The space-filling work comprising a total of 2,000 plaster rods is being shown again at the Kunsthaus Zürich for the first time in 20 years.

Dynamism and tension

Free admission to the Kunsthaus

As a member, you can visit the Kunsthaus as often as you like, and receive various discounts as well as invitations to all exhibition openings.

Now available at a reduced price!

‘The 2000 Sculpture’ by Walter De Maria (1935–2013) is one of the largest horizontal sculptures on show indoors. It was created in 1992 for an exhibition at the Kunsthaus Zürich, when Harald Szeemann invited the artist to develop a new installation for the large exhibition gallery.

The space-filling work comprises a total of 2,000 white plaster rods each 50 cm long and 18 cm high. Despite their identical dimensions, the individual elements are different and have five, seven or nine sides. They are arranged in a uniform pattern on a surface measuring 500 square metres to create a dynamic composition of zigzag lines and diagonals. Seemingly cohesive and monumental at first glance, the work resolves itself into a plethora of visual impressions as the viewer moves around it, creating a tension between predictable regularity and individual perception.

‘The 2000 Sculpture’ was last shown at the Kunsthaus Zürich in the year 2000. We are therefore delighted to be able to present this wonderful work again at last, thanks to a generous loan from the Walter A. Bechtler Foundation.

Curated by Mirjam Varadinis

Image: Walter De Maria, The 2000 Sculpture, 1992, Kunsthaus Zürich, property of the ‘2000 Sculpture’ Foundation, 1994, photos: Nic Tenwiggenhorn, Düsseldorf, © Estate of Walter De Maria

Die raumfassende Arbeit, welche aus insgesamt 2000 Gipsbarren besteht, wird nach 20 Jahren wieder im Kunsthaus Zürich gezeigt.

Dynamik und Spannung

Freier Eintritt ins Kunsthaus

Mit einer Mitgliedschaft besuchen Sie das Kunsthaus so oft Sie wollen, erhalten diverse Vergünstigungen und werden zu allen Vernissagen eingeladen.

Jetzt vom reduzierten Preis profitieren!

«The 2000 Sculpture» von Walter De Maria (1935 – 2013) ist eine der grössten Bodenskulpturen im Innenraum und entstand 1992 für eine Ausstellung im Kunsthaus Zürich. Damals lud Harald Szeemann den Künstler ein, eine neue Installation für den grossen Ausstellungssaal zu entwickeln.

Die raumfassende Arbeit besteht aus insgesamt 2000 weissen Gipsbarren von je 50 cm Länge und 18 cm Höhe. Die einzelnen Elemente sind trotz ihrer einheitlichen Grösse verschieden und weisen fünf, sieben oder neun Seiten auf. Sie werden auf einer Fläche von insgesamt 500 Quadratmetern in einem gleichmässigen Raster ausgelegt, das eine Dynamik zwischen Zickzacklinie und Diagonale erzeugt. Was auf den ersten Blick geschlossen und monumental wirkt, entwickelt mit der Bewegung eine Fülle von visuellen Eindrücken. Es entsteht eine Spannung zwischen durchschaubarer Gesetzmässigkeit und individueller Wahrnehmung.

Im Jahr 2000 wurde «The 2000 Sculpture» zum letzten Mal im Kunsthaus Zürich ausgestellt. Wir freuen uns daher sehr, dass wir diese wunderbare Arbeit als Leihgabe der Walter A. Bechtler-Stiftung endlich wieder zeigen können.

Kuratorin Mirjam Varadinis

Abb: Walter De Maria, The 2000 Sculpture, 1992, Kunsthaus Zürich, Eigentum der «The 2000 Sculpture» Foundation, 1994, Fotos: Nic Tenwiggenhorn, Düsseldorf, © Estate of Walter De Maria