The exhibition is conceived as a survey, focusing on the highly productive period before the First World War. Over 200 works with sculptures and paintings and decorative objects. Paintings by contemporaries such as Gauguin, Denis and Vuillard.

From painter to sculptor

Admission

CHF 18.–/14.– (concessions and groups) inclusive Collection. Free admission for members, children and young people under the age of 17.

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Aristide Maillol (1861–1944) is the most important French sculptor of the early modern era after Auguste Rodin. A major and influential figure who is both modern and timeless, Maillol created sensual art that embodies the values of clarity and balance of forms, making him a consummate artist of the classical tradition.

The exhibition brings together over 200 works, with both sculptures – including all the artist’s key works – and paintings: Maillol began his career as a painter, producing canvases of great quality that are still little known outside France. Also on display are decorative objects, tapestries designed by Maillol, and enchanting drawings. The presentation additionally incorporates paintings by contemporaries such as Paul Gauguin, Maurice Denis and Édouard Vuillard, revealing the closeness of Maillol’s relationship to them.

Maillol_Relief.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Femme accroupie, 1911 (model), Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny – musée Maillol, photo © J.-A. Brunelle
Maillol_Leda.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Léda, 1901–1902, Private collection, photo © J.-L. Losi
Maillol_ Le-cycliste.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Léda, 1901–1902, Private collection, photo © J.-L. Losi
Maillol_Tapisserie-de-la-Baigneuse.jpg
Aristide Maillol, La Vague, also known as Femme à la vague or La Baigneuse, 1896, Fire screen, needlepoint, probably executed by Clotilde Maillol, Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, photo © J.-A. Brunelle
Maillol_Danseuse.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Danseuse, around 1895, Paris, musée d’Orsay, © RMN Grand-Palais (musée d’Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski
Maillol_Enfant-couronne.jpg
Aristide Maillol, L’Enfant couronné, ca. 1890–1892, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, photo © J.-A. Brunelle
Maillol_Leda-vase.jpg
Aristide Maillol and André Metthey (ceramist), Léda, ca. 1907, Paris, collection Larock-Granoff, photo © Collection Marc et Pierre Larock
_DSC8599.JPG
Aristide Maillol, Vénus au collier, 1928, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1931

The image of woman today

Maillol’s contribution to Modernism lies in the formally rigorous reformulation and geometrization of the classical female nude in sculpture. In terms of subject matter, however, he persevered with a highly traditional theme within the history of the medium. A male artist, then, with a predilection for depicting nude women? Against this backdrop, the Kunsthaus came up with idea of an extra publication, to accompany the Zurich presentation of an exhibition that was originally conceived at the Musée d’Orsay. In it, ‘Vénus au collier’, a life-size female nude by Maillol from the Kunsthaus Collection, is sent on a journey through the museum’s galleries, encountering works by female artists along the way, ranging from the figural to the abstract, and from neoclassical through modern to contemporary. Maillol’s thematically traditional depiction of woman is thus contrasted with the artistic work of women, to reconsider his oeuvre from a modern-day perspective.

The exhibition will be shown in the Chipperfield building and is organized by the Kunsthaus Zürich and the musées d’Orsay et de l’Orangerie, Paris, and the Piscine, Roubaix, with the exceptional partnership of the Dina Vierny-Musée Maillol Foundation.

Maillol_Ile-de-France.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Île-de-France, between 1925 and 1933, musée d’Art et d’Industrie André-Diligent – La Piscine, dépôt du musée d’Orsay, photo © RMN-GP (musée d’Orsay) / A. Didierjean

Public guided tour

  • German: Saturdays 8/22 Oct, 5/19 Nov, 3/17 Dec, 7/21 Jan 2023 at 11 a.m.
  • French: Sunday 30 Oct at 2 p.m.
  • Costs: Exhibition Ticket + CHF 6.– / CHF 4.– (concessions and members)
  • Registration via Agenda!

Private guided tour

We will be happy to organize a tour tailored to the needs of your group.

  • Max. 20 people
  • German, English, French, Italian
  • CHF 190.– (German) / CHF 220.– (other languages) + Admission Ticket (group tarif)
  • Duration: 1 hour

Ill: Aristide Maillol, La Nuit, 1909, Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, photo © J.-L. Losi

Eine Überblicksschau mit Fokus auf der reichen Schaffenszeit vor dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Über 200 Werke von Skulpturen, Reliefs, Gemälde und dekorative Objekte. Gemälde von Zeitgenossen wie Gauguin, Denis oder Vuillard ergänzen die Ausstellung.

Vom Maler zum Bildhauer

Eintritt

CHF 18.–/14.– (ermässigt und Gruppen) beinhaltet den Zutritt zur Sammlung. Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre.

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Aristide Maillol (1861–1944) ist nach Auguste Rodin der bedeutendste französische Bildhauer der frühen Moderne. Als grosse, einflussreiche Figur, gleichzeitig modern wie zeitlos, verkörpert er mit seiner sinnlichen Kunst die Werte der Klarheit und des Gleichgewichts der Formen, was ihn zum Vollender der klassischen Tradition macht.

Die Ausstellung vereinigt über 200 Werke. Neben Skulpturen – darunter sämtliche Hauptwerke des Künstlers – auch Gemälde: Maillol hatte seine Karriere als Maler begonnen und schuf in dieser Gattung qualitätvolle Werke, die ausserhalb Frankreichs bislang wenig bekannt sind. Ausserdem zu sehen sind dekorative Objekte, von Maillol gestaltete Tapisserien und zauberhafte Zeichnungen. Gemälde von Zeitgenossen wie Paul Gauguin, Maurice Denis oder Édouard Vuillard ergänzen die Ausstellung und machen Maillols Nähe zu diesen Künstlern erfahrbar.

Maillol_Relief.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Femme accroupie, 1911 (Modell), Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny – musée Maillol, Foto © J.-L. Losi
Maillol_Leda.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Léda, 1901–1902, Privatsammlung, Foto © J.-L. Losi
Maillol_ Le-cycliste.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Le Cycliste, 1907–1908, Kunstmuseum Basel, Ankauf 1938, Foto © Kunstmuseum Basel
Maillol_Tapisserie-de-la-Baigneuse.jpg
Aristide Maillol, La Vague, auch Femme à la vague, oder La Baigneuse, 1896, Kaminschirm, Nadelstickerei, wahrscheinlich von Clotilde Maillol ausgeführt, Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, Foto © J.-A. Brunelle
Maillol_Danseuse.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Danseuse, um 1895, Paris, musée d‘Orsay, © RMN Grand-Palais (musée d‘Orsay) / Hervé Lewandowski
Maillol_Enfant-couronne.jpg
Aristide Maillol, L‘Enfant couronné, um 1890–1892, Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, Foto © J.-A. Brunelle
Maillol_Leda-vase.jpg
Aristide Maillol und André Metthey (Keramiker), Léda, um 1907, Paris, collection Larock-Granoff, Foto © Collection Marc et Pierre Larock
_DSC8599.JPG
Aristide Maillol, Vénus au collier, 1928, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1931

Frauenbild heute

Maillols Beitrag an die Moderne ist die formal strenge Neuformulierung und Geometrisierung des klassischen weiblichen Aktes in der Skulptur. Inhaltlich aber blieb er damit bei einem stark der Tradition verhafteten Thema der Skulpturgeschichte. Ein Künstler-Mann der mit Vorliebe nackte Frauen darstellt? Vor diesem Hintergrund entstand im Kunsthaus die Idee, die Zürcher Station der Ausstellung, die im Musée d’Orsay konzipiert wurde, um eine Publikation zu ergänzen. In ihr wird ein lebensgrosser Frauenakt Maillols aus der Kunsthaus-Sammlung – «Vénus au collier» – auf eine Reise durch die Museumsräume geschickt und begegnet dort Werken von Künstlerinnen: figuralen und abstrakten Werken, klassizistischen, modernen und zeitgenössischen. Damit wird der inhaltlich gesehen traditionellen Darstellung der Frau bei Maillol die künstlerische Arbeit von Frauen gegenübergestellt, sein Werk aus heutiger Perspektive befragt.

Die Ausstellung im Chipperfield-Bau wird organisiert vom Kunsthaus Zürich, den Musées d'Orsay et de l'Orangerie, Paris und La Piscine, Roubaix, in Kooperation mit der Stiftung Dina Vierny- Musée Maillol.

Maillol_Ile-de-France.jpg
Aristide Maillol, Île-de-France, La Jeune Fille qui marche dans l‘eau, zwischen 1925 und 1933, musée d’Art et d’Industrie André- Diligent – La Piscine, dépôt du musée d’Orsay, Foto © RMN-GP (musée d‘Orsay) / A. Didierjean

Öffentliche Führungen

  • Deutsch: Samstags 8./22.10., 5./19.11., 3./17.12., 7./21.1.2023 um 11 Uhr
  • Französisch: Sonntag, 30.10. um 14 Uhr
  • Kosten: Eintrittsticket + CHF 6.– / CHF 4.– (ermässigt und Mitglieder)
  • Anmeldung über die Agenda!

Private Führungen

Gerne gehen wir auf die individuellen Bedürfnisse Ihrer Gruppe ein.

  • Max. 20 Personen
  • Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch
  • CHF 190.– (Deutsch) / CHF 220.– (andere Sprachen) + Ausstellungseintritt (Gruppentarif)
  • Dauer: 1 Stunde

Abb. oben: Aristide Maillol, La Nuit, 1909, Paris, Fondation Dina Vierny - musée Maillol, Foto © J.-L. Losi