Comprising some 140 works, the exhibition covers all the media Richter has used to create his landscapes, from painting, drawing, printmaking and photography to sculptures and artist’s books.

Familiar and novel insights

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday
Due to the pandemic, the number of visitors is limited and waiting times may be expected. Time slot tickets are not available due to the uncertain situation and changing regulations.

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Information about our safety concept can be found under 'Useful information about your visit'.

HYGIENE & SAFETY

The Gerhard Richter exhibition at the Kunsthaus Zürich celebrates one of the most important contemporary German artists. It is the first solo presentation of his work at the Kunsthaus and is devoted to a key genre within his oeuvre: landscape painting. On display are 140 works, most of which are being shown for the first time in Switzerland or have not been seen in public for decades; they include ‘Townscape PX’ (1968), spectacular ‘Seascapes’ from Berlin and Bilbao, and the energy-laden ‘Jungle Picture’ (1971) from a private collection. In addition to 80 paintings, there are drawings, photo collages, overpainted photographs, prints and artist’s books. Extending over 1,200m2, the exhibition guides visitors through Richter’s creative process from 1957 to 2018.

Second-hand Landscapes

From the outset, Richter views the landscape through a medium of mechanical reproduction: photography. The photos that form the basis for his pictures are mostly ones that he has taken himself, and he uses them to create not painted landscapes, but paintings of photographed landscapes. The specifically photographic aesthetic that informs the composition, structure and colour palette remains clearly visible, as in the oil painting ëHouse in Forestí (2004), with its view of the staff building at the famous hotel in Sils Maria. Thus begins his critical reflection on the lost potential of painting.

Richter_Abstrakte Landschaft_1969.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Abstract Landscape, 1969, Private collection Munich © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Stadtbild_PX_1968.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Townscape PX, 1968, Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, München, Wittelsbacher Ausgleichfonds – Sammlung Prinz Franz von Bayern, 1984; Artothek / photo: Blauel / Gnamm © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Eis_1981.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Ice, 1981, Collection Ruth McLoughlin, Monaco © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Abstraktes_Bild_1987.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Abstrace Painting, 1987, Niedersächsische Sparkassenstiftung im Sprengel Museum Hannover; photo: bpk / Sprengel Museum Hannover / Aline Herling / Michael Herling / Benedikt Werner © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Ohne-Titel (Febr. 92)_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Untitled (Febr. 92), 1992, Private collection; photo: Achim Kukulies, Düsseldorf
Richter_St. Moritz_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, St. Moritz, 1992, Private collection Switzerland © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Dschungelbild_1971.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Jungle Picture, 1971, Private collection, Courtesy Ceylan Ecer; photo: Courtesy Sotheby‘s © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Piz_Surlej_Piz_Corvatsch_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Piz Surlej, Piz Corvatsch, 1992, Collection Peter and Elisabeth Bloch; photo: Christoph Schelbert, Olten © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Seestück_(See-See)_1970.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Seascape (Sea-Sea), 1970, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie; photo: bpk / Nationalgalerie, SMB / Jörg P. Anders © Gerhard Richter

Landscapes in abstraction

In the 1960s and 1970s especially, Richter produced highly abstract images of mountains, parks and cities that, through painting, further explore the potential of an abstraction that has its origins in photography. These works alternate between landscape motifs depicted as reproductions of originals and a self-referential materiality of colour expressed through broad brushstrokes. This dualistic principle does not aim at a classical abstraction in which the form becomes autonomous, but rather asks to what extent the form can achieve autonomy from a basis in photographs. Measuring 250 x 680 cm, the two-part work ‘St. Gallen’ (1989) pushes abstraction so far that even locals are unable to recognize any topographic or architectural features of their city.

Landscapes as fictional constructions

In the 1970s and 1990s, Richter also produced landscapes in the form of fictional constructions. Working in oil painting, printing, photo collages and three-dimensionality, he creates landscapes and monumental spaces that can never exist in reality but are highly suggestive. The motifs of seas, mountains and clouds have been put together in such a way that their size or arrangement transcends any real experience.

Overpainted Landscapes

From 1965 onwards, Richter produces non-representational overpaintings using oils, employing a wide range of often strongly corporeal techniques including peeling, scraping, smearing and squeegeeing. The photograph of a landscape conveys a representational motif by means of reproduction, while at the same time paint is applied to the surface in such a way as to produce abstraction. These two levels of reality – including titles devoid of locational information such as ‘10. Apr. 2015’ (2015) – appear as an interlocked unity, forging a bond that is close and replete with tension, yet at the same time subtle.

« Such works show my 'longing', they are a 'dream of classical order and an unspoilt world.' » — Gerhard Richter, 1981

Landscapes in uneasy times

Our appreciation of landscapes and their aesthetic quality increases with the onset of industrialization and the emergence of tourism in the 19th century; and they come to be increasingly valued as they are devastated by wars and environmental disasters. The contemplation of both art and landscapes evokes strong feelings. The year 2021 is set to be dominated by the corona crisis, the most tangible consequences of which, at a personal level, are physical distancing and drastic limitations on mobility. Scheduling the exhibition at this time offers a glimmer of hope. A visit to the Kunsthaus Zürich is a clear reminder of the value of sensory experiences in the shared social process of reception, especially when they become surfaces onto which longings are projected, as is the case with Gerhard Richter’s landscapes.

In association with the Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien.
Curated by Hubertus Butin (Berlin) and Cathérine Hug (Kunsthaus Zürich)

Image: Gerhard Richter, Townscape F, 1968, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, Dauerleihgabe der Deutschen Bundesbank; photo: Wolfganz Günzel

Kunstdruck-Abendstimmung.png

A 'Gerhard Richter' for your home?

Newly edited art prints in high quality and limited edition, exclusively and exceptionally authorised for the Kunsthaus Zürich. From CHF 150.- and the print 'Blattecke' (1967/2020) in a limited edition of 30 copies for CHF 4'900.-. Both were exceptionally and exclusively authorised by Gerhard Richter for the Kunsthaus Zürich. Available in the Kunsthaus shop and online.

Member benefit: 10% discount on taylored framing at 'Art Poster Gallery' at Stadelhofen station upon presentation of the member ID.

Supported by:

Cette exposition qui réunit environ 140 œuvres comprend tous les médias utilisés par Richter pour traiter le thème du paysage, de la peinture à la sculpture et aux livres d’artistes en passant par le dessin, la gravure et la photographie.

Tour d’horizon

Entrée

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi
En raison de la pandémie, le nombre de personnes est limité et des temps d'attente sont à prévoir. Les billets avec des blocs horaires ne sont pas offerts en raison de la situation incertaine et des changements de réglementation.

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Informations sur le concepte de protection se trouvent soul la rubrique «Infos utiles pour réussir votre visite».

HYGIÈNE & PROTECTION

Avec Gerhard Richter, c’est l’un des plus grands artistes contemporains allemands que le Kunsthaus Zürich met à l’honneur. Il s’agit de sa première exposition particulière au Kunsthaus, et elle est consacrée à un genre pictural central dans son œuvre, le paysage. Elle permettra de découvrir 140 travaux, dont la plupart visibles pour la première fois en Suisse ou inaccessibles au public depuis de longues décennies, comme le «Stadtbild PX» (1968), de spectaculaires marines venues de Berlin et de Bilbao, ou encore la «Vue de Jungle» (1971), chargée d’énergie, qui appartient à un collectionneur privé. Les 80 tableaux exposés seront accompagnés de dessins, de collages photographiques, de photographies surpeintes, de gravures et de livres d’artiste. Sur 1200 m2, le public pourra suivre tout le processus créatif de Richter de 1957 à 2018.

Paysages de second main

Depuis le début, Richter voit le paysage à travers le procédé de reproduction mécanique qu’est la photographie. Les photos qui servent de point de départ à ces images ont été le plus souvent prises par l’artiste lui-même. En principe Richter ne représente donc pas des paysages, mais des peintures de photographies de paysages. L’esthétique propre à la photographie, qui repose sur le cadrage, la composition et la couleur, reste bien perceptible, par exemple dans le tableau à l’huile «Maison dans la fôret» (2004) où l’on aperçoit le bâtiment des employés du célèbre hôtel de Sils Maria. C’est ainsi que Richter débute sa réflexion critique sur les possibilités perdues de la peinture.

Richter_Abstrakte Landschaft_1969.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Paysage Abstrait, 1969, Collection privée, Munich © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Stadtbild_PX_1968.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Vue de la ville de PX, 1968, Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen, München, Wittelsbacher Ausgleichfonds – Sammlung Prinz Franz von Bayern, 1984; Artothek / photo: Blauel / Gnamm © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Eis_1981.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Glace, 1981, Collection Ruth McLoughlin, Monaco © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Abstraktes_Bild_1987.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Tableau abstrait, 1987, Niedersächsische Sparkassenstiftung im Sprengel Museum Hannover; photo: bpk / Sprengel Museum Hannover / Aline Herling / Michael Herling / Benedikt Werner © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Ohne-Titel (Febr. 92)_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Sans titre (Febr. 92), 1992, Collection privée; photo: Achim Kukulies, Düsseldorf © Gerhard Richter
Richter_St. Moritz_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, St. Moritz, 1992, Collection privée Suisse © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Dschungelbild_1971.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Vue de Jungle, 1971, Collection privée, Courtesy Ceylan Ecer; photo: Courtesy Sotheby‘s © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Piz_Surlej_Piz_Corvatsch_1992.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Piz Surlej, Piz Corvatsch, 1992, Collection Peter et Elisabeth Bloch; photo: Christoph Schelbert, Olten © Gerhard Richter
Richter_Seestück_(See-See)_1970.jpg
Gerhard Richter, Marine (mer-mer), 1970, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Nationalgalerie; photo: bpk / Nationalgalerie, SMB / Jörg P. Anders © Gerhard Richter

Paysages et abstraction

Dans les années 1960 et 1970 avant tout, Richter crée des images de montagnes, de parcs et de villes largement abstraites, qui vont encore plus loin dans l’exploration par la peinture des possibilités d’une abstraction qui, à l’origine, s’appuyait sur la photographie. Ces oeuvres oscillent entre représentation mimétique de motifs paysagers et matérialité autoréférentielle des couleurs posées en larges coups de pinceau. Dans ce principe dualiste, il ne s’agit pas d’abstraction classique au sens d’autonomisation de la forme: l’enjeu est plutôt de savoir jusqu’où, en partant de substrats photographiques, on peut pousser l’émancipation de la forme. Le tableau en deux parties intitulé «Saint-Gall» (1989, 250 x 680 cm) va si loin dans l’abstraction que même les habitants n’identifient aucune des caractéristiques topographiques ou architecturales de leur ville.

Paysages de fiction

Dans les années 1970 et 1990, Richter produit des paysages sous la forme de constructions fictionnelles. Tableaux à l’huile, gravures, collages photographiques, et même un objet tridimensionnel permettent au peintre de représenter des paysages et des espaces monumentaux qui ne peuvent exister dans la réalité mais sont fortement suggestives. Ces images de mer, de montagnes et de nuages présentent une composition de motifs dont la taille ou la disposition font qu’elles échappent à toute expérience réelle.

Paysages surpeints

À partir de 1965, Richter commence à couvrir de peinture à l’huile des photographies de formes non figuratives, en utilisant des techniques variées, mais à la gestuelle souvent fortement physique, comme le transfert, le grattage, le nappage et le raclage. Par la photographie d’un paysage, l’artiste restitue un motif figuratif de manière mimétique, tout en appliquant une matière colorée abstraite sur la surface. Ces deux niveaux de réalité - même avec des titres sans indication de lieu, comme dans «10.Apr.2015» (2015), semblent, imbriqués l’un dans l’autre, former une unité, et nouent un lien étroit, tout en tension et en subtilité.

« Ces oeuvres montrent ma 'nostalgie', elles expriment le 'rêve d’un ordre classique, le désir d’un monde intact'. » — Gerhard Richter, 1981

Paysage en temps turbulents

Notre goût pour les paysages et leur qualité esthétique s’est affirmé au 19e siècle, au début de l’industrialisation et la naissance du tourisme. Et notre admiration croît à mesure que les guerres et les catastrophes écologiques les dévastent. Ce que la contemplation de l’art et des paysages ont en commun, c’est l’évocation d’un sentiment puissant. L’année 2021 se présente encore sous les auspices de la pandémie de coronavirus, dont les conséquences les plus perceptibles au plan personnel sont la distanciation sociale et les restrictions à la mobilité. Programmer cette exposition en pareille période est une lueur d’espoir. Il suffit de se rendre au Kunsthaus Zürich pour réaliser combien sont précieuses les expériences sensorielles partagées et la réception collective des oeuvres, surtout lorsqu’elles deviennent des surfaces de projection pour nos aspirations de désir et fantasmes, comme cela se produit avec les paysages de Richter.

En coopération avec le Bank Austria Kunstforum Wien.
Commissaires de l’exposition: Hubertus Butin (Berlin) et Cathérine Hug (Kunsthaus Zürich)

Ill.: Gerhard Richter, Vue de la ville de F, 1968, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, Dauerleihgabe der Deutschen Bundesbank; photo: Wolfganz Günzel

Kunstdruck-Abendstimmung.png

Un «Gerhard Richter» pour votre maison ?

Des impressions d'art nouvellement éditées en haute qualité et en édition limitée, exclusivement et exceptionnellement autorisées pour le Kunsthaus Zürich. A partir de CHF 150.- et la gravure «Blattecke» (1967/2020) en édition limitée à 30 exemplaires pour CHF 4'900.-. Toutes deux ont été exceptionnellement et exclusivement autorisées par Gerhard Richter pour le Kunsthaus Zürich. Disponible à la boutique du Kunsthaus et online.

Avantage pour les adhérents : 10 % de réduction sur l'encadrement sur mesure à la «Art Poster Gallery» pret de la gare Stadelhofen, sur présentation de votre carte de membre.

Avec le soutien de: