The exhibition shows sculptures, photos, videos and installations by the Algerian-French artist Kader Attia. His first exhibition in German-speaking Switzerland revolves around Europe’s colonial past and its consequences.

Switzerland and the restitution of African artefacts

Admission

CHF 16.–/11.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Kader Attia was born in 1970 to Algerian parents in a suburb north of Paris. Now working in Berlin and Paris, he draws on the experience of living in two cultures as the basis for his artistic practice.

New Video Installation

At the centre of the exhibition ‘Kader Attia. Remembering the Future’, which comprises a total of 38 works, is the new video installation ‘The Object’s Interlacing’ (2020), which Attia has created specially for the Kunsthaus Zürich. In it, he addresses the much-debated topical issue of ‘restitution’ of non-Western, especially African artefacts. The work is an attempt to delve deeper into this complex subject. It includes the voices of historians, philosophers, activists, psychoanalysts and economists. Kader Attia gathers the varying standpoints together, without apportioning blame, in order to achieve a nuanced analysis of the topic.

Attia_Entrelcas-de-lObjet.jpg
Kader Attia, The Object‘s Interlacing, 2020, Installation view Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Independance_Tchao.jpg
Kader Attia, Indépendance Tchao, 2014, Installation view Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Entrelac-de-lObjet_still.jpg
Kader Attia, The Object‘s Interlacing, 2020, Courtesy of the artist, © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Culture_Another_Nature_Repaired_.jpg
Kader Attia, Culture, Another Nature Repaired, 2014–2020, Installation view, Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_La_Mer_Morte.jpg
Kader Attia, La Mer Morte, 2015, Installation view Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Nagel Draxler and Regen Projects, photo: Franca Candrian, © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich

Public guided tours

Public guided tours in German take place on 29 August at 1 p.m. and 29 October at 6 p.m.
CHF 6.–/CHF 4.– concessions
Events calendar

Private guided tour

Group size: max. 12
Languages: German, English, French, Italian, Dutch
Cost: admission to the exhibition + CHF 190.– (German) / CHF 220.– (other languages), duration: 1 hour

Requests should normally be submitted at least a week before your desired date.

Colonialism and its legacy

Kader Attia has been concerned with Europe’s colonial past and its after-effects for many years. In the first room of the exhibition he presents a series of collages and researches that explore the links between modern architecture and the history of colonialism. This interplay is strikingly symbolized by the large sculpture ‘Indépendance Tchao’ (2014), which references the now-abandoned 1960s ‘Hôtel de l’Indépendance’ in Dakar. It is made out of old metal filing boxes used by the French colonial police in Algeria during the war of independence to collate information on the rebels.

Structural violence and racism

‘The Body’s Legacies. The Post-Colonial Body’ (2018) tackles structural violence against black bodies. The impetus for the video came from an incident that occurred in a Paris suburb in February 2017, in which a young black man, Théo Luhaka, was beaten and raped with a truncheon during a routine stop by the police. Kader Attia uses this brutal manifestation of French state power as the basis for a reflection on what the body of formerly colonized and enslaved peoples has become – an issue of urgent topical relevance given the tragic death of George Floyd in the US.

'Repair' and Kader Attia at the Kunsthaus

The theme of ‘injury’ and ‘repair’ plays a central role in Kader Attia’s work. ‘Repairing’ something means restoring it to its former state; but for Attia, the word also extends to reparation – making amends for a previous wrong. He plays with this double meaning, investigating the various concepts that lie behind the term in both the Western and the non-Western world. Attia presented a striking work on the subject at documenta (13) in Kassel in 2012, where his large-scale installation ‘The Repair from Occident to Extra-Occidental Cultures’ filled an entire hall. Among other elements, it comprised wooden busts of people with disfigured, ‘broken’ faces. These ‘gueules cassées’ were soldiers who survived the First World War but were scarred for life by the terrible wounds they suffered. Kader Attia travelled to Africa with photos of the injured that he had found in German and French historical archives and, working with traditional craftspeople, sculpted busts from the photos in the former colonies. The work deals with the horrors of war but also references the relationship between Western modernity and Africa – and turns history around. The Kunsthaus Zürich purchased one of these busts for its collection in 2015 and has since added further works by the artist. They are now on display in the exhibition, alongside new works as well as loans from other museums and from private collections.

Curator: Mirjam Varadinis

Supported by Swiss Re – Partner for contemporary art, the Yanghyun Foundation, the Dr. Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation .

--

Image above:

Kader Attia, Culture: Another Nature Repaired, 2014 (detail), installation view: Musée cantonal des beaux-arts, Lausanne, 2015, photo: Nora Rupp, courtesy of the artist, © 2019 ProLitteris, Zurich

portrait_I_Camille-Millerand-860.jpg
Kader Attia Photo © Camille Millerand

Accompanying programme

Attia is not only an artist but also an activist. Until recently, he ran a discourse and exchange platform in Paris, in which people from a wide range of cultures and social backgrounds participated. Together with exhibition curator Mirjam Varadinis, Kader Attia has conceived an accompanying programme for the Kunsthaus Zürich:

Artist talk

With Kader Attia and exhibition curator Mirjam Varadinis. In English.
Sunday 13 September, 11 a.m. Kunsthaus Zürich, admission CHF 10 / CHF 8 (concessions).
Tickets

The event will be livestreamed and later published on our YouTube channel:
YouTube Livestream

‘Postcolonial Switzerland’ symposium

This symposium examines the colonial history of Switzerland. Although it never had any direct colonies, Switzerland was implicated in the colonial project in a wide variety of ways. The event considers ideological and cultural aspects as well as economic involvements, and their ongoing repercussions in the present day. With Patricia Purtschert, Noémi Michel, Bernhard C. Schär, Fatima Moumouni and others. In German.
Sunday 1 November, 2 p.m., Kunsthaus Zürich, auditorium. CHF 10 / CHF 8 (concessions).
Tickets

Supported by:

Die Ausstellung zeigt Skulpturen, Fotos, Videos und Installationen des franko-algerischen Künstlers Kader Attia. Es ist die erste Ausstellung von Kader Attia in der deutschsprachigen Schweiz. Sie kreist um die koloniale Vergangenheit Europas und ihre Folgen.

Die Schweiz und die Restitution afrikanischer Artefakte

Eintritt

CHF 16.–/11.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre. Tipp: Mittwochs Ermässigung für Senioren (AHV)

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Kader Attia wurde 1970 als Sohn algerischer Eltern in einem Vorort nördlich von Paris geboren. Die Erfahrung eines Lebens in zwei Kulturen nutzt der heute in Berlin und Paris arbeitende Künstler als Ausgangspunkt für seine bildnerische Praxis.

Neue Videoinstallation

Im Zentrum der Ausstellung «Kader Attia. Remembering the Future», die insgesamt 38 Werke umfasst, steht die neue Videoinstallation «Les entrelacs de l’objet» (2020), die Attia speziell für das Kunsthaus Zürich realisiert hat. Darin thematisiert der Künstler die aktuell viel diskutierte Frage der «Restitution» nicht-westlicher, insbesondere afrikanischer Artefakte. Die Arbeit ist ein Versuch, sich dem komplexen Thema anzunähern. Historikerinnen, Philosophen, Aktivistinnen, Psychoanalytiker und Ökonomen kommen darin zu Wort. Ohne Schuldzu­weisungen trägt Kader Attia die unterschiedlichen Standpunkte zusammen­, mit dem Ziel, eine differenzierte Auseinandersetzung mit dem Thema zu ermöglichen.

Attia_Entrelcas-de-lObjet.jpg
Kader Attia, Les Entrelacs de l’Objet, 2020, Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Independance_Tchao.jpg
Kader Attia, Indépendance Tchao, 2014, Modern Architecture Genealogy, 2014/2020, Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Entrelac-de-lObjet_still.jpg
Kader Attia, Les Entrelacs de l’Objet, 2020, Courtesy of the artist © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_Culture_Another_Nature_Repaired_.jpg
Kader Attia, Culture, Another Nature Repaired, 2014–2020, Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist and Galerie Nagel Draxler, Foto: Kader Attia, © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich
Attia_La_Mer_Morte.jpg
Kader Attia, La Mer Morte, 2015, Ausstellungsansicht Kunsthaus Zürich, 2020, Courtesy of the artist, Galerie Nagel Draxler and Regen Projects © 2020 ProLitteris, Zurich

Öffentliche Führungen

Finden an folgenden Daten statt: Sa, 29. August, 13 Uhr / Do, 29. Oktober, 18 Uhr
CHF 6.–/CHF 4.– reduziert
Agenda

Private Führungen

Gruppengrösse: max. 12 Personen
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch, Niederländisch
Kosten: Ausstellungseintritt + CHF 190.– (Deutsch) / CHF 220.– (andere Sprachen), Dauer: 1 Stunde

Anfragen sollten in der Regel mindestens eine Woche vor dem gewünschten Termin erfolgen.

Kolonialismus und seine Folgen

Die koloniale Vergangenheit Europas und ihre Folgen beschäftigen Kader Attia seit vielen Jahren. Im ersten Raum der Ausstellung zeigt der Künstler eine Reihe von Collagen sowie Recherchen, die den Verbindungen von moderner Architektur und der Geschichte des Kolonialismus nachgehen. Ein eindrückliches Sinnbild für dieses Zusammenspiel ist die grosse Skulptur «Indépendance Tchao» (2014). Diese verweist auf das inzwischen verlassene «Hôtel de l’Indépendance» aus den 1960er-Jahren in Dakar und ist aus alten Karteikästen der französischen Kolonialpolizei in Algerien gebaut. Während des Unabhängigkeitskrieges wurden in diesen Metallkästen Informationen zu den Aufständischen gesammelt.

Strukturelle Gewalt und Rassismus

Um die strukturelle Gewalt am schwarzen Körper geht es in der Arbeit «The Body’s Legacies. The Post-Colonial Body» (2018). Ausgangspunkt für das Video war ein Vorfall, der sich im Februar 2017 in einem Pariser Vorort ereignete. Damals wurde der junge Schwarze Théo Luhaka bei einer Routinekontrolle durch die Polizei brutal zusammengeschlagen und mit einem Schlagstock vergewaltigt. Diese brutale Form französischer Staatsgewalt nimmt Kader Attia zum Anlass, um darüber nachzudenken, wie es um den Körper ehemals kolonialisierter und versklavter Völker heute steht – ein brandaktuelles Thema, wenn man an den tragischen Tod von George Floyd in den USA denkt.

«Reparatur» und Kader Attia im Kunsthaus

Das Thema von «Verletzung» und «Reparatur» spielt eine wichtige Rolle in Kader Attias Werk. Etwas reparieren heisst, es wiederherzustellen. Doch gleichzeitig bedeutet Reparatur auch Unrecht ausgleichen, wie es z. B. der Begriff der «Reparaturzahlung» zum Ausdruck bringt. Attia spielt in seinen Werken mit der Doppelbedeutung des Wortes und untersucht die unterschiedlichen Konzepte, die in der westlichen und nicht-westlichen Welt hinter dem Begriff stehen. Eine eindrückliche Arbeit zu diesem Thema zeigte Attia 2012 auf der documenta (13) in Kassel. Dort füllte seine Grossinstallation «The Repair from Occident to Extra-Occidental Cultures» einen ganzen Saal. Zu sehen waren Holzbüsten von Menschen mit entstellten Gesichtern. Diese sog. «Gueules cassées» (zerschlagene Gesichter) waren überlebende Soldaten aus dem Ersten Weltkrieg, die aufgrund der grässlichen Verletzungen für den Rest ihres Lebens gezeichnet waren. Kader Attia reiste mit Fotos der Verletzten, die er in deutschen und französischen historischen Archiven gefunden hatte, nach Afrika und stellte in Zusammenarbeit mit traditionellen Kunsthandwerkern die Büsten nach den Fotos in den ehemaligen Kolonien her. Das Werk thematisiert nicht nur die Schrecken des Krieges, sondern verweist auch auf das Verhältnis der westlichen Moderne zu Afrika – und kehrt die Geschichte um. Das Kunsthaus Zürich hat 2015 eine dieser Büsten für seine Sammlung angekauft und inzwischen durch weitere Werke des Künstlers ergänzt. Neben neuen Werken sowie Leihgaben anderer Museen und aus privatem Besitz, werden sie jetzt im Kunsthaus ausgestellt.Kuratorin: Mirjam Varadinis

Unterstützt von Swiss Re – Partner für zeitgenössische Kunst, der Yanghyun Foundation, der Dr. Georg und Josi Guggenheim-Stiftung und CHRISTEN SVEEAS.

--

Abbildung oben:

Kader Attia, Culture: Another Nature Repaired, 2014 Ausstellungsansicht Musée Cantonal des Beaux-Arts, Lausanne, 2015 Foto: Nora Rupp, Courtesy of the artist, © 2019 ProLitteris, Zurich

portrait_I_Camille-Millerand-860.jpg
Kader Attia Foto © Camille Millerand

Begleitprogramm

Attia ist nicht nur Künstler, sondern auch Aktivist. In Paris betrieb er bis vor kurzem eine Diskursplattform, an der Menschen unterschiedlichster Kulturen und sozialer Milieus teilnahmen. Gemeinsam mit der Kuratorin der Ausstellung, Mirjam Varadinis, konzipierte Kader Attia für das Kunsthaus Zürich ein Begleitprogramm:

Künstlergespräch

Mit Kader Attia und Ausstellungskuratorin Mirjam Varadinis. Auf Englisch.
Sonntag, 13. September, 11 Uhr. Kunsthaus Zürich. CHF 10.–/CHF 8.– reduziert.
Tickets

Das Gespräch wird auf unserem YouTube channel live geschaltet:
YouTube Livestream

Symposium «Die postkoloniale Schweiz»

Das Symposium beleuchtet die koloniale Geschichte der Schweiz. Auch wenn die Schweiz keine direkten Kolonien hatte, war sie doch auf vielfältige Weise in das koloniale Projekt involviert. Die Veranstaltung thematisiert ideologische und kulturelle Aspekte sowie ökonomische Verstrickungen und die Auswirkungen in der heutigen Zeit. U.a. mit Patricia Purtschert, Noémi Michel, Bernhard C. Schär, Fatima Moumouni.
Sonntag, 1. November, 14 Uhr, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vortragssaal. CHF 10.–/CHF 8.– reduziert.
Tickets

Unterstützt von: