The 1920s were a decade of both progression and backlash. A catastrophic world war followed by a pandemic with remarkable parallels to the current corona crisis awakened people’s thirst for life. At no time in the 20th century was the desire for change more intense.

Feininger_Bauhaus.jpg
Theodore Lux Feininger, Xanti Schawinsky, Untitled, around 1927, Private collection, © The Estate of Theodore Lux Feininger, The Xanti Schawinsky Estate
Shahbazi_2014_Comp w Mountain__Gr_2014_0011__GS-KHZ.jpg
Shirana Shahbazi / Wolfensberger lithographic press, Composition with Mountain, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, © Shirana Shahbazi
Vallotton_1921_La Poudreuse__Privat.jpg
Félix Vallotton, Woman with Powder, 1921, Private collection
Marcus_1930_Ballett-Parodie__Kunstbiliothek.jpg
Elli Marcus, Valeska Gert: Ballet parody in tulle dress, around 1930, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Kunstbibliothek, © bpk / Kunstbibliothek, SMB / Elli Marcus
Neuschul_1926_Takka-Takka tanzt__Privat-M.jpg
Ernest Neuschul, Takka-Takka dances, 1926, Private collection © The Estate of Ernest Neuschul
Moholy-Nagy_1922_LIS__KHZ.jpg
László Moholy-Nagy, LIS, 1922, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1981

From Josephine Baker to Thomas Ruff

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Urban visions were created and cities grew at breakneck speed. Conventional role models in society and marriage were questioned and upended; disadvantaged and oppressed minorities made their voices heard in politics and culture[GS1] . Improved conditions for workers went hand in hand with a growing leisure industry. The spirit of innovation fed through directly into art, with experimentation in all disciplines. Remarkably, none of its products have lost any of their relevance.

Unlike many exhibitions devoted to the 1920s, this presentation does not examine movements such as Bauhaus, Dada, New Objectivity or the design and architecture icons of modernism in isolation, but instead places them in dialogue, shedding light on the stylistic heterogeneity typical of those transformative years.

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Focusing on Berlin, Paris, Vienna and Zurich, the exhibition incorporates all the prevalent media of the time, from painting, sculpture and drawing to photography, film and collage. It also offers a platform to less-known figures, notably women. Contemporary artists Kader Attia, Marc Bauer, Laura Gerlach, Raphael Hefti, Rashid Johnson, Fabian Marti, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Nicolas Party, Thomas Ruff, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg and Rita Vitorelli, who explicitly engage with the formal language and themes of the 1920s, bridge the gap to the present day. Marc Bauer, Veronika Spierenburg and Rita Vitorelli have produced new works specially for the exhibition.

With contributions from, among others, Josef Albers, Hans Arp, Kader Attia, Johannes Baargeld, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Erwin Blumenfeld, Constantin Brancusi, André Breton, Marcel Breuer, Suse Byk, Coco Chanel, Adolf Dietrich, Dodo, Theo van Doesburg, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, Theodore Lux Feininger, Hans Finsler, Laura Gerlach, Valeska Gert, Barthel Gilles, George Grosz, Raphael Hefti, Heinrich Hoerle, René Herbst, Hannah Höch, Karl Hubbuch, Pierre Jeanneret, Rashid Johnson, Wassily Kandinsky, Elisabeth Karlinsky, Paul Klee, Rudolf von Laban, Laura Gerlach, Le Corbusier, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, Elli Marcus, Fabian Marti, László Moholy-Nagy, Lucia Moholy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Gret Palucca, Nicolas Party, Charlotte Perriand, Suzanne Perrottet, Paul Poiret, Man Ray, Hans Richter, Gerrit T. Rietveld, Vitorelli Rita (supported by: Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Österreich), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Wilhelm Schnarrenberger, Kurt Schwitters, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg, Varvara Stepanova, Niklaus Stoecklin, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Rzn Torbey, My Ullmann, Félix Vallotton, Madeleine Vionnet and Nikolai Wassilieff.

The exhibition travels to the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao after it closes in Zurich.

A co-production with the Festspiele Zürich

Curator: Cathérine Hug

--

Image above: Shirana Shahbazi, Diver-02-2011, Kunsthaus Zürich, Photocollection, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2015

Katalog-Img2.png

Catalogue

The exhibition is accompanied by a 272-page publication from Snoeck-Verlag containing 260 illustrations and new articles by Cathérine Hug, Petra Joos, Gioia Mori, Jakob Tanner and Alexis Schwarzenbach. It is available now from our online shop, or from the Kunsthaus shop and bookstores when the exhibition opens, price CHF 44.

Text by Jakob Tanner: German PDF excerpt

KH_ROARING_20s_Ball_700x700_Header.jpg

Roaring Twenties Ball

In Autumn/Winter 2020, it’s party time at the Kunsthaus as we celebrate the Roaring Twenties with icons from the period. So if you’ve ever fancied dancing the Charleston or dressing up as a flapper or a gangster, now’s your chance! We’ll have a ballroom specially decked out for the occasion along with bars, a big garden lounge, DJs and live acts.

The exact date will be communicated in good time on our website and the media.

Supported by: UNIQA Kunstversicherung Schweiz, Helvetia Versicherungen, AccurArt, Welti-Furrer Fine Art AG, Haas & Co AG, Hensler Malerarbeiten und MÖBEL-TRANSPORT AG.

Events

All events are expected to be rescheduled. The new dates will be announced here as soon as possible.

Today, as disruptive innovations challenge existing standards and artists position themselves as activists, the time is ripe to revisit the 1920s. This is reflected in a wide-ranging accompanying programme that opens up discussion on the social and economic issues of today.

Public guided tours

Every Wednesday at 6 p.m., Sunday at 11 a.m.


Re:Frame 20s

Students from the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK) offer their own topical visual responses to the works in the exhibition. Introduction: Prof. Katharina Tietze, ZHdK, with Cathérine Hug. The results of this online teaching session will also be available online.


From idea to exhibition

Kunsthaus curator Cathérine Hug and Christoph Stuehn discuss the background and genesis of the exhibition. Free with a valid exhibition ticket and for members, otherwise CHF 10 / CHF 8 (concessions).


Spoken Beats with Jurczok 1001

With new texts by the internationally renowned spoken beat artist Jurczok 1001 based on the 1920s writers Marieluise Fleisser and Bertolt Brecht. Free with an exhibition ticket.


New bodily sensations – sexuality and the intoxication of movement and music

Part of Zurich Art Weekend: dialogue guided tour with Salome Hohl, Director of Cabaret Voltaire, and Kunsthaus curator Cathérine Hug. Art performance by Talaya Schmid and Angie Walti. Free with an exhibition ticket.


1920s/2020s – economic crises and perspectives

With Aymo Brunetti (Professor of Economic Policy and Regional Economics, Bern University), Walter B. Kielholz (Chairman of Swiss Re / Chairman of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft), and Christin Severin (economics editor at the NZZ) and other guests. Free with a valid exhibition ticket and for members, otherwise CHF 15 / CHF 10 (concessions).


Guided tours / workshops for schools / art laboratory / family day

Public guided tours in German take place on Wednesdays at 6 p.m. and Sundays at 11 a.m. Individual private guided tours can be arranged. The Kunsthaus organizes workshops for schools on request. The art laboratory is open to all exhibition visitors without extra charge. Materials and ideas for your own personal creations will be provided. Further details of the family day will be available once the exhibition opens.

As part of:

Exhibition supported by:

Les années 1920 sont une décennie d’effervescence sociale et artistique. Une guerre dévastatrice, suivie d’une grave pandémie présentant d’étonnants parallèles avec la crise actuelle du coronavirus, a ravivé la soif de vivre des hommes et des femmes. À aucun autre moment, le 20e siècle n’exprime un tel désir de nouveauté.

Feininger_Bauhaus.jpg
Theodore Lux Feininger, Xanti Schawinsky, Sans titre, vers 1927, Collection particulière, © Succession Theodore Lux Feininger, The Xanti Schawinsky Estate
Shahbazi_2014_Comp w Mountain__Gr_2014_0011__GS-KHZ.jpg
Shirana Shahbazi/Steindruckerei Wolfensberger, Composition with Mountain, 2014, Kunsthaus Zürich, © Shirana Shahbazi
Vallotton_1921_La Poudreuse__Privat.jpg
Félix Vallotton, La poudreuse, 192, Collection particulière
Marcus_1930_Ballett-Parodie__Kunstbiliothek.jpg
Elli Marcus, Valeska Gert: Ballett-Parodie in Tüllkleid, vers 1930, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin, Kunstbibliothek, © bpk / Kunstbibliothek, SMB / Elli Marcus
Neuschul_1926_Takka-Takka tanzt__Privat-M.jpg
Ernest Neuschul, Takka-Takka danse, 1926, Collection particulière, © Succession Ernest Neuschul
Moholy-Nagy_1922_LIS__KHZ.jpg
László Moholy-Nagy, LIS, 1922, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1981

De Joséphine Baker à Thomas Ruff

Entrée

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

De nouvelles conceptions de l’urbanisme apparaissent et les villes croissent à toute vitesse. La répartition conventionnelle des rôles dans la société et dans la famille est remise en question et vole en éclats, les minorités défavorisées et opprimées font entendre leur voix dans la politique et dans la culture. Le quotidien des travailleurs s’améliore et, en même temps, une industrie des loisirs se développe. Ce haut degré d’innovation se reflète directement dans la soif d’expérimentation de tous les arts. Il est frappant de constater que leurs productions n’ont rien perdu de leur actualité.

Ici, contrairement à beaucoup d’autres expositions sur les années 1920, des styles comme le Bauhaus, Dada, la Nouvelle Objectivité ainsi que les icônes du modernisme en architecture et en design ne sont pas abordés séparément, mais engagent un dialogue et montrent l’hétérogénéité stylistique typique de ces années de rupture.

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Axée sur Berlin, Paris, Vienne et Zurich, l’exposition envisage tous les médias courants à l’époque comme la peinture, la sculpture, le dessin, la photographie, le film et le collage. Elle offre une plateforme à des propositions artistiques moins connues, en particulier féminines. Les artistes contemporains Kader Attia, Marc Bauer, Laura Gerlach, Raphael Hefti, Rashid Johnson, Fabian Marti, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Nicolas Party, Thomas Ruff, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg et Rita Vitorelli, qui s’intéressent explicitement à l’esthétique et aux thématiques des années 1920, font le lien avec l’époque présente. Marc Bauer, Veronika Spierenburg et Rita Vitorelli ont créé de nouveaux travaux spécialement pour cette exposition.

Avec la participation de Josef Albers, Hans Arp, Kader Attia, Johannes Baargeld, Joséphine Baker, Marc Bauer, Erwin Blumenfeld, Constantin Brancusi, André Breton, Marcel Breuer, Suse Byk, Coco Chanel, Adolf Dietrich, Dodo, Theo van Doesburg, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, Theodore Lux Feininger, Hans Finsler, Laura Gerlach, Valeska Gert, Barthel Gilles, George Grosz, Raphael Hefti, Heinrich Hoerle, René Herbst, Hannah Höch, Karl Hubbuch, Pierre Jeanneret, Rashid Johnson, Wassily Kandinsky, Elisabeth Karlinsky, Paul Klee, Rudolf von Laban, Laura Gerlach, Le Corbusier, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, Elli Marcus, Fabian Marti, László Moholy-Nagy, Lucia Moholy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Trevor Paglen, Gret Palucca, Nicolas Party, Charlotte Perriand, Suzanne Perrottet, Paul Poiret, Man Ray, Hans Richter, Gerrit T. Rietveld, Vitorelli Rita (avec le soutien de: Bundesministerium Kunst, Kultur, öffentlicher Dienst und Sport, Österreich), Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Wilhelm Schnarrenberger, Kurt Schwitters, Shirana Shahbazi, Veronika Spierenburg, Warwara Stepanowa, Niklaus Stoecklin, Hiroshi Sugimoto, Rzn Torbey, My Ullmann, Félix Vallotton, Madeleine Vionnet, Nikolai Wassilieff et d’autres.

Cette exposition sera ensuite présentée au Musée Guggenheim de Bilbao.

Une coproduction réalisée avec les Festspiele Zürich

Commissaire: Cathérine Hug

--

Image ci-dessus: Shirana Shahbazi, Diver-02-2011, Kunsthaus Zürich, Collection Photo, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, Gruppe Junge Kunst, 2015

Katalog-Img2.png

Catalogue

L’exposition s’accompagne d’une publication de 272 pages aux éditions Snoeck, avec des textes inédits de Cathérine Hug, Petra Joos, Gioia Mori, Jakob Tanner et Alexis Schwarzenbach et 260 illustrations. Il est dès à présent en vente dans notre boutique en ligne et sera également disponible dès le début de l’exposition à la boutique du Kunsthaus ainsi qu’en librairie au prix de CHF 44.-.

Texte de Jakob Tanner Extrait PDF (en allemand)

KH_ROARING_20s_Ball_700x700_Header.jpg

Le bal fou des Années folles

En automne/hiver 2020, le Kunsthaus ressuscite l’esprit festif des années 1920: musiciens Charleston, Jenny-des-Pirates, gigolos, sirènes à paillettes, Marlènes aguicheuses et joyeux matelots se donnent rendez-vous dans la grande salle de bal étincelante. Bars, espace lounge en jardin, DJs et musique live.

La date exacte sera communiquée à l’avance sur notre site web et via les médias.

Avec le soutien de: UNIQA Kunstversicherung Schweiz, Helvetia Versicherungen, AccurArt, Welti-Furrer Fine Art AG, Haas & Co AG, Hensler Malerarbeiten und MÖBEL-TRANSPORT AG.

Manifestations

De nouvelles dates vont être fixées pour l’ensemble des manifestations. Elles seront annoncées ici dès que possible.

Aujourd’hui encore, alors que des innovations disruptives mettent à mal les normes établies et que les artistes affirment leur fonction d’activistes, les années 1920 ont beaucoup à nous dire. On pourra le constater à travers le programme de manifestations varié, qui ouvrira le débat sur des questions sociales et économiques de notre époque.

Visites guidées publiques

Tous les mercredis à 18h, les dimanches à 11h


Re:Frame 20s

Les étudiants de la Haute école des arts de Zurich (ZHdK) réagissent aux œuvres de l’exposition en proposant des univers visuels actuels. Introduction: Katharina Tietze, professeur à la ZHdK, avec Cathérine Hug. Les résultats de ce cours en ligne pourront être consultés sur Internet.


De l’idée à l’exposition

Entretien sur la réalisation de l’exposition avec Cathérine Hug, commissaire au Kunsthaus, et Christoph Stuehn. Gratuit pour les détenteurs d’un billet pour l’exposition et pour les adhérents, sinon CHF 10.–/CHF 8.– tarif réduit.


Spoken Beats avec Jurczok 1001

Avec de nouveaux textes de l’artiste Jurczok 1001, pionnier international du spoken word, sur deux écrivains des années 1920: Marieluise Fleisser et Bertolt Brecht. Gratuit pour les détenteurs d’un billet pour l’exposition.


Nouvelles sensations physiques – la sexualité dans l’ivresse du mouvement et de la musique

Dans le cadre du Zurich Art Weekend: visite guidée dialogique avec Salome Hohl, directrice du Cabaret Voltaire, et Cathérine Hug, commissaire d’expositions au Kunsthaus. Performance dansée de Talaya Schmid et Angie Walti. Gratuit pour les détenteurs d’un billet pour l’exposition.


1920s/2020s: crises et perspectives économiques

Avec Aymo Brunetti (professeur de politique économique et d’économie régionale à l’université de Berne), Walter B. Kielholz (président du CA de Swiss Re et de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts), Christin Severin (économiste / rédactrice à la NZZ) et d’autres invités. Gratuit pour les détenteurs d’un billet pour l’exposition et pour les adhérents, sinon CHF 15.–/CHF 10.– tarif réduit.


Visites guidées / Ateliers pour scolaires / Laboratoire artistique / Journée familles

Les visites guidées publiques en allemand auront lieu le mercredi à 18h et le dimanche à 11h. Des visites guidées privées peuvent être organisées individuellement. Pour les écoles, le Kunsthaus organise des ateliers sur demande. Le laboratoire artistique est ouvert sans supplément à tous les visiteurs de l’exposition. Le public y trouvera du matériel et des idées pour réaliser des créations personnelles. De plus amples informations sur la journée familles seront données à partir du début de l’exposition.

Dans le cadre des:

Expostion avec le soutien de: