From scenes of untamed nature amid the Alpine peaks to dramatic turning points in Swiss history and harrowing shipwrecks: this exhibition on Swiss Romanticism transforms the Kunsthaus Zürich into a panorama of grand emotions.

Swiss Romanticism

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

With over 150 works it spans the arc from Henry Fuseli to Alexandre Calame and the early Arnold Böcklin. It reveals the considerable contribution made by Swiss artists to the development of European landscape painting and vividly showcases their awestruck contemplation of the eternal glacier ice and the sublime world of the mountains.

Romanticism also opens up areas of experience that lie beyond the realm of purely rational thought. Passion, exaltation of the senses and a fascination with the unfathomable are central elements in the art of this period. They reflect an attitude to life that is currently enjoying a revival as an antidote to our over-rationalized everyday existence. Now is therefore the perfect time to revisit the multifaceted spirit of renewal that Swiss Romanticism embodies with such vitality. Our review will also incorporate famous Romantics from neighbouring countries, thus adding an international perspective to our appreciation of Swiss Romanticism.

Curator: Jonas Beyer

--

Image above:

Alexandre Calame, Le Grand Eiger at Sunrise, 1844 (detail), deposited by the Swiss Confederation, Federal Office of Culture, Gottfried Keller Foundation

Supported by:

Ob Szenerien der ungebändigten hochalpinen Natur, dramatische Wendepunkte in der Schweizer Geschichte oder aufwühlende Schiffbrüche: Die Ausstellung zur Schweizer Romantik verwandelt das Kunsthaus Zürich in ein Panorama der grossen Gefühle.

Eine Tour d’horizon

Eintritt

CHF 23.–/18.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre. Tipp: Mittwochs Ermässigung für Senioren (AHV)

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Mit über 150 Werken spannt die Schau einen Bogen von Johann Heinrich Füssli über Alexandre Calame bis zum frühen Arnold Böcklin. Sie führt den eminenten Beitrag der Schweizer Künstler zur Entwicklung der europäischen Landschaftsmalerei vor Augen und lässt die Faszination für das ewige Eis der Gletscher und die erhabene Bergwelt nacherleben.

Die Romantik erschliesst zudem Erfahrungsbereiche, die jenseits unseres rein rationalen Denkens liegen. Leidenschaft, Hingabe an die Sinne und die Faszination für das Unerklärliche sind zentrale Elemente, die die Kunst dieser Epoche aufruft. Sie spiegeln ein Lebensgefühl wider, das als Alternativentwurf zu unserem durchrationalisierten Lebensalltag derzeit wieder eine Hochkonjunktur erlebt. Grund genug, den Aufbruchsgeist, den die Schweizer Romantik so vital verkörpert, in sämtlichen Facetten neu aufleben zu lassen. Unter Einbindung namhafter Romantiker auch aus den Nachbarländern wird unsere Tour d’horizon das Phänomen der Schweizer Romantik in internationaler Perspektive würdigen.

Kurator: Jonas Beyer

--

Abbildung oben:

Alexandre Calame, Le Grand Eiger au soleil levant (Le Matin, vue du Grand Eiger), 1844 (Detail), Depositum der Schweizerischen Eidgenossenschaft, Bundesamt für Kultur, Gottfried Keller-Stiftung

Unterstützt durch: