Trams 3, 8 and 9 as well as bus no. 31 stop directly in front of the museum.

Kunsthaus Zürich
Heimplatz 1, CH–8001 Zurich
tel. +41 (0)44 253 84 84
www.kunsthaus.ch.

OPENING HOURS

Open: Fri-Sun/Tues 10 a.m. – 6 p.m., Wed, Thurs 10 a.m. – 8 p.m. Public holidays: Easter 18-21 April, 1 May: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

ADMISSION

Admission to the exhibition including audioguide in English:
CHF 22.-/17.- (concessions and groups).
Combined ticket incl. collection: CHF 25.-/CHF 18.- (concessions and groups).
Children and young people up to the age of 16 free of charge. Payment can be made in euros. Access is barrier-free.
Prams and portable seats can be provided.

ADVANCE SALES

Advance sales: SBB RailAway combination ticket, with discount on travel and admission: at stations and by phoning Rail Service 0900 300 300 (CHF 1.19/min. by land line), www.sbb.ch/matisse.

Zurich Tourism: hotel room reservation and ticket sales available from the Tourist Service at Zurich Main Railway Station, tel. +41 44 215 40 00, hotel@zuerich.com, www.zuerich.com., www.zuerich.com.

Magasins Fnac: sales points in Switzerland: Rive, Balexert, Lausanne, Fribourg, Pathé Kino Basel.

sbb-zt-fnac-logo

COLOPHON

Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft
P.O. Box
CH-8024 Zurich

Texts: Cathérine Hug, Björn Quellenberg
Editor: Kristin Steiner
Layout and technical realization: gestalten AG, Zurich; Donner Trepp

Citation should include mention of source.
© Kunsthaus Zürich 2013

Copyrights images
All rights reserved. Without permission reproduction and any other use of the work besides the individual and private consultation is forbidden.

DE MATISSE AU CAVALIER BLEU
L'EXPRESSIONNISME EN ALLEMAGNE & EN FRANCE
KUNSTHAUS ZÜRICH 7.2.–11.5.14

Alexej Jawlensky
La jeune fille aux pivoines, 1909
Huile sur carton, 101 x 75 cm
Kunst- und Museumsverein Wuppertal

Paul Gauguin
Le Gardien de porcs, 1888
Huile sur toile, 73,03 x 93,03 cm
Los Angeles County Museum of Art, don de Lucille Ellis Simon et sa famille en l’honneur du 25ème anniveraire du musée

Erich Heckel
Fränzi à la poupée, 1910
Huile sur toile, 65 x 70 cm
Serge Sabarsky Collection, Courtesy Neue Galerie New York
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Wassily Kandinsky
Fragment pour Composition II, 1910
Huile sur carton, 57 x 47,5 cm
Fondation Merzbacher
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Franz Marc
Chemin pierreux (montagnes/paysage), 1911
Huile sur toile, 130,8 x 101 cm
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, don du Women’s Board and Friends of the Museum

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Rue, Berlin, 1913
Huile sur toile, 120,6 x 91,1 cm
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, acquéri 1939

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff
Gartenstrasse de bon matin, 1906
Huile sur carton, 71,5 x 71 cm
Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz, prêt de propriété privée
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Kees van Dongen
Modjesko, chanteur soprano, 1908
Huile sur toile, 100 x 81,3 cm
The Museum of Modern Art, New York, don de M. et Mme Peter A. Rübel, 1955
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Karl Schmidt-Rottluff
Rupture d´une digue, 1910
Huile sur toile, 76 x 84 cm
Brücke-Museum, Berlin
© 2013 ProLitteris, Zurich

Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Dodo à la table (Intérieur avec Dodo), 1909
Huile sur toile, 120,5 x 90 cm
Kirchner Museum Davos, Rosemarie Ketterer Stiftung

August Macke
Paysage avec vaches et chameau, 1914
Huile sur toile, 47 x 54 cm
Kunsthaus Zurich

Marianne Werefkin
L’arbre rouge, 1910
Tempera sur papier sur carton, 75,5 x 56,5 cm
Ascona, Fondazione Marianne Werefkin, Museo Comunale d’Arte Moderna

Alexej Jawlensky
La jeune fille aux pivoines, 1909
Huile sur carton, 101 x 75 cm
Kunst- und Museumsverein Wuppertal

On considère communément l’«expressionnisme» comme un mouvement allemand, bien que sa naissance au début du 20ème siècle procède du vif intérêt porté par des artistes allemands au modernisme en France. De surcroît, l’art français était déjà bien représenté en Allemagne. «Van Gogh a frappé l’art moderne comme la foudre», écrivit un observateur allemand à propos de l’influence du peintre sur les artistes allemands, à une époque où ces derniers s’imprégnaient déjà de Seurat, de Signac et des néo-impressionnistes. Vinrent ensuite Gauguin, Cézanne et Matisse. Les artistes de «Die Brücke» et du «Cavalier bleu» réagirent par de véritables explosions de couleurs aux œuvres des néo-impressionnistes français et des Fauves. En Allemagne, on ne tarda guère à collectionner l’art français avec ferveur, à l’exposer, et des directeurs de musées aux idées avant-gardistes en achetèrent pour leurs propres collections.

PLUS DE 100 CHEFS-D’ŒUVRE

L’exposition met en lumière la genèse de l’expressionnisme en montrant que ce mouvement est né dans un esprit de cosmopolitisme et qu’il a été marqué par toute une série d’échanges fructueux au niveau international. Avec les 107 chefs-d’œuvre de 37 artistes exposés seront présentées les recherches les plus récentes sur cette réception dont l’histoire n’a jusqu’à présent été que peu étudiée. Cathérine Hug est la curatrice de cette unique étape en Europe. La collaboration entre Timothy O. Benson, commissaire en charge des recherches sur l’expressionnisme allemand au Robert Gore Rifkind Center et le Kunsthaus Zürich a permis de réunir des peintures et des gravures que l’on pouvait voir à l’époque dans d’importantes expositions et collections, ou que des artistes allemands avaient étudiées en détail à Paris. À ces sources d’inspiration seront confrontées d’autres œuvres qui trahissent nettement l’influence de ces «modèles».

SÉCESSION BERLINOISE, SONDERBUND ET AUTRES INFLUENCES

Contrairement à l’impressionnisme et au divisionnisme, ce n’est plus à l’environnement mais aux sentiments et aux états d’âme de l’artiste que l’art donne une expression formelle et un langage puissant et énergique. Le geste pictural plutôt grossier reflète les peurs mais aussi les espoirs de la société d’avant la Première Guerre mondiale, époque extrêmement productive et agitée. Force est de reconnaître l’influence majeure qu’ont exercée sur la vie artistique des groupes comme la «Sécession berlinoise» ou le «Sonderbund» de Cologne, des galeristes, des marchands d’art et des collectionneurs comme Paul Cassirer, Harry Graf Kessler ou Karl Ernst Osthaus. Des directeurs de musées aux idées avant-gardistes ont enrichi leurs collections de chefs-d’œuvre de l’impressionnisme, du postimpressionnisme et du fauvisme, attirant ainsi l’attention du public.

UNE PRÉSENTATION ACCESSIBLE DES PLUS RÉCENTS TRAVAUX
SCIENTIFIQUES SUR L’EXPRESSIONNISME

Si elle offre un vaste parcours à travers l’histoire de l’art européen de Paris à Berlin, l’exposition tient également compte des dernières études réalisées sur les relations franco-allemandes au début du 20ème siècle. Elle dégage ainsi des perspectives étonnantes sur l’expressionnisme et de nouveaux axes de compréhension de ce mouvement, qui sont présentés de manière très accessible au public. Les œuvres exposées au Kunsthaus sont ordonnées par groupes thématiques et formels: Van Gogh, Paris, les Fauves, Berlin, le cubisme, Die Brücke, le Cavalier Bleu. L’expérience proposée aux visiteurs fera appel à tous leurs sens, associations et confrontations des œuvres les surprendront. La puissance expressive des œuvres, les liens qui les unissent ou les opposent seront immédiatement perceptibles et aisément compréhensibles. Un espace réservé aux sources historiques – documents imprimés, textes, archives, photographies et articles de presse – permettra d’illustrer lui aussi la dimension scientifique de cette exposition.

DES ŒUVRES PRÊTÉES PAR LES PLUS GRANDS MUSÉES DU MONDE

Les 77 tableaux et les 30 gravures présentés proviennent de collections publiques et privées d’Europe et d’Amérique, dont les plus célèbres sont le Musée d’Orsay, la Tate, le Metropolitan Museum de New York, la National Gallery of Art de Washington, la Nationalgalerie de Berlin, le Folkwang Museum et la Merzbacher Kunststiftung. L’exposition sera ensuite présentée au Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) et au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal. Timothy O. Benson a assuré la direction scientifique du projet et la coopération entre le Kunsthaus et le LACMA. Les fruits des recherches scientifiques les plus récentes de Timothy Benson, ainsi que des essais signés par Laird M. Easton, Claudine Grammont, Frauke Josenhans, Katherine Kuenzli, Peter Kropmanns, Magdalena M. Moeller, Sherwin Simmons et un article de Cathérine Hug avec Georg Baselitz et Robert Menasse figurent dans le riche catalogue de l’exposition.Cette exposition est le fruit d’une collaboration avec le Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) et le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal.

TABLES RONDES

Le programme détaillé des manifestations scientifiques organisées autour de la littérature, de l’architecture et de la musique au début du 20ème siècle est disponible ici en allemande.

CONCERT

Dans l’art moderne, peinture et musique convergent de manière frappante. Chez des compositeurs comme Debussy, les notions de timbre et de couleur sont synonymes. En revanche, la musique expressionniste vit de la force du coup de pinceau et cherche à repousser ses limites. Le dimanche 2 mars à 11h, le ZKO sera l’invité du Kunsthaus Zurich. Informations et billets sur www.zko.ch

VISITES GUIDÉES

Des visites guidées publiques sont organisées plusieurs fois par semaine: le mercredi et le jeudi à 18h, le vendredi à 15h, et le dimanche à 11h. Le samedi de 15 à 16h, des visites mettent en lien les contenus de l’exposition avec des œuvres de la collection du Kunsthaus. Visites guidées en français: 1er mars et 26 avril à 13h. Visites guidées privées sur demande.

ATELIER

Un vaste programme de médiation culturelle pour toutes les générations est proposé en allemand. Voir «Begleitprogramm» sur la page allemande.

CATALOGUE

Le catalogue de l’exposition a été réalisé sous la responsabilité de Timothy O. Benson, curateur au Robert Gore Rifkind Center, spécialisé dans l’expressionnisme allemand. On y trouvera les résultats de ses dernières recherches ainsi que des essais de Laird M. Easton, Claudine Grammont, Frauke Josenhans, Katherine Kuenzli, Peter Kropmanns, Magdalena M. Moeller et Sherwin Simmons ainsi qu’une contribution de la curatrice Cathérine Hug avec Georg Baselitz et Robert Menasse. Cet ouvrage très riche (Editions Prestel, 304 pages, env. 200 reproductions en couleurs) est en vente à la boutique du Kunsthaus et en librairie.

KUNSTHAUS ZÜRICH

Situé en plein centre de Zurich, le Kunsthaus est accessible à pied depuis la gare principale et le lac.
Les tramways 3, 8, 9 et le bus 31 s’arrêtent juste devant le musée.

Kunsthaus Zürich, Heimplatz 1, CH–8001 Zurich, tél. +41 (0)44 253 84 84, www.kunsthaus.ch.

HORAIRES

Horaires: ven-dim/mar 10h–18h, mer/jeu 10h–20h. Jours fériés: Pâques du 18 au 21 avril, 1er mai: 10h–18h.

ENTRÉE

Entrée pour l’exposition avec audioguide français inclus:
CHF 22.–/17.– tarif réduit et groupes.
Billet combiné incluant la visite de la collection: CHF 25.–/18.– tarif réduit et groupes.
Gratuit jusqu’à 16 ans.
Les paiements en euros sont acceptés. Le musée est accessible aux personnes handicapées.
Poussettes et sièges roulants sont mis à disposition des visiteurs.

PRÉVENTE

Prévente: Offre combinée RailAway CFF avec réduction sur le voyage et l’entrée, en vente en gare ou auprès de Rail Service 0900 300 300 (CHF 1,19/min. depuis le réseau fixe), www.cff.ch/matisse.

Zurich Tourisme: Réservation de chambres d’hôtel et vente de billets. Service d’information touristique en gare principale, tél. +41 44 215 40 00, hotel@zuerich.com, www.zuerich.com.

Magasins Fnac: points de vente CH: Rive, Balexert, Lausanne, Fribourg, Pathé Kino Basel, www.fnac.ch; F: Carrefour, Géant, Magasins U, 0 892 68 36 22 (0,34 €/min), www.fnac.com; BE: www.fnac.be.

sbb-zt-fnac-logo

IMPRESSUM

Société zurichoise des beaux-arts
Case postale
CH-8024 Zurich

Textes: Cathérine Hug, Björn Quellenberg
Rédaction: Kristin Steiner
Mise en page et réalisation technique: gestalten AG, Zürich; Donner Trepp

Reproduction autorisée avec indication de la source.
© Kunsthaus Zürich 2013

Droits d'auteur des images
Tous droits réservés. Sauf autorisation, la reproduction ainsi que toute utilisation des œuvres autre la consultation individuelle et privée interdites.