During her lifetime, Ottilie W. Roederstein (1859 – 1937) was a successful and independent painter whose portraits and still lifes were highly regarded in Switzerland and Germany but who also, from 1883 onwards, showed her paintings to great acclaim in Paris.

First monographic presentation

Admission

CHF 16.–/11.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT



Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Information about our safety concept can be found under 'Useful information about your visit'.

HYGIENE & SAFETY

During her lifetime, Ottilie Wilhelmine Roederstein (1859–1937) was the most important female Swiss painter. Her portraits and still lifes were widely admired not only in her homeland but also in Germany and France, and from 1883 onwards she successfully exhibited her work in Paris, London, Frankfurt am Main and Chicago. In 1912 she was the only female artist representing Switzerland at the seminal ‘International Art Exhibition of the Sonderbund’ in Cologne – alongside male colleagues including Ferdinand Hodler, Giovanni Giacometti and Cuno Amiet. Yet despite her considerable international renown, Roederstein lapsed into obscurity almost immediately after her death. More than 80 years on, the exhibition of some 70 works at the Kunsthaus Zürich is the first monographic presentation in Switzerland to place this artist’s stylistically diverse oeuvre once again before a wider audience.

From conventional to adventurous

Roederstein, who signed her works with the initials OWR, worked specifically for the art market, in order to make her living as a freelance artist. She adhered to the conventions that female artists were expected to abide by. Early in her career, that meant employing a dark-toned palette of colours and choosing portraits and still lifes as her subjects. Yet she soon found herself venturing beyond the allotted domain of women painters, producing religious images and nudes.

OWR_Selbstbildnis-mit-Hut_1904.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-Portrait with Hat, 1904, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photo © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
OWR_Quitten_1929.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Quinces, 1929, Kunstmuseum Bern, gift of the artist
OWR_Irene Holz_1919.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Irene Holz, née Edle von Hofmann, 1919, Private collection, Zurich
OWR_Afrikaner_1887.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Portrait of an African Man, ca. 1887–1889, Private collection, photo © Horst Ziegenfusz
OWR_Im-Atelier_.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein in her atelier at the Städelsche Kunstinstitut, Frankfurt am Main, ca. 1894, Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv at the Städel Museum, photo © Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv at the Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
OWR_Studie-aus-dem-Staedelgarten_1910.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Study of the Städel Garden, ca. 1910, Stadtmuseum Hofheim am Taunus, photo © Horst Ziegenfusz
OWR_Sieger_1898.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, The Victor, 1898, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photo © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

Due to official orders, guided tours cannot take place until further notice.

Public guided tours

Public guided tours in German take place on: Dates to follow
Cost: admission to the exhibition + CHF 6.–/CHF 4.– (Members)

Private guided tour

Group size: max. 20
Languages: German, English, French, Italian, Dutch
Cost: admission to the exhibition + CHF 190.– (German) / CHF 220.– (other languages), duration: 1 hour

Requests should normally be submitted at least a week before your desired date.

Around 1893, encouraged by her study of works from the Italian and German Renaissance, she began painting in tempera. This technique, which underwent a revival across Europe in the closing years of the 19th century, was regarded as at once traditional and avant-garde. In her more mature work, Roederstein exhibited a growing openness to other trends, incorporating both Impressionist and Symbolist elements into her art. Then, in the 1920s, she adopted her signature, objective and sober visual language. Her many self-portraits played a large role in her work. Designed by curator Sandra Gianfreda to include a representative selection of paintings and drawings, the exhibition visits the principal locations of Roederstein’s career – Zurich, Paris, Frankfurt am Main and Hofheim am Taunus – in chronological order, and is enhanced by previously unpublished photographic and archive material. It also includes around a dozen paintings held by the Kunsthaus itself, which began collecting Roederstein’s works in the 1890s and showed them in fifteen solo and group exhibitions up until 1934.

An important portrait painter for Germany and Switzerland

Ottilie W. Roederstein was an artist with close ties to the Kunsthaus Zürich. Born in Zurich to German parents, she lived and trained in her home city as well as Berlin and Paris before moving in 1891 to Frankfurt am Main. In 1909 she and her partner Dr. Elisabeth H. Winterhalter, a gynaecologist and Germany’s first female surgeon, settled in rural Hofheim am Taunus. Roederstein and Winterhalter supported each other, venturing into disciplines that were traditionally male preserves and making careers for themselves in art and medicine respectively. Roederstein became an established name in the German and Swiss cultural scene. Much in demand as a portrait artist herself, she promoted other artists by purchasing their works for her own collection, supported exhibitions of modern French and Swiss art, and encouraged their wider dissemination in Germany and Switzerland. In 1920, she donated works from her collection of modern French and Swiss art to the Kunsthaus, laying the foundations for a department of contemporary art from France.

« My whole interest was work and work. I devoted my entire being to it. » — Ottilie W. Roederstein

First swiss retrospective for more than 80 years

Commemorative exhibitions of Roederstein’s work were staged in 1938 in Frankfurt, Zurich and Bern in recognition of her artistic legacy and tireless work as a mediator between Switzerland and Germany; but the rift opened up by the Second World War and the art world’s general focus on abstract painting caused Roederstein’s work to be forgotten. Now, her multifaceted oeuvre is waiting to be rediscovered in an overview exhibition in Switzerland. The retrospective at the Kunsthaus Zürich pays tribute to Roederstein’s remarkable career and locates her in the context of her time. It also coincides with the recent re-cataloguing of her estate. Among its documented findings is that Ottilie W. Roederstein was active not just as a painter but also as a promoter of women’s education, and was also a leading figure in an extensive network of free-spirited artists and intellectuals.

The exhibition is a cooperation between the Kunsthaus Zürich and the Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main.

Curator: Sandra Gianfreda

Image above:

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Self-portrait, 1917, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1917

Supported by:

Elisabeth_Weber_Stiftung.png

Ottilie W. Roederstein (1859 – 1937) a été de son vivant une artiste indépendante et reconnue pour ses portraits et ses natures mortes, non seulement en Suisse et en Allemagne, mais aussi à Paris, où à partir de 1883, elle a exposé ses toiles qui ont rencontré un grand succès.

Première présentation monographique

Entrée

CHF 16.–/11.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Vous trouverez des informations sur les mesures de protection mises en place à la rubrique «Infos utiles pour réussir votre visite.

HYGIÈNE & PROTECTION

Ottilie Wilhelmine Roederstein (1859–1937) fut de son vivant la plus importante femme peintre de Suisse. Reconnue pour ses portraits et natures mortes, non seulement dans son pays natal mais aussi en Allemagne et en France, elle exposa ses tableaux à partir de 1883 à Paris, Londres, Francfort/Main et Chicago, chaque fois avec beaucoup de succès. En 1912, elle fut la seule femme à représenter la Suisse à la mythique exposition internationale d’art du Sonderbund, à Cologne — entourée de collègues masculins tels que Ferdinand Hodler, Giovanni Giacometti et Cuno Amiet. Cette reconnaissance internationale n’a pas empêché Roederstein de tomber dans l’oubli peu après son décès. Après plus de 80 ans, l’exposition du Kunsthaus, qui rassemblera quelque 70 œuvres, sera la première présentation monographique organisée en Suisse. Elle permettra à un large public de redécouvrir l’œuvre d’une grande richesse stylistique de cette artiste.

Conventionelle, puis audacieuse

Roederstein, qui signait de ses initiales OWR, créait des œuvres ciblées pour le marché de l’art afin de pouvoir vivre de sa peinture, ce qui l’obligeait à se plier aux conventions en vigueur pour les artistes femmes. Cette démarche se traduit, au début de sa carrière, par l’utilisation d’une palette sombre et par le choix de ses sujets: portraits et natures mortes. Pourtant, très vite, Roederstein sort des sentiers battus où les femmes devaient se cantonner en s’aventurant dans le domaine des tableaux religieux et du nu.

OWR_Selbstbildnis-mit-Hut_1904.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait avec chapeau, 1904, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photo © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
OWR_Quitten_1929.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Coings, 1929, Kunstmuseum Bern, don de l‘artiste
OWR_Irene Holz_1919.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Irene Holz, née Edle von Hofmann, 1919, Collection privée, Zurich
OWR_Afrikaner_1887.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, L‘africain, vers 1887–1889, Collection privée, photo © Horst Ziegenfusz
OWR_Im-Atelier_.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein dans son atelier au Städelsche Kunstinstitut, Frankfurt am Main, vers 1894, Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv au Städel Museum, photo © Roederstein-Jughenn-Archiv au Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main
OWR_Studie-aus-dem-Staedelgarten_1910.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Étude du Städelgarten, vers 1910, Stadtmuseum Hofheim am Taunus, photo © Horst Ziegenfusz
OWR_Sieger_1898.jpg
Ottilie W. Roederstein, Le vainqueur, 1898, Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main, photo © Städel Museum, Frankfurt am Main

En raison de commandes officielles, les visites guidées ne peuvent avoir lieu jusqu'à nouvel ordre.

Visites guidées publiques

Les visites guidées publiques en allemand auront lieu: Dates à suivre
Tarif: billet pour l'exposition + CHF 6.–/CHF 4.– (adhésion)

Visite guidée privée

Taille du groupe: 20 personnes max.
Langues: allemand, anglais, français, italien, néerlandais
Tarif: billet pour l’exposition + CHF 190.– (allemand) / CHF 220.– (autres langues), durée: 1 heure

Pour toute demande de réservation, merci de nous contacter au moins une semaine avant la date souhaitée.

Inspirée par l’étude d’œuvres de la Renaissance italienne et allemande, elle s’essaye à partir de 1893 à la tempera. Cette technique, qui connaissait un regain d’intérêt dans toute l’Europe à la fin du 19e siècle, était considérée comme emprunte de tradition et avant-gardiste à la fois. Dans son œuvre de maturité, Roederstein s’ouvre de plus en plus à d’autres mouvances artistiques, intégrant dans son travail des éléments impressionnistes et symbolistes. Dans les années 1920, elle trouve peu à peu son propre langage pictural, à la fois sobre et objectif. Ses nombreux autoportraits occupent une grande place dans son œuvre. Conçue par la commissaire Sandra Gianfreda, cette exposition rassemble une sélection représentative de tableaux et de dessins présentés chronologiquement, qui suit les principaux lieux où Roederstein a vécu: Zurich, Paris, Francfort/Main et Hofheim am Taunus. On pourra également y voir des photographies et des documents d’archives inédits à ce jour. Une douzaine d’œuvres appartenant au Kunsthaus, qui fit l’acquisition de travaux de l’artiste dès les années 1890 et les présenta au public à travers 15 expositions individuelles ou collectives jusqu’en 1934, figureront dans cette exposition.

Une portraitiste majeure pour l'Allemagne et la Suisse

Cet hommage à Ottilie W. Roederstein est l’occasion pour le Kunsthaus Zürich de mettre à l’honneur une artiste à laquelle il fut étroitement lié. Née à Zurich de parents allemands, elle étudia l’art dans sa ville natale, à Berlin et à Paris, et vécut à Francfort/Main à partir de 1891. En 1909, elle s’installa dans le village de Hofheim am Taunus avec sa compagne, Elisabeth H. Winterhalter, gynécologue et première chirurgienne allemande. Les deux femmes se soutenaient mutuellement. Engagées dans des disciplines traditionnellement réservées aux hommes, elles firent carrière dans l’art et la médecine. En Allemagne comme en Suisse, Roederstein devint une figure incontournable de la vie culturelle. Portraitiste très demandée, elle encouragea d’autres artistes en acquérant leurs œuvres pour sa collection particulière, aida à l’organisation d’expositions d’art français et suisse et œuvra pour les faire connaître en Allemagne et en Suisse. En 1920, elle fit don au Kunsthaus d’œuvres de sa collection d’art français moderne et d’art suisse et posa ainsi la première pierre d'un département de peinture française contemporaine.

« Tout mon intérêt était le travail et le travail. J'y ai consacré tout mon être. » — Ottilie W. Roederstein

Première rétrospective en Suisse après plus de 80 ans

En souvenir du legs artistique d’Ottilie W. Roederstein et du rôle de médiatrice entre la Suisse et l’Allemagne qu’elle joua inlassablement, des expositions commémoratives lui ont été consacrées en 1938 à Francfort, Zurich et Berne. Mais la césure de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et la focalisation générale du monde de l’art sur la peinture abstraite firent que l’œuvre de Roederstein tomba dans l’oubli. Une exposition en Suisse, qui propose une vue d’ensemble de son œuvre multiple, permettra au public de la redécouvrir. Cette rétrospective au Kunsthaus Zürich mettra à l’honneur sa carrière impressionnante en la replaçant dans le contexte de l’époque. Sa redécouverte coïncide avec une nouvelle étude du fonds Roederstein. Cette dernière a permis d’établir qu’Ottilie W. Roederstein, outre l'éminente peintre qu'elle fut, a aussi œuvré pour l’éducation des femmes et participé activement à un large réseau d’artistes et d’intellectuels libres penseurs.

Cette exposition a vu le jour en coopération avec le Städel Museum de Francfort/Main.

Commissaire: Sandra Gianfreda

Image ci-dessus:

Ottilie W. Roederstein, Autoportrait, 1917, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1917

Avec le soutien de :

Elisabeth_Weber_Stiftung.png