Alexandra Bachzetsis’ latest work is a combined exhibition and live performances that explores the relationship between the staging of the excessive body and its consumption by the coveting gaze.

Staging the excessive body

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups) inclusive Collection.
Free admission for members, children and young people under the age of 17 and every Wednesday.

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Alexandra Bachzetsis (b. 1974) is a choreographer and visual artist who lives and works in Zurich. Her artistic practice is located at the interface between dance, performance, visual art and theatre. Many of her works are concerned with choreographies of the body and in particular with the ways in which we appropriate gestures, modes of expression, patterns of identification and fantasies from popular culture as we constantly reinvent and define our bodies. Bachzetsis is interested in the reciprocal influence of ‘popular commercial’ media (social media, video clips and television) and ‘art’ (ballet, modern and contemporary dance, performance and visual art).

Obscene2020_3760_2430.jpg
Obscene2020_2784_2435.jpg
Obscene_2020_3814_2435.jpg
Obscene2020_2673_2435.jpg
Obscene2020_2470_2435.jpg
Obscene2020_2376_2424.jpg
Obscene2020_2283_2435.jpg

Public guided tours

9. and 23. April at 11 a.m. Tickets on the agenda!

Private guided tour

Group size: max. 15
Languages: German, English, French, Italian
Cost: admission to the exhibition (groupe rate) + CHF 190.– (German) / CHF 220.– (other languages), duration: 1 hour

Alexandra Bachzetsis’s works have been shown around the world in major museums and theatres as well as biennials and festivals. The Kunsthaus Zürich already has a lengthy association with the artist, who was awarded the City of Zurich Art Prize in 2018. An early work by her was shown here back in 2008, and other performances followed in the ensuing years. Now, the museum version of her latest work, ‘2020: Obscene’, is premiering at the Kunsthaus. In it, she uses performance to explore the interdependencies between the ‘scene’– acting and staging – and the ‘obscene’. That relationship has a long and inspiring history in the philosophy of language, sociology, and cultural and aesthetic theory. Jean Baudrillard employs the obscene as a cultural-critical term to describe our global society, which has become entirely subject to mediatization and in which mediality has become reality. In a 1988 essay, he argues that we are living in an ‘ecstasy of communication’ which he regards as ‘obscene’: ‘Obscenity is not confined to sexuality, because today there is a pornography of information and communication (…) It is no longer the obscenity of the hidden, the repressed, the obscure, but that of the visible, all-too-visible.’

Alexandra_Bachzetsis.jpg
Alexandra Bachzetsis, Photo © Peggy June

2020: Obscene

The idea for Alexandra Bachzetsis’s new piece came during the first lockdown; hence the reference to the year in its title. In it, she tackles extreme physical and emotional experiences, but also isolation and death. ‘2020: Obscene’ further investigates the possibilities of theatre with regard to seduction, attraction and games of sexual identity; and the performing body itself as a place manifesting the alienation and limitations of human existence. The performers are confronted with their own corporealities – with the contradictions between intuition and gesture, light and dark, score and script, as well as norm and form.

Supported by the Dr Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation

Ill. above: Alexandra Bachzetsis. 2020: Obscene, Photo © Melanie Hofmann

#2020Obscene

Supported by:

Le plus nouveau travail d’Alexandra Bachzetsis est autant exposition que live performance et se concentre sur le rapport entre la mise en scène du corps excessif et sa consommation par le regard désirant.

Mise en scène du corps excessif

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes) Collection inclus.
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans et tous les mercredi

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

Alexandra Bachzetsis (*1974) est chorégraphe et plasticienne. Elle vit et travaille à Zurich. Sa pratique artistique se déploie au carrefour de la danse, de la performance, des arts plastiques et du théâtre. Beaucoup de ses travaux s’intéressent aux chorégraphies du corps et en particulier à la manière dont nous nous approprions les gestes, les expressions, les modèles identificatoires et les fantasmes de la culture pop, en redessinant et en redéfinissant continuellement nos corps. Ce qui intéresse Alexandra Bachzetsis dans cette approche, c’est l’influence réciproque entre les médias «populaires commerciaux» (réseaux sociaux, vidéoclips ou télévision) et l’«art» (danse classique, moderne et contemporaine, performance et arts plastiques).

Obscene2020_3760_2430.jpg
Obscene2020_2784_2435.jpg
Obscene_2020_media-img.png
Obscene2020_2673_2435.jpg
Obscene2020_2470_2435.jpg
Obscene2020_2376_2424.jpg
Obscene2020_2283_2435.jpg

Visites guidées publiques

Ont lieu au : 9. et 23. avril à 11 h. Billets sur notre agenda!

Visite guidée privée

Taille du groupe: 20 personnes max.
Langues: allemand, anglais, français, italien, espagnol
Tarif: billet pour l’exposition (tarife groupe) + CHF 190.– (allemand) / CHF 220.– (autres langues), durée: 1 heure

Pour toute demande de réservation, merci de nous contacter au moins une semaine avant la date souhaitée.

Entre le Kunsthaus Zürich et l’artiste, récompensée en 2018 par le Prix d’art de la ville de Zurich, les liens sont déjà anciens. Dès 2008, l’un de ses premiers travaux y avait été présenté, et au fil des années, d’autres performances ont suivi. Le Kunsthaus Zürich accueille à présent sa dernière œuvre, «2020: Obscene» dans sa version pour musée en première. L’artiste y explore sur un mode performatif les interdépendances entre la «scène» (c’est-à-dire le jeu et la mise en scène) et l’«obscène». Cette relation a une longue et intéressante histoire dans la philosophie du langage, la sociologie ainsi que la théorie de la culture et de l’art. Jean Baudrillard utilise le terme «obscène» pour critiquer la culture et décrire notre société globale entièrement soumise à la médiatisation, et dans laquelle le virtuel est devenu le réel. Dès 1988, il décrivait cette «extase de la communication» dans laquelle nous vivons, et qui est selon lui «obscène»: «Il n’y a pas que le sexuel qui devienne obscène dans la pornographie, il y a aujourd’hui toute une pornographie de l’information et de la communication. (…) Ce n’est plus l’obscénité de ce qui est caché, refoulé, obscur, c’est celle du visible, du trop visible.» Les performeurs sont confrontés à leur propre corporéité – avec toutes ses contradictions entre l’intuition et le geste, l’ombre et la lumière, la partition et le script, la norme et la forme.

Alexandra_Bachzetsis.jpg
Alexandra Bachzetsis, Photo © Peggy June

2020: Obscene

L’idée de cette nouvelle pièce d’Alexandra Bachzetsis est née pendant le premier confinement, comme le rappelle l’année dans le titre. L’artiste y thématise des expériences limites, physiques et émotionnelles, mais aussi l’isolement ou la mort. «2020: Obscene» aborde d’une part les possibilités du théâtre au regard de la séduction, de l’attirance et des jeux de l’identité sexuelle, d’autre part le corps support de cette représentation en tant que tel, lieu d’aliénation et de limitation de l’existence humaine. Les performeurs sont confrontés à leur propre corporéité – avec toutes ses contradictions entre l’intuition et le geste, l’ombre et la lumière, la partition et le script, la norme et la forme.

Avec le soutien de la Fondation Dr Georg et Josi Guggenheim

Tous les illu.: Alexandra Bachzetsis. 2020: Obscene, Photo © Melanie Hofmann

#2020Obscene

Avec le soutien de: