This exhibition is devoted to Ottilia, the daughter of Giovanni and Annetta Giacometti and sister of Alberto, Diego and Bruno. It turns the spotlight on the least-known figure in the family, who died in 1937 at the age of just 33 while giving birth to her son Silvio.

Works by Giovanni and Alberto Giacometti

Admission

CHF 16.–/11.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Some 60 paintings, drawings and sculptures by Giovanni and Alberto Giacometti show Ottilia as a child, adolescent and young woman. The last section of the exhibition looks at the portraits of her son Silvio created by Alberto between 1943 and 1945: for Alberto, Ottilia’s memory lived on in his nephew, of whom he was extremely fond.

Almost 30 years on from the ‘La mamma a Stampa’ exhibition on Annetta at the Kunsthaus Zürich, a series of pictures and un-published documents illustrate the strong bonds between the Giacomettis, and reveal the intimacy of family life.

Curator: Casimiro Di Crescenzo

Supported by the Hulda and Gustav Zumsteg Foundation, the Ars Rhenia Foundation and Annette Bühler.

--

Image above:

Giovanni Giacometti, Ottilia, 1913, Private collection, Switzerland

Supported by:

Die Ausstellung widmet sich Ottilia, der Tochter von Giovanni und Annetta Giacometti, Schwester von Alberto, Diego und Bruno. Sie stellt die am wenigsten bekannte Figur der Familie ins Zentrum, die 1937 bei der Geburt ihres Sohnes Silvio im Alter von nur 33 Jahren starb.

Werke von Giovanni und Alberto Giacometti

Eintritt

CHF 16.–/11.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre. Tipp: Mittwochs Ermässigung für Senioren (AHV)

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Rund 60 Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Skulpturen von Giovanni und Alberto Giacometti zeigen Ottilia als Kind, als Jugendliche und als junge Frau. Der letzte Teil der Ausstellung ist den Porträts ihres Sohnes Silvio gewidmet, die Alberto zwischen 1943 und 1945 geschaffen hat. Im Neffen, der dem Künstler sehr am Herzen lag, lebte die Erinnerung an Ottilia weiter.

Eine Reihe von Bildern und unveröffentlichten Dokumenten beleuchten, fast 30 Jahre nach der Annetta gewidmeten Ausstellung «La mamma a Stampa» im Kunsthaus Zürich, die starke Bindung der Giacomettis und die Intimität des Familienlebens.

Kurator: Casimiro Di Crescenzo

--

Abbildung oben:

Giovanni Giacometti, Ottilia, 1913, Privatsammlung Schweiz

Unterstützt durch: