The 1920s were a decade of both progression and backlash. At no time in the 20th century was the desire for change more intense. Urban visions were created and cities grew at breakneck speed.

From Josephine Baker to Thomas Ruff

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Conventional role models in society and marriage were questioned and upended; disadvantaged and oppressed minorities made their voices heard. Improved conditions for workers went hand in hand with a growing leisure industry. The spirit of innovation fed through directly into art, with experimentation in all disciplines. Remarkably, none of its products have lost any of their relevance.

Unlike many exhibitions devoted to the 1920s, this presentation does not examine movements such as Bauhaus, Dada, New Objectivity or the design and architecture icons of modernism in isolation, but instead places them in dialogue, shedding light on the stylistic heterogeneity of those transformative years.

Focusing on Berlin, Paris, Vienna and Zurich, the exhibition incorporates all the prevalent media of the time, from painting, sculpture and drawing to photography, film and collage. It also offers a platform to less-known figures, notably women. Contemporary artists who explicitly engage with the formal language and topics of the 1920s bridge the gap to the present day.

With Kader Attia, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Constantin Brancusi, Coco Chanel, Le Corbusier and Charlotte Perriand, Dodo, Liam Gillick, Friedrich Kiesler, Paul Klee, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, László Moholy-Nagy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Man Ray, Lotte Reiniger, Hans Richter, Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky, My Ullmann and others.

A co-production with the Festspiele Zürich

Curator: Cathérine Hug

--

Image above:

Marianne (My) Ullmann, Modest, 1925, University of Applied Arts Vienna, art collection and archive, © Estate of Marianne (My) Ullmann

Supported by:

Die 1920er-Jahre waren ein Jahrzehnt der Aufbrüche und Rückfälle. In keinem Moment des 20. Jahrhunderts war die Sehnsucht der Menschen nach Neuerungen so gross wie damals.

Von Josephine Baker bis Thomas Ruff

Eintritt

CHF 23.–/18.– (ermässigt und Gruppen)
Freier Eintritt für Mitglieder sowie Kinder und Jugendliche bis 16 Jahre. Tipp: Mittwochs Ermässigung für Senioren (AHV)

BESUCH PLANEN

Hinweis für Gruppen

Wir freuen uns, Sie willkommen zu heissen! Aus organisatorischen Gründen ist eine Voranmeldung erforderlich. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Es wurden urbanistische Visionen entworfen und Städte wuchsen in rasanter Geschwindigkeit. Klassische Rollenbilder in Gesellschaft und Ehe wurden hinterfragt und aufgebrochen, benachteiligte und unterdrückte Minderheiten verschafften sich Gehör in Politik und Kultur. An die Seite eines arbeitnehmergerechteren Alltags stellte sich eine wachsende Freizeitindustrie. Der hohe Innovationsgrad fand seinen direkten Niederschlag in der Experimentierfreudigkeit aller Künste. Beeindruckend ist, dass deren Erzeugnisse nichts von ihrer Aktualität eingebüsst haben.

Anders als bei vielen Ausstellungen, die sich den 1920er-Jahren gewidmet haben, werden hier Stilrichtungen wie das Bauhaus, Dada, die Neue Sachlichkeit sowie Design- und Architekturikonen des Modernismus nicht getrennt voneinander betrachtet, sondern treten miteinander in einen Dialog und zeigen die Stilheterogenität jener Aufbruchsjahre auf.

Mit Fokus auf Berlin, Paris, Wien und Zürich berücksichtigt die Ausstellung alle dazumal gängigen Medien wie Malerei, Plastik, Zeichnung, Fotografie, Film und Collage. Sie bietet weniger bekannten und insbesondere weiblichen Positionen eine Plattform. Zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die sich explizit mit der Formensprache und den Inhalten der 1920er-Jahre befassen, schlagen eine Brücke in die Gegenwart.

Mit Kader Attia, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Constantin Brancusi, Coco Chanel, Le Corbusier und Charlotte Perriand, Dodo, Liam Gillick, Friedrich Kiesler, Paul Klee, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, László Moholy-Nagy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Man Ray, Lotte Reiniger, Hans Richter, Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky, My Ullmann u. a.

Eine Koproduktion mit den Festspielen Zürich

Kuratorin: Cathérine Hug

--

Abbildung oben:

Marianne (My) Ullmann, Bescheiden, 1925, Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, Kunstsammlung und Archiv © Nachlass Marianne (My) Ullmann