Presenting 500 exhibits revealing how the legendary Italian film-maker Federico Fellini used drawings to develop the scenes and characters for his films.

From drawings to charachters in a film

Federico Fellini (1920–1993) is one of the most important directors in cinema history. Films such as ‘La strada’ (1954), ‘La dolce vita’ (1960), ‘Amarcord’ (1973) and ‘Città delle donne’ (1980) are classics that are discussed by culture practitioners internationally and loved by the public at large. They are incisive commentaries on Italian society but also on Western values in the 20th century. Less known is the fact that Fellini had been a tireless draughtsman since his youth, initially sketching out his dreams and ideas using a felt or ball-point pen or a fineliner on paper before arranging them on the set and letting the cameras roll.

Fellini_Filmplakat_Fellinis-Gauner.jpg
German film poster for ‘Il bidone’, 1955, Collection of the German Poster Museum in the Museum Folkwang, Essen © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Signora-del-treno.jpg
Federico Fellini Signora del treno, 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Casanova.jpg
Federico Fellini Casanova (Donald Sutherland), 1976 (Il casanova), Graziano Mandozzi, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Aufnahme-am-Set_Casanova.jpg
Pierluigi Praturlon Still taken on the set of ‘Il Casanova’, 1976, Graziano Mandozzi © Estate Pierluigi Praturlon
Fellini_Abfahrt-der-Marktfrauen.jpg
Federico Fellini Untitled (departure of the market women), 1972–1973 (Amarcord), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Studie-einer-Boxerin.jpg
Federico Fellini Untitled (study of a female boxer), 1979–1980 (La città delle donne), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich
Fellini_Anita-vestita-da-prete.jpg
Federico Fellini Anita vestita da prete, 1959–1960 (La dolce vita), Jakob and Philipp Keel Collection, © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

In addition to individual scenes and details of sets, he was chiefly interested in the characters that populate his films. Drawing was one way in which he developed his thoughts about them. These rapid sketches helped to guide him, but he also used them to explain his ideas visually to the film crew. As a consequence of his artistic leanings – he first worked as a caricaturist and creator of humorous drawings for newspapers – Fellini’s film drawings show a marked tendency towards caricature, and even the grotesque. It is that specific style that makes the drawings remarkable artistic creations in their own right, independently of the films for which they were made.

Fellini_Kostuem-Dresden-Casanova.jpg
Danilo Donati Costume for the Dresden Opera scene, 1976 (Il casanova) Graziano Mandozzi

Important private collections, film clips and props

The presentation includes some 500 exhibits: drawings, on-set photographs and props actually used in the films. It has been conceived by Cathérine Hug, who is curating the presentation at the Kunsthaus Zürich, in collaboration with Tobias Burg, who was responsible for its earlier showing at the Museum Folkwang in Essen. The last exhibition of this kind at the Kunsthaus was staged in 1984 while the director was still alive, and with his personal involvement. A large proportion of the exhibits consist of drawings from the Zurich collection of Jakob and Philipp Keel. They are complemented by a similar number of mostly black-and-white set photographs, costumes and props as well as expansive film clips and trailers which, through their interplay with the drawings, shed light on Fellini’s working method. The drawings and photographs attest to the close ties between Federico Fellini and the Keels. Many have not previously been published. The selection on display at the Kunsthaus Zürich includes 40 additional loans that were not on show at its cooperation partner, the Museum Folkwang in Essen, where the exhibition ran until 20 February 2022. These costumes, props, casting letters and personal effects come from the Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma in Sion, the Fellini Museum in Rimini, which opened in 2021, and the private holdings of the conductor Graziano Mandozzi.

The exhibition is supported by the Truus and Gerrit van Riemsdijk Foundation and the Dr. Georg and Josi Guggenheim Foundation.

Ill:

Federico Fellini, Maria de Sisti as the inn owner, 1972 (Roma), Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma, Sion © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

Supported by:

L'exposition présente 500 pièces qui révèle comment le légendaire réalisateur italien Federico Fellini créait les scènes et les caractères de ses films à partir de croquis et d’esquisses.

Naissance des personnages par le dessin

Federico Fellini (1920-1993) est l’un des plus grands réalisateurs de l’histoire du cinéma. Des films comme «La strada» (1954), «La dolce vita» (1960), «Amarcord» (1973) et «La Cité des femmes» (1980) sont des classiques qui continuent à susciter de nombreux débats dans le monde de la culture et à enthousiasmer le public. Leurs thèmes renvoient avec évidence à la société italienne, mais aussi aux valeurs occidentales du 20e siècle jusqu’à nos jours. Toutefois, rares sont ceux qui savent que depuis son enfance, Fellini dessinait inlassablement. Il commençait par jeter ses rêves et idées sur le papier sous forme de croquis au feutre, au stylo à bille ou au feutre à pointe fine avant de les mettre en scène sur les plateaux de cinéma, et finalement de les fixer sur pellicule.

Fellini_Filmplakat_Fellinis-Gauner.jpg
Fellini_Signora-del-treno.jpg
Fellini_Casanova.jpg
Fellini_Aufnahme-am-Set_Casanova.jpg
Fellini_Abfahrt-der-Marktfrauen.jpg
Fellini_Studie-einer-Boxerin.jpg
Fellini_Anita-vestita-da-prete.jpg

Si l’on trouve dans cet ensemble des esquisses de certaines scènes, ou des détails de décors, Fellini s’intéressait avant tout aux personnages qui peuplent ses films. Pour développer sa vision des rôles, il utilisait notamment le dessin. Ces croquis rapides lui servaient à donner une orientation à ses idées, mais aussi à les exposer à l’équipe de tournage. Les dispositions artistiques de Fellini, qui fut d’abord caricaturiste et auteur de dessins humoristiques pour la presse, donnaient à ses croquis de cinéma un aspect caricatural marqué, et parfois même grotesque. C’est ce style si caractéristique qui fait de ces esquisses, indépendamment des œuvres cinématographiques auxquelles elles ont conduit, des créations d’une remarquable originalité artistique.

Fellini_Kostuem-Dresden-Casanova.jpg
Danilo Donati Costume de scène pour l’opéra de Dresde, 1976 (Il casanova) Graziano Mandozzi

Importantes collections particulières, extraits de films et accessoires

L’exposition rassemble près de 500 pièces: des dessins, des photographies de plateau et des accessoires provenant directement des tournages. Elle a été conçue par Cathérine Hug, commissaire au Kunsthaus Zürich, en collaboration avec Tobias Burg, qui en a auparavant assuré la présentation au Museum Folkwang de Essen. Le Kunsthaus avait organisé une présentation similaire en 1984, du vivant du cinéaste, et avec sa participation. La majorité des pièces exposées sont des dessins de la collection zurichoise de Jakob et Philipp Keel. À ces croquis s’ajoute une quantité aussi importante de photographies de plateau, en noir et blanc pour la plupart. On pourra également voir des costumes et des accessoires de tournage ainsi que des extraits de films et des bandes-annonces projetés dans la salle qui, associés aux dessins, mettront en évidence la façon dont Fellini travaillait. Les dessins et les photographies témoignent du lien étroit qui existait entre Federico Fellini et les Keel. Beaucoup sont restés inédits jusqu’à présent. Par rapport à l’exposition présentée jusqu’au 20 février au Museum Folkwang de Essen, partenaire de ce projet, celle du Kunsthaus Zürich compte 40 prêts supplémentaires. Ces costumes, accessoires, lettres de casting et objets personnels proviennent de la Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma de Sion, du Musée Fellini qui a ouvert ses portes à Rimini en 2021, et de la collection particulière du compositeur et chef d’orchestre Graziano Mandozzi.

Cette exposition bénéficie du soutien de la Fondation Truus et Gerrit van Riemsdijk et de la Fondation Dr Georg et Josi Guggenheim.

Ill: Federico Fellini, Maria de Sisti en propriétaire de pension, 1972 (Rome), Fondation Fellini pour le cinéma, Sion © 2022, ProLitteris, Zurich

Avec le soutien de: