The 1920s were a decade of both progression and backlash. A catastrophic world war followed by a pandemic with remarkable parallels to the current corona crisis awakened people’s thirst for life. At no time in the 20th century was the desire for change more intense.

Feininger_Bauhaus.jpg
Theodore Lux Feininger, Xanti Schawinsky, Untitled, around 1927, Private collection, © The Estate of Theodore Lux Feininger, The Xanti Schawinsky Estate
Shahbazi_2014_Comp w Mountain__Gr_2014_0011__GS-KHZ.jpg
Shirana Shahbazi / Wolfensberger lithographic press, Composition with Mountain, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, © Shirana Shahbazi
Vallotton_1921_La Poudreuse__Privat.jpg
Félix Vallotton, Woman with Powder, 1921, Private collection
Marcus_1930_Ballett-Parodie__Kunstbiliothek.jpg
Elli Marcus, Valeska Gert: Ballet parody in tulle dress, around 1930, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Kunstbibliothek, © bpk / Kunstbibliothek, SMB / Elli Marcus
Neuschul_1926_Takka-Takka tanzt__Privat-M.jpg
Ernest Neuschul, Takka-Takka dances, 1926, Private collection © The Estate of Ernest Neuschul
Moholy-Nagy_1922_LIS__KHZ.jpg
László Moholy-Nagy, LIS, 1922, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1981

From Josephine Baker to Thomas Ruff

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Urban visions were created and cities grew at breakneck speed. Conventional role models in society and marriage were questioned and upended; disadvantaged and oppressed minorities made their voices heard in politics and culture[GS1] . Improved conditions for workers went hand in hand with a growing leisure industry. The spirit of innovation fed through directly into art, with experimentation in all disciplines. Remarkably, none of its products have lost any of their relevance.

Unlike many exhibitions devoted to the 1920s, this presentation does not examine movements such as Bauhaus, Dada, New Objectivity or the design and architecture icons of modernism in isolation, but instead places them in dialogue, shedding light on the stylistic heterogeneity typical of those transformative years.

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Focusing on Berlin, Paris, Vienna and Zurich, the exhibition incorporates all the prevalent media of the time, from painting, sculpture and drawing to photography, film and collage. It also offers a platform to less-known figures, notably women. Contemporary artists Kader Attia, Marc Bauer, Laura Gerlach, Raphael Hefti, Rashid Johnson, Fabian Marti, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Nicolas Party, Thomas Ruff, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg and Rita Vitorelli, who explicitly engage with the formal language and themes of the 1920s, bridge the gap to the present day. Marc Bauer, Veronika Spierenburg and Rita Vitorelli have produced new works specially for the exhibition.

With contributions from, among others, Josef Albers, Hans Arp, Kader Attia, Johannes Baargeld, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Erwin Blumenfeld, Constantin Brancusi, André Breton, Marcel Breuer, Suse Byk, Coco Chanel, Adolf Dietrich, Dodo, Theo van Doesburg, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, Theodore Lux Feininger, Hans Finsler, Laura Gerlach, Valeska Gert, Barthel Gilles, George Grosz, Raphael Hefti, Heinrich Hoerle, René Herbst, Hannah Höch, Karl Hubbuch, Pierre Jeanneret, Rashid Johnson, Wassily Kandinsky, Elisabeth Karlinsky, Paul Klee, Rudolf von Laban, Laura Gerlach, Le Corbusier, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, Elli Marcus, Fabian Marti, László Moholy-Nagy, Lucia Moholy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Gret Palucca, Nicolas Party, Charlotte Perriand, Suzanne Perrottet, Paul Poiret, Man Ray, Hans Richter, Gerrit T. Rietveld, Vitorelli Rita (supported by: Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Österreich), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Wilhelm Schnarrenberger, Kurt Schwitters, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg, Varvara Stepanova, Niklaus Stoecklin, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Rzn Torbey, My Ullmann, Félix Vallotton, Madeleine Vionnet and Nikolai Wassilieff.

The exhibition travels to the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao after it closes in Zurich.

A co-production with the Festspiele Zürich

Curator: Cathérine Hug

--

Image above: Shirana Shahbazi, Diver-02-2011, Kunsthaus Zürich, Photocollection, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2015

Katalog-Img2.png

Catalogue

The exhibition is accompanied by a 272-page publication from Snoeck-Verlag containing 260 illustrations and new articles by Cathérine Hug, Petra Joos, Gioia Mori, Jakob Tanner and Alexis Schwarzenbach. It is available now from our online shop, or from the Kunsthaus shop and bookstores when the exhibition opens, price CHF 44.

Text by Jakob Tanner: German PDF excerpt

KH_ROARING_20s_Ball_700x700_Header.jpg

Roaring Twenties Ball

In Autumn/Winter 2020, it’s party time at the Kunsthaus as we celebrate the Roaring Twenties with icons from the period. So if you’ve ever fancied dancing the Charleston or dressing up as a flapper or a gangster, now’s your chance! We’ll have a ballroom specially decked out for the occasion along with bars, a big garden lounge, DJs and live acts.

The exact date will be communicated in good time on our website and the media.

Supported by: UNIQA Kunstversicherung Schweiz, Helvetia Versicherungen, AccurArt, Welti-Furrer Fine Art AG, Haas & Co AG, Hensler Malerarbeiten und MÖBEL-TRANSPORT AG.

Events

All events are expected to be rescheduled. The new dates will be announced here as soon as possible.

Today, as disruptive innovations challenge existing standards and artists position themselves as activists, the time is ripe to revisit the 1920s. This is reflected in a wide-ranging accompanying programme that opens up discussion on the social and economic issues of today.

Public guided tours

Every Wednesday at 6 p.m., Sunday at 11 a.m.


Re:Frame 20s

Students from the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) offer their own topical visual responses to the works in the exhibition. Introduction: Prof. Katharina Tietze, ZHdK, with Cathérine Hug. The results of this online teaching session will also be available online.


From idea to exhibition

Kunsthaus curator Cathérine Hug and Christoph Stuehn discuss the background and genesis of the exhibition. Free with a valid exhibition ticket and for members, otherwise CHF 10 / CHF 8 (concessions).


Spoken Beats with Jurczok 1001

With new texts by the internationally renowned spoken beat artist Jurczok 1001 based on the 1920s writers Marieluise Fleisser and Bertolt Brecht. Free with an exhibition ticket.


New bodily sensations – sexuality and the intoxication of movement and music

Part of Zurich Art Weekend: dialogue guided tour with Salome Hohl, Director of Cabaret Voltaire, and Kunsthaus curator Cathérine Hug. Art performance by Talaya Schmid and Angie Walti. Free with an exhibition ticket.


1920s/2020s – economic crises and perspectives

With Aymo Brunetti (Professor of Economic Policy and Regional Economics, Bern University), Walter B. Kielholz (Chairman of Swiss Re / Chairman of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft), and Christin Severin (economics editor at the NZZ) and other guests. Free with a valid exhibition ticket and for members, otherwise CHF 15 / CHF 10 (concessions).


Guided tours / workshops for schools / art laboratory / family day

Public guided tours in German take place on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. and Sundays at 11 a.m. Individual private guided tours can be arranged. The Kunsthaus organizes workshops for schools on request. The art laboratory is open to all exhibition visitors without extra charge. Materials and ideas for your own personal creations will be provided. Further details of the family day will be available once the exhibition opens.

As part of:

Exhibition supported by:

Die 1920er-Jahre waren ein Jahrzehnt der Aufbrüche und Rückfälle. Ein verheerender Weltkrieg und eine daran anschliessende schwere Pandemie, die erstaunliche Parallelen zur aktuellen Coronakrise aufweist, haben den Lebensdurst der Menschen wach gerüttelt! In keinem Moment des 20. Jahrhunderts war die Sehnsucht der Menschen nach Neuerungen so gross wie damals.

Feininger_Bauhaus.jpg
Theodore Lux Feininger, Xanti Schawinsky, Ohne Titel, um 1927, Privatbesitz, © Nachlass Theodore Lux Feininger, The Xanti Schawinsky Estate
Shahbazi_2014_Comp w Mountain__Gr_2014_0011__GS-KHZ.jpg
Shirana Shahbazi / Steindruckerei Wolfensberger, Composition with Mountain, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, © Shirana Shahbazi
Vallotton_1921_La Poudreuse__Privat.jpg
Félix Vallotton, La poudreuse, 1921, Privatbesitz
Marcus_1930_Ballett-Parodie__Kunstbiliothek.jpg
Elli Marcus, Valeska Gert: Ballett-Parodie in Tüllkleid, um 1930, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Kunstbibliothek, © bpk / Kunstbibliothek, SMB / Elli Marcus
Neuschul_1926_Takka-Takka tanzt__Privat-M.jpg
Ernest Neuschul, Takka-Takka tanzt, 1926, Privatsammlung, © Nachlass Ernest Neuschul
Moholy-Nagy_1922_LIS__KHZ.jpg
László Moholy-Nagy, LIS, 1922, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1981

Von Josephine Baker bis Thomas Ruff

Eintritt

CHF 23.–/18.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre. Tipp: Mittwochs Ermässigung für Senioren (AHV)

Besuch planen

Es wurden urbanistische Visionen entworfen und Städte wuchsen in rasanter Geschwindigkeit. Konventionelle Rollenbilder in Gesellschaft und Ehe wurden hinterfragt und aufgebrochen, benachteiligte und unterdrückte Minderheiten verschafften sich Gehör in Politik und Kultur. An die Seite eines arbeitnehmergerechteren Alltags stellte sich eine wachsende Freizeitindustrie. Der hohe Innovationsgrad fand seinen direkten Niederschlag in der Experimentierfreudigkeit aller Künste. Beeindruckend ist, dass deren Erzeugnisse nichts von ihrer Aktualität eingebüsst haben.

Anders als bei vielen Ausstellungen, die sich den 1920er-Jahren gewidmet haben, werden hier Stilrichtungen wie das Bauhaus, Dada, die Neue Sachlichkeit sowie Design- und Architekturikonen des Modernismus nicht getrennt voneinander betrachtet, sondern treten miteinander in einen Dialog und zeigen die typische Stilheterogenität jener Aufbruchsjahre auf.

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Mit Fokus auf Berlin, Paris, Wien und Zürich berücksichtigt die Ausstellung alle dazumal gängigen Medien wie Malerei, Plastik, Zeichnung, Fotografie, Film und Collage. Sie bietet weniger bekannten Positionen eine Plattform. Die zeitgenössischen Künstler Kader Attia, Marc Bauer, Laura Gerlach, Raphael Hefti, Rashid Johnson, Fabian Marti, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Nicolas Party, Thomas Ruff, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg und Rita Vitorelli, die sich explizit mit der Formensprache und den Inhalten der 1920er-Jahre befassen, schlagen eine Brücke in die Gegenwart. Marc Bauer, Veronika Spierenburg und Rita Vitorelli haben eigens neue Arbeiten dafür produziert.

Mit der Teilnahme unter anderem von Josef Albers, Hans Arp, Kader Attia, Johannes Baargeld, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Erwin Blumenfeld, Constantin Brancusi, André Breton, Marcel Breuer, Suse Byk, Coco Chanel, Adolf Dietrich, Dodo, Theo van Doesburg, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, Theodore Lux Feininger, Hans Finsler, Laura Gerlach, Valeska Gert, Barthel Gilles, George Grosz, Raphael Hefti, Heinrich Hoerle, René Herbst, Hannah Höch, Karl Hubbuch, Pierre Jeanneret, Rashid Johnson, Wassily Kandinsky, Elisabeth Karlinsky, Paul Klee, Rudolf von Laban, Laura Gerlach, Le Corbusier, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, Elli Marcus, Fabian Marti, László Moholy-Nagy, Lucia Moholy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Gret Palucca, Nicolas Party, Charlotte Perriand, Suzanne Perrottet, Paul Poiret, Man Ray, Hans Richter, Gerrit T. Rietveld, Vitorelli Rita (unterstützt durch: Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Österreich), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Wilhelm Schnarrenberger, Kurt Schwitters, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg, Warwara Stepanowa, Niklaus Stoecklin, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Rzn Torbey, My Ullmann, Félix Vallotton, Madeleine Vionnet, Nikolai Wassilieff.

Die Ausstellung reist anschliessend ans Guggenheim Museum Bilbao.

Eine Koproduktion mit den Festspielen Zürich

Kuratorin: Cathérine Hug

--

Abbildung oben: Shirana Shahbazi, Diver-02-2011, Kunsthaus Zürich, Fotosammlung, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2015

Katalog-Img2.png

Katalog

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine 272-Seitige Publikation im Snoeck-Verlag mit 260 Abbildungen und neuen Textbeiträgen von Cathérine Hug, Petra Joos, Gioia Mori, Jakob Tanner und Alexis Schwarzenbach. Diese ist ab sofort in unserem Online-Shop und ab Ausstellungsbeginn im Kunsthaus-Shop sowie im Buchhandel für CHF 44.- erhältlich.

Text von Jakob Tanner Leseprobe PDF

KH_ROARING_20s_Ball_700x700_Header.jpg

Roaring Twenties Ball

Im Herbst/Winter 2020 steigt die Party zu den wilden Zwanzigerjahren mit Charleston-Boys und Seeräuber-Jennys, Gigolos und Strass-Sirenen, feschen Lolas und Leichtmatrosen. Mit einem festlich glitzernden Ballsaal, Bars, einer grossen Gartenlounge, DJs und Live-Acts.

Das genaue Datum werden wir frühzeitig auf unserer Webseite und über die Medien kommunizieren.

Unterstützt durch: UNIQA Kunstversicherung Schweiz, Helvetia Versicherungen, AccurArt, Welti-Furrer Fine Art AG, Haas & Co AG, Hensler Malerarbeiten und MÖBEL-TRANSPORT AG.

Veranstaltungen

Sämtliche Veranstaltungen werden voraussichtlich neu terminiert und hier sobald wie möglich bekannt gegeben.

Auch heute, wo disruptive Innovationen bestehende Standards herausfordern und sich Künstler als Aktivisten positionieren, ist die Auseinandersetzung mit den 1920er Jahren von hoher Aktualität. Dies zeigt sich im diversen Begleitprogramm, welches soziale und wirtschaftliche Fragen der Gegenwart zur Diskussion stellt.

Öffentliche Führungen

Jeweils mittwochs um 18 Uhr, sonntags um 11 Uhr


Re:Frame 20s

Studierende der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) reagieren mit aktuellen Bilderwelten auf die Werke in der Ausstellung. Einführung: Prof. Katharina Tietze, ZHdK, mit Cathérine Hug. Die Ergebnisse dieses Online-Unterrichts werden Online abrufbar sein.


Von der Idee zur Ausstellung

Hintergrundgespräch über die Realisierung der Ausstellung mit Kunsthaus-Kuratorin Cathérine Hug und Christoph Stuehn. Mit gültigem Ausstellungsticket und für Mitglieder gratis, sonst CHF 10.- / 8.- reduziert.


Spoken Beats mit Jurczok 1001

Mit neuen Texten des international renommierten Spoken Beats-Künstlers Jurczok 1001 zu den 1920er-Jahren-Schriftstellern Marieluise Fleisser und Bertolt Brecht. Mit Ausstellungsticket gratis.


Neue Körperempfindungen – Sexualität im Rausch von Bewegung und Musik

Im Rahmen des Zurich Art Weekend: Dialogische Führung mit Cabaret Voltaire-Leiterin Salome Hohl und Kunsthaus-Kuratorin Cathérine Hug. Kunstperformance von Talaya Schmid und Angie Walti. Mit Ausstellungsticket gratis.


1920s/2020s – Wirtschaftskrisen und -perspektiven

Mit Aymo Brunetti (Professor für Wirtschaftspolitik und Regionalökonomie, Uni Bern), Walter B. Kielholz (Chairman Swiss Re/Präsident Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft), und Christin Severin (Wirtschaftswissenschaftlerin/ Redakteurin NZZ) und weiteren Gästen. Mit gültigem Ausstellungsticket und für Mitglieder gratis, sonst CHF 15.- / 10.- reduziert.


Führungen / Workshops für Schulen / Kunstlabor / Familientag

Öffentliche Führungen in deutscher Sprache finden mittwochs um 18 Uhr und sonntags um 11 Uhr statt. Private Führungen können individuell vereinbart werden. Für Schulen organisiert das Kunsthaus auf Anfrage Workshops. Das Kunstlabor steht allen Ausstellungsbesucherinnen und Besuchern ohne Zusatzkosten offen. Dort liegen Material und Anregungen für persönliches gestalten bereit. Mehr zum Familientag ab Ausstellungsbeginn.

Im Rahmen der:

Ausstellung unterstützt durch: