2_2_2_Image_fullwidth_Naumann.png

Video art yesterday, today and tomorrow

From 19 September to 3 November 2019 the Kunsthaus Zürich presents results of the project. The presentation includes exhibits before and after restoration and digitization by Marina Abramović, Gilbert & George, Nancy Holt, Joan Jonas, Muda Mathis and Sus Zwick, Bruce Nauman, Elodie Pong and Ulrike Rosenbach.

Artists in conversation

27 October, 2–3 pm: Panel discussion with Elodie Pong and Muda Mathis. about the demands and risks of producing audiovisual works, conserving and presenting them.

Learn more

With more than 600 works by Swiss and international artists, the Kunsthaus Zürich holds one of the largest and most important collections of video art in the country. Pioneers from the medium’s earliest days at the start of the 1970s such as John Baldessari, Nam June Paik, Vito Acconci, Valie Export and Bruce Nauman are one of its two focal points; the other is the German video scene of the 1980s, with artists such as Ulrike Rosenbach, Klaus vom Bruch and Marcel Odenbach. Thanks to regular acquisitions of new works, young contemporary artists are also well represented.

The specific technology of the video medium presents constantly changing challenges for museums. In the early 2000s, for example, it was thought that the digital Betacam format would be the archiving solution of the future. However, this idea was quickly rendered obsolete by the rapid pace of technological change. Today, the strategy is to move to file-based archiving.

2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_1.png
Material documentation
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_3.png
Deformed tape of U-matic S cassette
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_2.png
Cassette case and U-matic S video cassette
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_4.png
Video Still from Marina Abramovic & Ulay, A performance anthology 1975-1980. Condition before treatment
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_5.png
Condition after treatment

Background and approach

All the original data storage media are first documented in pictures and in writing and machine-cleaned at the Atelier für Videokonservierung video conservation workshop in Bern. Then they are imported into the video editing program Final Cut and digitized. Various TBCs (time base correctors) and drop-out compensation are incorporated. The cleaning and digitization lead to a marked stabilization of the signal and allows faults to be removed.

« Our ongoing work on the video collection allows us to progressively increase our expertise in the conservation of media art. » — Kerstin Mürer, Head of Restoration and Conservation

All the digitized tapes are currently still being stored by the Atelier für Videokonservierung. From spring 2019 the Kunsthaus will have its own archive server, allowing them to be held on site. In the long term, the aim is to make the collection accessible to researchers and other interested parties.

Quality control

Once treatment is complete, the videos are jointly inspected and issues of technology, condition and history that have arisen due to the work or tape’s particular characteristics are discussed. As the project progresses and new special cases come up, existing knowledge is constantly having to be reassessed and new solutions found.


Project staff: Mirjam Varadinis / Kerstin Mürer
Project period: 2014 to 2019

Supported by

2_2_2_Image_fullwidth_Naumann.png

L’art vidéo hier, aujourd’hui et demain

Du 19 septembre au 3 novembre 2019, le Kunsthaus Zürich présente des résultats de ce projet. On pourra voir des œuvres de Marina Abramović, Gilbert & George, Nancy Holt, Joan Jonas, Muda Mathis et Sus Zwick, Bruce Nauman, Elodie Pong ou encore Ulrike Rosenbach, avant et après restauration et numérisation.

Table ronde

27 octobre de 14 à 15h: table ronde avec Elodie Pong et Muda Mathis sur le sujet des difficultés et des risques liés à la production d’œuvres vidéo, à leur sauvegarde et à leur présentation.

En savoir plus

Avec plus de 600 œuvres d’artistes suisses et internationaux, le Kunsthaus Zürich possède l’une des plus importantes et des plus remarquables collections d’art vidéo de Suisse. L’époque pionnière de ce médium, au début des années 1970, forme l’un des deux axes majeurs de cette collection, avec des artistes comme John Baldessari, Nam June Paik, Vito Acconci, Valie Export et Bruce Nauman. L’autre est la scène vidéo allemande des années 1980, dont font partie Ulrike Rosenbach, Klaus vom Bruch ou Marcel Odenbach. Grâce à de nouvelles acquisitions régulières, le travail des jeunes artistes contemporains est lui aussi bien représenté.

Les spécificités techniques du médium vidéo confrontent sans cesse les musées à de nouveaux défis. Au début des années 2000, on pensait par exemple que le format Betacam numérique serait le format d’archivage d’avenir. Mais du fait des progrès fulgurants des technologies, cette solution s’avère dépassée. Il est temps maintenant de passer à un système d’archivage sur fichiers.

2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_1.png
Documentation du matériel
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_3.png
Bande déformée d'une cassette U-matic S
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_2.png
Boîtiers de cassette vidéo U-matic S
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_4.png
Image extraite d'une video de Marina Abramovic & Ulay, A performance anthology 1975-1980. État avant traitement
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_5.png
État après traitement

Situation initiale et procédure

Pour commencer, tous les supports de données originaux sont documentés en image et par écrit et nettoyés mécaniquement à l’atelier pour la conservation de vidéos (Atelier für Videokonservierung) de Berne. Ils sont ensuite rentrés dans le logiciel de montage FinalCut et numérisés. Pour la numérisation, on fait intervenir différents logiciels de correction de base de temps TBC (Time Base Correctors) et de compensation de perte d’information (Drop out). Le nettoyage et la numérisation aboutissent à une nette stabilisation du signal et permettent d’éliminer les défauts.

« Le travail continuel sur la collection vidéo nous permet de développer en permanence notre expertise en matière de conservation d’art vidéo. » — Kerstin Mürer, responsable du département conservation et restauration

Actuellement, les bandes numérisées sont encore stockées par l’atelier pour la conservation de vidéos. À partir du printemps 2019, l’installation d’un serveur d’archive interne au Kunsthaus permettra aussi le stockage «maison» des fichiers vidéo. À long terme, il est prévu de rendre la collection accessible aux chercheurs et aux personnes intéressées.

Contrôle de la qualité

Une fois le traitement terminé, les vidéos sont examinées en commun et les questions de technique, d’état et d’historique de conservation soulevées par les spécificités de telle ou telle œuvre ou bande font l’objet d’une discussion. L’avancée du projet et l’apparition de cas particuliers nous obligent sans cesse à remettre en question ce qui a été fait par le passé et à trouver de nouvelles solutions.


Responsables de projet: Mirjam Varadinis / Kerstin Mürer
Durée du projet: de 2014 à 2019

Avec le soutien de