The 1920s were a decade of both progression and backlash. At no time in the 20th century was the desire for change more intense. Urban visions were created and cities grew at breakneck speed.

From Josephine Baker to Thomas Ruff

Admission

CHF 23.–/18.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17. Tip : Senior (AHV) discounts every Wednesday

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Conventional role models in society and marriage were questioned and upended; disadvantaged and oppressed minorities made their voices heard. Improved conditions for workers went hand in hand with a growing leisure industry. The spirit of innovation fed through directly into art, with experimentation in all disciplines. Remarkably, none of its products have lost any of their relevance.

Unlike many exhibitions devoted to the 1920s, this presentation does not examine movements such as Bauhaus, Dada, New Objectivity or the design and architecture icons of modernism in isolation, but instead places them in dialogue, shedding light on the stylistic heterogeneity of those transformative years.

Focusing on Berlin, Paris, Vienna and Zurich, the exhibition incorporates all the prevalent media of the time, from painting, sculpture and drawing to photography, film and collage. It also offers a platform to less-known figures, notably women. Contemporary artists who explicitly engage with the formal language and topics of the 1920s bridge the gap to the present day.

With Kader Attia, Josephine Baker, Marc Bauer, Constantin Brancusi, Coco Chanel, Le Corbusier and Charlotte Perriand, Dodo, Liam Gillick, Friedrich Kiesler, Paul Klee, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, László Moholy-Nagy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Man Ray, Lotte Reiniger, Hans Richter, Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky, My Ullmann and others.

A co-production with the Festspiele Zürich

Curator: Cathérine Hug

--

Image above:

Marianne (My) Ullmann, Modest, 1925, University of Applied Arts Vienna, art collection and archive, © Estate of Marianne (My) Ullmann

Supported by:

Les années 1920 sont une décennie d’effervescence sociale, politique et artistique. À aucun autre moment le 20e siècle n’exprime un tel désir de nouveauté.

De Joséphine Baker à Thomas Ruff

Entrée

CHF 23.–/18.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans. Conseil : Réductions pour séniors (AVS) le mercredi

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Des conceptions de l’urbanisme sans précédents apparaissent et les villes croissent à toute vitesse. La répartition classique des rôles dans la société et dans la famille est remise en question et vole en éclats, les minorités défavorisées et opprimées font entendre leur voix. Le quotidien des travailleurs s’améliore et, en même temps, une industrie des loisirs se développe. Ce haut degré d’innovation se reflète directement dans la soif d’expérimentation de tous les arts. Il est frappant de constater que leurs productions n’ont rien perdu de leur actualité et fraîcheur.

Ici, contrairement à d’autres expositions sur les années 1920, des styles comme le Bauhaus, Dada, la Nouvelle Objectivité ainsi que les icônes du modernisme en architecture et en design ne sont pas abordés séparément mais engagent un dialogue et montrent l’hétérogénéité stylistique de ces années de rupture.

Axée sur Berlin, Paris, Vienne et Zurich, l’exposition envisage tous les médias courants à l’époque comme la peinture, la sculpture, le dessin, la photographie, le film et le collage. Elle offre une plateforme à des propositions artistiques moins connues, en particulier féminines. Des artistes contemporains, qui s’intéressent explicitement à l’esthétique et aux thématiques des années 1920, font le lien avec notre présent.

Avec entre autres Kader Attia, Joséphine Baker, Marc Bauer, Constantin Brancusi, Coco Chanel, Le Corbusier et Charlotte Perriand, Dodo, Liam Gillick, Friedrich Kiesler, Paul Klee, Fernand Léger, Jeanne Mammen, László Moholy-Nagy, Piet Mondrian, Alexandra Navratil, Man Ray, Lotte Reiniger, Hans Richter, Mies van der Rohe, Thomas Ruff, Christian Schad, Xanti Schawinsky, Margarete Schütte-Lihotzky, My Ullmann.

Une coproduction réalisée avec les Festspiele Zürich

Commissaire: Cathérine Hug

--

Image ci-dessus:

Marianne (My) Ullmann, Modeste, 1925, Université des arts appliqués de Vienne, collection artistique et archives © Succession Marianne (My) Ullmann

Avec le soutien de: