The space-filling work comprising a total of 2,000 plaster rods is being shown again at the Kunsthaus Zürich for the first time in 20 years.

Dynamism and tension

Free admission to the Kunsthaus

As a member, you can visit the Kunsthaus as often as you like, and receive various discounts as well as invitations to all exhibition openings.

Now available at a reduced price!

‘The 2000 Sculpture’ by Walter De Maria (1935–2013) is one of the largest horizontal sculptures on show indoors. It was created in 1992 for an exhibition at the Kunsthaus Zürich, when Harald Szeemann invited the artist to develop a new installation for the large exhibition gallery.

The space-filling work comprises a total of 2,000 white plaster rods each 50 cm long and 18 cm high. Despite their identical dimensions, the individual elements are different and have five, seven or nine sides. They are arranged in a uniform pattern on a surface measuring 500 square metres to create a dynamic composition of zigzag lines and diagonals. Seemingly cohesive and monumental at first glance, the work resolves itself into a plethora of visual impressions as the viewer moves around it, creating a tension between predictable regularity and individual perception.

‘The 2000 Sculpture’ was last shown at the Kunsthaus Zürich in the year 2000. We are therefore delighted to be able to present this wonderful work again at last, thanks to a generous loan from the Walter A. Bechtler Foundation.

Curated by Mirjam Varadinis

Image: Walter De Maria, The 2000 Sculpture, 1992, Kunsthaus Zürich, property of the ‘2000 Sculpture’ Foundation, 1994, photos: Nic Tenwiggenhorn, Düsseldorf, © Estate of Walter De Maria

Cette œuvre de grande dimension, qui se compose d’un total de 2 000 barres de plâtre, n’avait pas été présentée depuis 20 ans au Kunsthaus Zürich.

Dynamique et tension

Entrée libre au Kunsthaus

L’adhésion vous permet de visiter le Kunsthaus aussi souvent que vous le souhaitez, de bénéficier d’avantages divers et d’être invité à tous les vernissages.

Profitez dès maintenant de l’adhésion à prix réduit!

«The 2000 Sculpture» de Walter De Maria (1935 – 2013), l’une des plus grandes sculptures au sol d’intérieur, a été créée en 1992 pour une exposition organisée au Kunsthaus Zürich. Harald Szeemann avait invité l’artiste à concevoir une nouvelle installation pour la grande salle d’exposition.

Cette œuvre de grande dimension se compose d’un total de 2 000 barres de plâtre blanc, chacune d’une longueur de 50 cm et d’une hauteur de 18 cm. Tous de même taille, les éléments diffèrent cependant par leur nombre de côtés (cinq, sept ou neuf). Ils sont disposés sur une surface totale de 500 mètres carrés selon une grille régulière, ce qui crée une dynamique entre les lignes en zigzag et les diagonales. À première vue, l’ensemble paraît fermé et monumental, mais un foisonnement d’impressions visuelles jaillit quand on se déplace. Une tension se crée entre la régularité manifeste de l’œuvre et la perception qu’on en a.

«The 2000 Sculpture» avait été exposée pour la dernière fois au Kunsthaus Zürich en l’an 2000. Nous sommes donc très heureux de pouvoir enfin vous présenter de nouveau ce merveilleux travail, prêt de la Fondation Walter A. Bechtler.

Commissaire de l’exposition: Mirjam Varadinis

Ill.: Walter De Maria, The 2000 Sculpture, 1992, Kunsthaus Zürich, propriété de la «The 2000 Sculpture» Foundation, 1994, photos: Nic Tenwiggenhorn, Düsseldorf, © Estate of Walter De Maria