For the first time, an exhibition examines the history of the branch on Zurich’s Bahnhofstrasse through paintings, drawings, furniture, jewellery and designobjects. The exhibition focuses on works by Josef Hoffmann, Ferdinand Hodler and Gustav Klimt as well as the creations of Dagobert Peche.

Hodler-Klimt-Media.png
Unknown photographer, Front of the Wiener Werkstätte AG store, Zurich, Bahnhofstrasse 1, 1917, MAK - Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna, photo © MAK
Hodler__Blick-ins-Unendliche-III__Lausanne.jpg
Ferdinand Hodler, Gaze into Infinity III, 1903, Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne, bought, 1994 photo © Musée cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne / Nora Rupp
Hodler__Kiental-mit-Blümlisalp__StGallen-KM.jpg
Ferdinand Hodler, The Kiental with Blümlisalp, 1902, Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, deposited by the Gottfried Keller Foundation, Federal Office of Culture, Bern, 1940, photo © Sebastian Stadler 2014
Hoffmann__Fauteuil__Genf-MAH.jpg
Josef Hoffmann, Dagobert Peche, Armchair. Execution: Wiener Werkstätte, 1913, Ville de Genève, Musées d’art et d’histoire. Bought, 1961, photo © Musées d’art et d’histoire, Ville de Genève, Flora Bevilacqua
Peche__Tischvitrine__Wien-UfaK.jpg
Dagobert Peche, Vitrine table for the Wiener Werkstätte store, Zurich. Execution: Wiener Werkstätte, 1917, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunstsammlung und Archiv, photo © Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunstsammlung und Archiv
Moser__Deckelbecher__Wien-MAK.jpg
Koloman Moser, Beaker. Manufacturer: Wiener Werkstätte, Vienna, 1906, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna, photo © MAK/Katrin Wisskirchen
Schiele_Edith__Abendschuhe__Wien.jpg
Wiener Werkstätte, Edith Schiele’s evening shoes, 1912, Wiener Werkstätte, print design by Franz von Zülow: ‘Daffodils’ Albertina, Vienna, photo © Albertina, Vienna
Hoffmann__Schliesse__Wien-MAK.jpg
Josef Hoffmann, Clasp. Manufacturer: Wiener Werkstätte, Vienna, 1905, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna, photo © MAK/Georg Mayer
Klimt__Judith-I.jpg
Gustav Klimt, Judith I, 1901, from the portfolio ‘Das Werk Gustav Klimts’, Private collection
Klimt__Portrait-Hermine-Gallia__London.jpg
Gustav Klimt, Portrait of Hermine Gallia, 1904, The National Gallery, London. Bought, 1976 photo © The National Gallery, London

A fresh view from a Viennese perspective

Admission

CHF 16.–/11.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday
Due to the pandemic, the number of visitors is limited and waiting times may be expected. Time slot tickets are not available due to the uncertain situation and changing regulations.

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

The presentation includes some 160 exhibits. It is curated by Tobias G. Natter, former Director of the Leopold Museum in Vienna and author of the catalogues raisonnés of the paintings of Gustav Klimt (2012) and Egon Schiele (2017). The exhibition sheds new light, from a Viennese perspective, on Ferdinand Hodler (1853–1918), who was at the time already seen as Switzerland’s ‘national artist’.

Of the artists Hodler met in Vienna, he reserved the greatest admiration for Gustav Klimt (1862–1918), and in particular ‘the decorative element’ of his art. Yet while known as a peerless exponent of colour, eroticism and ornament, Klimt was more than just the leading figure in Viennese Stilkunst. He played a pioneering role in breaking down the traditional distinction between the ‘high’ art of painting and sculpture and the ‘low’ form of applied art and championed a new definition of the artist: one which also embraced those able to ‘experience the work of art in emotional terms’.

Hodler__Secessionsausst_AJB.png
Moritz Nähr, 19th exhibition of the Vienna Secession, interior view of the ‘Hodler gallery’, 1904, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Wien photo © ÖNB/Wien

Public guided tours

Take place on: 20.6. / 4.7. / 10.7. at 1 p.m. and 15.7. at 3 p.m.

Private guided tour

Group size: max. 15
Languages: German, English, French, Italian
Cost: admission to the exhibition (groupe rate) + CHF 190.– (German) / CHF 220.– (other languages), duration: 1 hour

Hodler and the 1904 Secession exhibition

When the Vienna Secession invited Ferdinand Hodler to take part in its 19th exhibition, it was to ‘enable a wider audience to appreciate Hodler’s greatness’. Its pioneering and ambitious aim was to demonstrate ‘that Ferdinand Hodler is not only the greatest Swiss artist, but one of the greatest ever’. Hodler was able to show all the main works he had completed up to that time. The response was overwhelming. The exhibition gave the Swiss painter everything an artist could hope for from the public: lavish praise, a good press, and important sales. Overall, the show in Vienna was a milestone in the reception of the artist, who was aged 51 at the time.

Metzger__Hodler-Gedenkfeier__ETHpics.jpg
Jack Metzger, Hodler commemoration, around 1951, Metzger, Jack, Archive of the photographic agency Comet Photo AG ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, Bildarchiv

Furniture from Hodler's last apartment

Towards the end of 1913 Ferdinand and Berthe Hodler moved into a luxurious apartment at Quai du Mont-Blanc 29 in Geneva. Josef Hoffmann was commissioned to design the reception rooms, and as well as creating the furniture he also altered architectural details of the apartment on Quai du Mont-Blanc. The exhibition at the Kunsthaus presents both the furniture and numerous utilitarian objects designed by Hoffmann for the Hodlers’ apartment, including a table clock, chandelier, flower stand, cupboards and seating.

Peche__Entwurf-Perlthier__Wien-MAK.jpg
Dagobert Peche, Design for ‘Perlthier’ (fantasy animal), around 1919, MAK - Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna, photo © MAK

Dagobert Peche and the Wiener Werkstätte in Zurich

The exhibition underscores the importance of the Wiener Werkstätte as arguably Austria’s most important contribution to 20th-century design history, and reveal the breadth of its range, from the early, provocatively geometrical and abstract designs to the playful works of Dagobert Peche. A full-time employee of the Werkstätte from 1915 onwards, Peche ran its Zurich branch from its opening in 1917 until it closed in 1919. He designed the store on Bahnhofstrasse together with Josef Hoffmann and made bold new forays into product positioning. In Zurich, unconstrained by the wartime restrictions that were already starting to bite in Austria, he was able to give free rein to his creative imagination. Turning the ‘form follows function’ mantra on its head and elevating decoration over purpose, he accomplished the transition from Jugendstil to Art Déco, as the many designs created in Zurich that feature in the current exhibition vividly demonstrate.

With the generous support of the Walter B. Kielholz Foundation

Ill: Franz von Zülow, ‘Village rose’ fabric swatch, design 1910/11. Client: Wiener Werkstätte, 1910 to 1928; execution: Gustav Ziegler, Vienna; execution: anonymous, Zurich Silk, printed, plain weave MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Vienna, photo © MAK/Kristina Wissik

Supported by:

Erstmals wird im Rahmen einer Ausstellung die Geschichte der Filiale an der Zürcher Bahnhofstrasse anhand von Gemälde, Zeichnungen, Mobiliar, Schmuck und Designobjekte thematisiert. Neben Arbeiten von Josef Hoffmann, Ferdinand Hodler und Gustav Klimt stehen die Kreationen von Dagobert Peche im Mittelpunkt.

Hodler-Klimt-Media.png
Unbekannter Fotograf, Portal der Verkaufsstelle der Wiener Werkstätte AG Zürich, Bahnhofstrasse 1, 1917, MAK - Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, Foto © MAK
Hoffmann__Fauteuil__Genf-MAH.jpg
Josef Hoffmann, Dagobert Peche Fauteuil. Ausführung: Wiener Werkstätte, Ville de Genève, Musées d‘art et d‘histoire. Achat, 1961, Foto © Musées d’art et d’histoire, Ville de Genève, Flora Bevilacqua
Peche__Tischvitrine__Wien-UfaK.jpg
Dagobert Peche, Tischvitrine für das Verkaufslokal der Wiener Werkstätte, Zürich. Ausführung: Wiener Werkstätte, 1917, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunstsammlung und Archiv, Foto © Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunstsammlung und Archiv
Moser__Deckelbecher__Wien-MAK.jpg
Koloman Moser, Deckelbecher. Manufaktur: Wiener Werkstätte, Wien, 1906, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, Foto © MAK/Katrin Wisskirchen
Schiele_Edith__Abendschuhe__Wien.jpg
Wiener Werkstätte, Edith Schieles Abendschuhe, 1912, Foto © Albertina, Wien
Hoffmann__Schliesse__Wien-MAK.jpg
Josef Hoffmann, Schliesse. Ausführung: Karl Ponocny, Wien, Manufaktur: Wiener Werkstätte, Wien, 1905, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, Foto © MAK/Georg Mayer
Klimt__Judith-I.jpg
Gustav Klimt, Judith I, 1901 aus der Mappe «Das Werk Gustav Klimts», Privatbesitz
Klimt__Portrait-Hermine-Gallia__London.jpg
Gustav Klimt, Portrait von Hermine Gallia, 1904, The National Gallery, London. Bought, 1976, Foto © The National Gallery, London

Ein frischer Blick aus Wiener Perspektive

Eintritt

CHF 16.–/11.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre.

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Die Ausstellung umfasst rund 160 Exponate. Die kuratorische Verantwortung liegt in den Händen von Tobias G. Natter, dem ehemaligen Direktor des Leopold Museum Wien und Autor der beiden Werkverzeichnisse der Gemälde von Gustav Klimt (2012) und Egon Schiele (2017). Zum einen wirft die Ausstellung aus Wiener Perspektive einen Blick auf den schon damals als Schweizer «Nationalkünstler» wahrgenommenen Ferdinand Hodler (1853–1918).

Von den Künstlern, denen Hodler in Wien begegnete, schätzte er Gustav Klimt (1862–1918) am höchsten, namentlich «das dekorative Element» an dessen Kunst. Klimt, der wie kein zweiter für Farbe, Erotik und Ornament steht, war damals aber nicht nur die Leitfigur der Wiener Stilkunst. Klimt forderte in bahnbrechender Weise auch die Überwindung der traditionellen Unterscheidung von Malerei und Skulptur als «hoher» und Kunstgewerbe als «angewandter» Kunst. Gleichzeitig warb Klimt für eine Neudefinition von Künstlertum. Denn auch jene, die fähig seien, «Geschaffenes fühlend nachzuerleben» galten ihm als Künstler.

Hodler__Secessionsausst_AJB.png
Moritz Nähr, 19. Ausstellung der Wiener Secession, Innenaufnahme: sog. «Hodlersaal», 1904 Schwarz-Weiss-Negativ Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Wien Foto © Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Wien

Öffentliche Führungen

20.6. / 4.7. / 10.7. jeweils um 13 Uhr und am 15.7. von 15–16 Uhr

Private Führungen

Gruppengrösse: max. 15 Personen
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch
Kosten: Ausstellungseintritt + CHF 190.– (Deutsch) / CHF 220.– (andere Sprachen), Dauer: 1 Stunde

Anfragen sollten in der Regel mindestens eine Woche vor dem gewünschten Termin erfolgen.

Hodler und die Secessions-Ausstellung 1904

Wenn die Wiener Secession Ferdinand Hodler zur Teilnahme an ihrer XIX. Ausstellung eingeladen hatte, dann um «die Grösse Hodlers einmal auch weiteren Kreisen begreiflich» zu machen. Die anspruchsvolle Ausstellung verfolgte keine geringere Absicht, als in bahnbrechender Weise zu zeigen, «dass Ferdinand Hodler nicht nur der grösste Schweizer Künstler, sondern einer der grössten überhaupt» sei. Hodler konnte damals sämtliche bis dahin geschaffenen Hauptwerke zeigen. Die Resonanz war überwältigend. Der Schweizer Künstler gewann mit dieser Werkschau alles, was sich ein Künstler von der Öffentlichkeit erhoffen konnte: reichen Zuspruch, gute Presse, wichtige Verkäufe. Insgesamt wurde die Wiener Ausstellung zu einem Meilenstein in der Rezeptionsgeschichte des damals 51-jährigen Künstlers.

Metzger__Hodler-Gedenkfeier__ETHpics.jpg
Jack Metzger, Hodler Gedenkfeier, um 1951, Metzger, Jack, Archive of the photographic agency Comet Photo AG, ETH-Bibliothek Zürich, Bildarchiv

Mobiliar aus Hodlers letzter Wohnung

Gegen Ende 1913 zogen Ferdinand und Berthe Hodler in eine herrschaftliche Wohnung am Quai du Mont-Blanc 29 in Genf. Josef Hoffmann wurde mit der Gestaltung der Empfangsräume beauftragt und entwarf nicht nur das Mobiliar, sondern liess auch architektonische Details der Wohnung am Quai du Mont-Blanc ändern. Nebst dem Mobiliar präsentiert die Ausstellung im Kunsthaus zahlreiche von Hoffmann für die Hodlersche Wohnung entworfene Gebrauchsgegenstände wie Tischuhr, Lüster, Blumensäule, Schränke und Sitzmöbel.

Peche__Entwurf-Perlthier__Wien-MAK.jpg
Dagobert Peche, Entwurf für «Perlthier» (Phantasietier), um 1919, MAK - Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, Foto © MAK

Dagobert Peche und die Wiener Werkstätte in Zürich

In der Ausstellung wird die Bedeutung der Wiener Werkstätte als Österreichs vielleicht wichtigster Beitrag zur Designgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts deutlich. Von den frühen provokant geometrisch-abstrakten Entwürfen zu den verspielten Werken von Dagobert Peche. Ab 1915 fester Mitarbeiter der Werkstätte, leitete er deren Niederlassung in Zürich von ihrer Eröffnung 1917 bis zu ihrer Schliessung 1919. Er gestaltete das Verkaufslokal in der Bahnhofstrasse zusammen mit Josef Hoffmann und beschritt gewagte neue Wege der Produktpositionierung. In Zürich konnte er, ungehindert der in Österreich schon spürbaren Kriegseinschränkungen, seiner entwerferischen Fantasie nachgehen. Indem er die Formel von «form follows function» auf den Kopf stellte und die Zierform über die Zweckform stellte, vollzog er den Übergang vom Jugendstil zum Art Déco, wie die zahlreichen in Zürich entstandenen Entwürfe in der aktuellen Ausstellung eindrucksvoll zeigen.

Mit grosszügiger Unterstützung der Walter B. Kielholz Foundation

Abb oben: Franz von Zülow, Muster für Stoff «Dorfrose», Entwurf 1910/11. Auftraggeber: Wiener Werkstätte, 1910 bis 1928; Ausführung: Gustav Ziegler, Wien; Ausführung: Anonym, Zürich Seide, bedruckt, Leinwandbindung, MAK – Museum für angewandte Kunst, Wien, Foto © MAK/Kristina Wissik

Unterstützt von: