Danish-Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson (b. 1967) is one of the most important artists working today, appearing in leading museums and exhibitions worldwide.

Exclusively for the Kunsthaus

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

He is developing a new installation exclusively for the Kunsthaus Zürich that will occupy the entirety of the Bührle gallery. The exhibition’s subject is the relationship between human beings and the other life-forms and species on Earth – a central theme in the Anthropocene. Eliasson’s exhibition proposes an idea of the world based on co-existence and collaboration rather than competition, and transforms the gallery into an immersive, all-encompassing totality that appeals to a variety of senses.

Often drawing on science, Eliasson’s works deal with physical phenomena of nature, such as light, water, movement and reflection. He is interested, however, not in abstract, formal experiments but in perception itself: he invites us to view the world and ourselves with fresh eyes, to sense and probe things anew.

For Eliasson, art must also be relevant to society. Issues such as climate change, migration and the exploitation of our planet’s resources are central to his work. He successfully translates these essential themes and social concerns into a formal language that not only appeals to people rationally but also touches them emotionally and moves them physically.

Curator: Mirjam Varadinis

--

Image above:

At Studio Olafur Eliasson, test for a new installation work, 2019 (detail), photo: Alcuin Stevenson / Studio Olafur Eliasson, © 2019 Olafur Eliasson

L’artiste dano-islandais Olafur Eliasson (*1967) compte parmi les artistes contemporains les plus importants et ses œuvres sont présentées dans le monde entier dans de grands musées et de prestigieuses expositions.

En exclusivité pour le Kunsthaus

Entrée

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Pour le Kunsthaus Zürich, Eliasson réalise en exclusivité une nouvelle installation spécifiquement conçue pour la salle Bührle, qu’elle occupe en entier. Elle a pour thème notre rapport aux autres espèces et êtres vivants de la planète – question centrale à l’ère de l’anthropocène. Là où l’homme cherche à les dominer, Eliasson plaide quant à lui pour une symbiose et transforme l’espace muséal en une installation immersive totale qui sollicite tous nos sens.

Les travaux d’Eliasson rappellent souvent des dispositifs scientifiques et s’intéressent à des phénomènes naturels comme la lumière, l’eau, le mouvement et la réflexion. Mais il ne s’agit pas pour lui de réaliser que des expériences formelles et abstraites. L’artiste thématise plutôt la perception en soi et nous invite à regarder nous-mêmes le monde d’un nouvel œil, à le toucher, à l’explorer par l’odorat et ainsi à le redécouvrir.

Pour Eliasson, l’art doit aussi avoir une pertinence sociale. Des thèmes comme le changement climatique, les migrations et l’utilisation des ressources de notre planète jouent un rôle central dans son œuvre. Il réussit à transposer ces questions cruciales et ces enjeux sociaux majeurs dans une esthétique qui ne nous interpelle pas seulement sur un plan rationnel, mais nous touche aussi sur un plan émotionnel et physique.

Commissaire: Mirjam Varadinis

--

Image ci-dessus:

Dans le Studio Olafur Eliasson: test pour un nouveau travail d’installation, 2019 (détail), photo: Alcuin Stevenson / Studio Olafur Eliasson, © 2019 Olafur Eliasson

Avec le soutien de: