Presenting 500 exhibits revealing how the legendary Italian film-maker Federico Fellini used drawings to develop the scenes and characters for his films.

From drawings to charachters in a film

Federico Fellini (1920–1993) is one of the most important directors in cinema history. Films such as ‘La strada’ (1954), ‘La dolce vita’ (1960), ‘Amarcord’ (1973) and ‘Città delle donne’ (1980) are classics that are discussed by culture practitioners internationally and loved by the public at large. They are incisive commentaries on Italian society but also on Western values in the 20th century. Less known is the fact that Fellini had been a tireless draughtsman since his youth, initially sketching out his dreams and ideas using a felt or ball-point pen or a fineliner on paper before arranging them on the set and letting the cameras roll.

Fellini_Filmplakat_Fellinis-Gauner.jpg
German film poster for ‘Il bidone’, 1955, Collection of the German Poster Museum in the Museum Folkwang, Essen © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Signora-del-treno.jpg
Federico Fellini Signora del treno, 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Casanova.jpg
Federico Fellini Casanova (Donald Sutherland), 1976 (Il casanova), Graziano Mandozzi, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Aufnahme-am-Set_Casanova.jpg
Pierluigi Praturlon Still taken on the set of ‘Il Casanova’, 1976, Graziano Mandozzi © Estate Pierluigi Praturlon
Fellini_Abfahrt-der-Marktfrauen.jpg
Federico Fellini Untitled (departure of the market women), 1972–1973 (Amarcord), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Studie-einer-Boxerin.jpg
Federico Fellini Untitled (study of a female boxer), 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Anita-vestita-da-prete.jpg
Federico Fellini Anita vestita da prete, 1959–1960 (La dolce vita), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

In addition to individual scenes and details of sets, he was chiefly interested in the characters that populate his films. Drawing was one way in which he developed his thoughts about them. These rapid sketches helped to guide him, but he also used them to explain his ideas visually to the film crew. As a consequence of his artistic leanings – he first worked as a caricaturist and creator of humorous drawings for newspapers – Fellini’s film drawings show a marked tendency towards caricature, and even the grotesque. It is that specific style that makes the drawings remarkable artistic creations in their own right, independently of the films for which they were made.

Fellini_Kostuem-Dresden-Casanova.jpg
Danilo Donati Costume for the Dresden Opera scene, 1976 (Il casanova) Graziano Mandozzi

Important private collections, film clips and props

The presentation includes some 500 exhibits: drawings, on-set photographs and props actually used in the films. It has been conceived by Cathérine Hug, who is curating the presentation at the Kunsthaus Zürich, in collaboration with Tobias Burg, who was responsible for its earlier showing at the Museum Folkwang in Essen. The last exhibition of this kind at the Kunsthaus was staged in 1984 while the director was still alive, and with his personal involvement. A large proportion of the exhibits consist of drawings from the Zurich collection of Jakob and Philipp Keel. They are complemented by a similar number of mostly black-and-white set photographs, costumes and props as well as expansive film clips and trailers which, through their interplay with the drawings, shed light on Fellini’s working method. The drawings and photographs attest to the close ties between Federico Fellini and the Keels. Many have not previously been published. The selection on display at the Kunsthaus Zürich includes 40 additional loans that were not on show at its cooperation partner, the Museum Folkwang in Essen, where the exhibition ran until 20 February 2022. These costumes, props, casting letters and personal effects come from the Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma in Sion, the Fellini Museum in Rimini, which opened in 2021, and the private holdings of the conductor Graziano Mandozzi.

The exhibition is supported by the Truus and Gerrit van Riemsdijk Foundation and the Dr. Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation.

Ill:

Federico Fellini, Maria de Sisti as the inn owner, 1972 (Roma), Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma, Sion © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

Supported by:

Anhand von 500 Exponaten, zeigt das Kunsthaus Zürich wie der legendäre italienische Filmemacher Federico Fellini die Szenen und Charaktere seiner Filme in Zeichnungen entwickelte.

Über die Zeichnung zu den Figuren im Film

Federico Fellini (1920–1993) zählt zu den bedeutendsten Regisseuren der Filmgeschichte. Produktionen wie «La strada» (1954), «La dolce vita» (1960), «Amarcord» (1973) und «Città delle donne» (1980) sind Filmklassiker, die unter internationalen Kulturschaffenden diskutiert und vom Publikum gefeiert werden. Ihr Thema reflektiert mit Prägnanz die italienische Gesellschaft, aber auch westliche Wertevorstellungen des 20. Jahrhunderts. Was bisher wenig bekannt ist: Fellini war von Jugend an auch ein unermüdlicher Zeichner, der seine Träume und Ideen zuerst mit Filzstift, Kugelschreiber oder Fineliner auf Papier skizzierte, bevor er sie am Set in Szene setzte und auf Zelluloid bannte.

Fellini_Filmplakat_Fellinis-Gauner.jpg
Deutsches Filmplakat zu «Il bidone», 1955, Sammlung des Deutschen Plakat Museums im Museum Folkwang, Essen © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Signora-del-treno.jpg
Federico Fellini Signora del treno, 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Sammlung Jakob und Philipp Keel, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Casanova.jpg
Federico Fellini Casanova (Donald Sutherland), 1976 (Il casanova), Graziano Mandozzi, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Aufnahme-am-Set_Casanova.jpg
Pierluigi Praturlon Aufnahme am Set von «Il casanova», 1976, Graziano Mandozzi, © Nachlass Pierluigi Praturlon
Fellini_Abfahrt-der-Marktfrauen.jpg
Federico Fellini Ohne Titel (Abfahrt der Marktfrauen), 1972–1973 (Amarcord), Sammlung Jakob und Philipp Keel, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Studie-einer-Boxerin.jpg
Federico Fellini Ohne Titel (Studie einer Boxerin), 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Sammlung Jakob und Philipp Keel, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Anita-vestita-da-prete.jpg
Federico Fellini Anita vestita da prete, 1959–1960 (La dolce vita), Sammlung Jakob und Philipp Keel, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

Neben einzelnen Szenen oder Ausstattungsdetails galt sein Interesse dabei in erster Linie den Figuren, die seine Filme bevölkern. Er entwickelte Vorstellungen von einer Rolle unter anderem dadurch, dass er sie zeichnete. Diese schnellen Skizzen dienten ihm selbst zur Orientierung, fanden aber auch Verwendung, um dem Filmteam seine Ideen zu veranschaulichen. Fellinis künstlerische Prägung – er war zuerst als Karikaturist und Erfinder humoristischer Zeichnungen für Zeitungen tätig – brachte es mit sich, dass auch seine Filmzeichnungen einen deutlichen Zug ins Karikaturhafte, bisweilen Groteske haben. Es ist dieser spezifische Stil, der die Zeichnungen unabhängig von den filmischen Werken zu künstlerisch bemerkenswerten, eigenständigen Schöpfungen macht.

Fellini_Kostuem-Dresden-Casanova.jpg
Danilo Donati Kostüm für die Dresdner Opernszene, 1976 (Il casanova) Graziano Mandozzi

Bedeutende Private Sammlungen, Filmausschnitte und Requisiten

Die Ausstellung umfasst rund 500 Exponate: Zeichnungen, Set-Fotografien und direkt aus den Filmen stammende Requisiten. Sie ist von Cathérine Hug, die die Präsentation im Kunsthaus Zürich kuratiert, in Zusammenarbeit mit Tobias Burg, der sie zuvor am Museum Folkwang in Essen verantwortete, erarbeitet worden. Zuletzt hatte das Kunsthaus 1984 eine solche Präsentation zu Lebzeiten des Regisseurs und unter seiner Anteilnahme gezeigt. Den grössten Anteil an den Exponaten machen Zeichnungen aus der Zürcher Sammlung von Jakob und Philipp Keel aus. Ergänzt werden die Zeichnungen um eine ebenso grosse Anzahl von überwiegend schwarz-weissen Set-Fotografien, um Kostüme und Filmrequisiten sowie raumgreifende Filmausschnitte und Trailer, die im Zusammenspiel mit den Zeichnungen die Arbeitsweise Fellinis anschaulich machen. Die Zeichnungen und Fotografien zeugen von der engen Verbindung zwischen Federico Fellini und der Familie Keel. Viele davon sind bislang nicht publiziert. Im Vergleich zum Kooperationspartner Museum Folkwang in Essen, wo die Ausstellung bis zum 20. Februar 2022 gezeigt wurde, ist die Auswahl im Kunsthaus Zürich um 40 zusätzliche Leihgaben erweitert. Diese Kostüme, Requisiten, Casting-Briefe und persönlichen Gegenstände stammen aus der Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma in Sion, dem 2021 eröffneten Fellini Museum in Rimini sowie aus dem Privatbesitz des Dirigenten Graziano Mandozzi.

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt von der Truus und Gerrit van Riemsdijk Stiftung und der Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung.

Abb ganz oben: Federico Fellini, Maria de Sisti als Pensionsbesitzerin, 1972 (Roma), Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma, Sion © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

Unterstützt von: