Forsythe’s work places visitors centre stage, and invites them to take a unique choreographic tour of the still unoccupied Chipperfield architecture.

Humanity, architecture and art

Admission

CHF 20.–/16.– (concessions and groups)
Free admission for members and children and young people under the age of 17 and from 22 until 24 May

PLAN YOUR VISIT

Note for groups

We look forward to welcoming you to the Kunsthaus. For organizational reasons, prior registration is required. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Information about our safety concept can be found under 'Useful information about your visit'.

HYGIENE & SAFETY

For the first encounter with the new museum building, the Kunsthaus Zürich has invited the artist and choreographer William Forsythe (b. 1949) to produce a new work. ‘The Sense of Things’ can be experienced exclusively for four weeks in the museum’s new building by architect David Chipperfield. It is the first artistic intervention in the new space. Curated by Mirjam Varadinis, ‘The Sense of Things’ encourages the visitor to build a direct relationship with the architecture that will house some of Kunsthaus Zürich’s most vibrant and significant collections.

In Forsythe’s acoustic intervention, deconsecrated church bells of different sizes, pitches, and timbres will be activated in a contrapuntal composition that is widely distributed across the spaces of the new extension. In considering Chipperfield’s building as an immense sounding-body, Forsythe proposes that visitors individually tune the composition via their perambulations through the new museum, thereby embodying his choreographic proposition.

Begleitprogramm-4-5.png

Visitors in focus

Forsythe’s examination of visitor experience vis-à-vis the new architecture posits acoustics as an ever-present, but invisible facet of museum design that has significant effects upon those experiences. ‘The Sense of Things’ emphasizes the visitor’s curiosity as key to apprehending the composition’s ‘Klangfarben’, nuances which are shaped by each visitor’s unfolding, investigative relationship to the building’s natural acoustics.

With their new cooperation, Kunsthaus Zürich and Forsythe wish to offer the broadest possible public a place where, after tremendous social disruption, community can once again be recreated.

Hearing protection recommendation

We recommend that in particular children wear a hearing protection. Hearing protection plugs are available free of charge at the cash/help desk in the Chipperfield building, and ear muffs for children are also available for a deposit.

Gathering to experience the inherent sound of a building is certainly an atypical activity but also an unexpectedly gentle way to introduce the museum as a site that will be performing a significant civic role in the near future.

Curated by Mirjam Varadinis

Image: William Forsythe, The Sense of Things, 2021, Kunsthaus Zürich, Foto: Franca Candrian © William Forsythe

Supported by:

L’œuvre de Forsythe place le public en son centre et le convie à un parcours chorégraphique autonome à travers l’architecture encore inoccupée de Chipperfield.

L’humain, l’architecture et l’art

Entrée

CHF 20.–/16.– (tarif réduit et groupes)
Entrée gratuite pour les adhérents et les moins de 17 ans et du 22. jusq'au 24. mai.

ORGANISER VOTRE VISITE

À l’attention des groupes

Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir! Pour des raisons d’organisation, l’inscription est obligatoire. info@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 84 84

Informations sur le concepte de protection se trouvent soul la rubrique «Infos utiles pour réussir votre visite».

HYGIÈNE & PROTECTION

Pour une première découverte de son nouveau bâtiment, le Kunsthaus Zürich a chargé l’artiste et chorégraphe William Forsythe (*1949) de créer une nouvelle œuvre. «The Sense of Things» sera proposé en exclusivité, pendant quatre semaines, dans l’extension conçue par l’architecte David Chipperfield. Ce sera la toute première intervention artistique dans ce nouvel espace. «The Sense of Things», dont Mirjam Varadinis est la commissaire, incite les visiteuses et les visiteurs à tisser un lien direct avec l’architecture du nouveau bâtiment, qui abritera certaines des plus importantes collections du Kunsthaus Zürich.

Dans l’intervention acoustique de Forsythe, qui se répartit dans les différentes salles de l’extension, des cloches d’église déconsacrées, de tailles, de hauteurs de ton et de timbres différents, sonnent dans une composition en contrepoint. Forsythe aborde le bâtiment Chipperfield comme un immense corps sonore et invite le public à participer individuellement à la création de cette composition lors de ses pérégrinations à travers le nouveau musée, et par là même à donner corps à sa proposition chorégraphique.

Begleitprogramm-4-5.png

Le public en point de mire

Forsythe stimule la perception des visiteurs pour l’ouvrir à l’acoustique de l’extension, dimension de son design omniprésente, quoiqu’invisible, dont les répercussions sont majeures sur la façon de ressentir la nouvelle architecture. «The Sense of Things» joue sur la curiosité du public en en faisant la clé de compréhension des sonorités de la composition, sonorités dont les nuances sont le produit d’une relation en perpétuelle évolution, en perpétuel questionnement, entre chaque visiteur et l’acoustique naturelle du bâtiment.

Par cette coopération, le Kunsthaus Zürich et William Forsythe veulent offrir au plus grand nombre un lieu où après une période d’intense fissuration sociale, une communauté peut renaître.

Recommandation en matière de protection auditive

Nous recommandons en particulier aux enfants de porter des protections auditives. Des bouchons de protection auditive sont disponibles gratuitement à la caisse/assistance du bâtiment Chipperfield, et des casques antibruit pour enfants sont également disponibles moyennant une caution.

Se rassembler pour faire l’expérience du son d’un bâtiment est certes une activité atypique, mais c’est aussi une façon douce et inattendue de présenter le musée comme un endroit appelé à jouer un rôle majeur dans la société civile.

Commissaire de l’exposition: Mirjam Varadinis

Ill.: William Forsythe, The Sense of Things, 2021, Kunsthaus Zürich, photo: Franca Candrian © William Forsythe

Avec le soutien de: