From scenes of untamed nature amid the Alpine peaks to dramatic turning points in Swiss history and harrowing shipwrecks: this exhibition on Swiss Romanticism transforms the Kunsthaus Zürich into a panorama of grand emotions.

Swiss Romanticism

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

With over 150 works it spans the arc from Henry Fuseli to Alexandre Calame and the early Arnold Böcklin. It reveals the considerable contribution made by Swiss artists to the development of European landscape painting and vividly showcases their awestruck contemplation of the eternal glacier ice and the sublime world of the mountains.

Romanticism also opens up areas of experience that lie beyond the realm of purely rational thought. Passion, exaltation of the senses and a fascination with the unfathomable are central elements in the art of this period. They reflect an attitude to life that is currently enjoying a revival as an antidote to our over-rationalized everyday existence. Now is therefore the perfect time to revisit the multifaceted spirit of renewal that Swiss Romanticism embodies with such vitality. Our review will also incorporate famous Romantics from neighbouring countries, thus adding an international perspective to our appreciation of Swiss Romanticism.

Curator: Jonas Beyer

--

Image above:

Alexandre Calame, Le Grand Eiger at Sunrise, 1844 (detail), deposited by the Swiss Confederation, Federal Office of Culture, Gottfried Keller Foundation

Supported by:

Mises en scène de la nature indomptée aux sommets des Alpes, heures dramatiques de l’histoire helvétique, naufrages chargés de pathos: cette exposition consacrée au romantisme suisse transforme le Kunsthaus Zürich en un panorama d’émotions fortes.

Tour d’horizon

Entrée

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

À travers plus de 150 œuvres, elle embrasse la production artistique allant de Johann Heinrich Füssli au premier Arnold Böcklin en passant par Alexandre Calame. Elle démontre l’éminente contribution des artistes suisses à l’évolution de la peinture de paysage et fait revivre la fascination exercée par les glaciers, les neiges éternelles et les sublimes montagnes.

Mais le romantisme s’aventure aussi dans des domaines situés au-delà de la pensée rationnelle. La passion, l’ivresse des sens, la fascination pour l’inexplicable sont des dimensions fondamentales invoquées par l’art de cette époque. Elles reflètent un sentiment existentiel qui est de nouveau très en vogue pour l’alternative qu’il offre à notre quotidien hyperrationalisé. Raison de plus pour faire revivre, sous toutes ses facettes, l’esprit de renouveau que le romantisme suisse incarne avec tant de vitalité. En associant à ce voyage de célèbres romantiques, y compris des pays voisins, notre tour d’horizon rendra hommage au romantisme suisse en le replaçant dans une perspective internationale.

Commissaire: Jonas Beyer

--

Image ci-dessus:

Alexandre Calame, Le Grand Eiger au soleil levant, 1844 (détail), dépôt de la Confédération suisse, Office fédéral de la culture, Fondation Gottfried Keller

Avec le soutien de: