2_2_2_Image_fullwidth_Naumann.png

Video art yesterday, today and tomorrow

From 19 September to 3 November 2019 the Kunsthaus Zürich presents results of the project. The presentation includes exhibits before and after restoration and digitization by Marina Abramović, Gilbert & George, Nancy Holt, Joan Jonas, Muda Mathis and Sus Zwick, Bruce Nauman, Elodie Pong and Ulrike Rosenbach.

Artists in conversation

27 October, 2–3 pm: Panel discussion with Elodie Pong and Muda Mathis. about the demands and risks of producing audiovisual works, conserving and presenting them.

Learn more

With more than 600 works by Swiss and international artists, the Kunsthaus Zürich holds one of the largest and most important collections of video art in the country. Pioneers from the medium’s earliest days at the start of the 1970s such as John Baldessari, Nam June Paik, Vito Acconci, Valie Export and Bruce Nauman are one of its two focal points; the other is the German video scene of the 1980s, with artists such as Ulrike Rosenbach, Klaus vom Bruch and Marcel Odenbach. Thanks to regular acquisitions of new works, young contemporary artists are also well represented.

The specific technology of the video medium presents constantly changing challenges for museums. In the early 2000s, for example, it was thought that the digital Betacam format would be the archiving solution of the future. However, this idea was quickly rendered obsolete by the rapid pace of technological change. Today, the strategy is to move to file-based archiving.

2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_1.png
Material documentation
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_3.png
Deformed tape of U-matic S cassette
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_2.png
Cassette case and U-matic S video cassette
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_4.png
Video Still from Marina Abramovic & Ulay, A performance anthology 1975-1980. Condition before treatment
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_5.png
Condition after treatment

Background and approach

All the original data storage media are first documented in pictures and in writing and machine-cleaned at the Atelier für Videokonservierung video conservation workshop in Bern. Then they are imported into the video editing program Final Cut and digitized. Various TBCs (time base correctors) and drop-out compensation are incorporated. The cleaning and digitization lead to a marked stabilization of the signal and allows faults to be removed.

« Our ongoing work on the video collection allows us to progressively increase our expertise in the conservation of media art. » — Kerstin Mürer, Head of Restoration and Conservation

All the digitized tapes are currently still being stored by the Atelier für Videokonservierung. From spring 2019 the Kunsthaus will have its own archive server, allowing them to be held on site. In the long term, the aim is to make the collection accessible to researchers and other interested parties.

Quality control

Once treatment is complete, the videos are jointly inspected and issues of technology, condition and history that have arisen due to the work or tape’s particular characteristics are discussed. As the project progresses and new special cases come up, existing knowledge is constantly having to be reassessed and new solutions found.


Project staff: Mirjam Varadinis / Kerstin Mürer
Project period: 2014 to 2019

Supported by

2_2_2_Image_fullwidth_Naumann.png

Mit rund 550 Werken nationaler und internationaler Künstler besitzt das Kunsthaus Zürich eine der wichtigsten und umfangreichsten Sammlungen von Videokunst in der Schweiz. Künstler aus der Pionierzeit des Mediums Anfang der 1970er Jahre wie John Baldessari, Nam June Paik, Vito Acconci, Valie Export und Bruce Nauman, bilden einen von zwei Schwerpunkten. Der andere ist die deutsche Videoszene der 1980er-Jahre. Zu ihr zählen Ulrike Rosenbach, Klaus vom Bruch oder Marcel Odenbach. Dank regelmässiger Neuerwerbungen sind auch junge zeitgenössische Künstler gut vertreten.

Die technischen Eigenheiten des Mediums Video stellen Museen immer wieder vor neue Herausforderungen. Anfang der 2000er Jahre dachte man beispielsweise, dass das Digital-Betacam-Format als Archivformat die Lösung für die Zukunft sein würde. Vor dem Hintergrund der rasanten Entwicklung der Technologien, stellt sich dies allerdings als überholt heraus. Heute ist es an der Zeit auf eine dateibasierte Archivierung umzusteigen.

2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_1.png
Dokumentation des Materials
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_3.png
Deformiertes Tape
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_2.png
Video Still von Marina Abramovic & Ulay, A performance anthology 1975-1980.
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_4.png
Zustand vor Bearbeitung
2_2_2_Slider_small_Abb_5.png
Zustand nach Bearbeitung

Ausgangslage und Vorgehen

Alle originalen Datenträger werden zunächst in Bild und Schrift dokumentiert und im Atelier für Videokonservierung in Bern maschinell gereinigt. Anschliessend werden sie im Videoschnittprogramm FinalCut eingelesen und digitalisiert. Für die Digitalisierungen werden verschiedene TBCs (Time Base Correctors) und DropOut-Kompensation zwischengeschaltet. Die Reinigung wie auch die Digitalisierung führen zu einer deutlichen Stabilisierung des Signals. Störungen können beseitig werden.

« Durch die kontinuierliche Arbeit an der Videosammlung können wir unser Know-How im Bereich der Konservierung von Medienkunst stetig ausbauen » — Kerstin Mürer, Leiterin Restaurierung und Konservierung

Alle digitalisierten Bänder werden derzeit noch vom Atelier für Videokonservierung gespeichert. Mit der Installation des hauseigenen Archivservers können die Video-Files ab Frühjahr 2019 auch intern gespeichert werden. Langfristig soll die Sammlung Forschenden und Interessierten zugänglich gemacht werden.

Qualitätskontrolle

Im Anschluss an die Bearbeitung werden die Videos gemeinsam gesichtet und Fragen zu Technik, Zustand und Überlieferungsgeschichte diskutiert, die aufgrund der Besonderheiten eines Werkes bzw. Bandes aufgekommen sind. Mit dem Fortschreiten des Projekts und dem Auftreten von Spezialfällen muss immer wieder Altes hinterfragt und neue Lösungen gefunden werden.

Nach Abschluss der Arbeiten soll eine Auswahl der Videos im Kunsthaus präsentiert werden.

Pojektverantwortliche: Mirjam Varadinis / Kerstin Mürer
Projektlaufzeit: 2014 bis 2019

Unterstützt durch: