Founded in 1787, the Künstlergesellschaft began to collect works of art in 1794. Every member donated either one of their own drawings or a work by another artist towards what they termed a ‘Malerbuch’ – a painting book. In 1812 they took out a loan to acquire premises, which initially functioned as a club house and bar. Thanks to an international appeal for funds it became possible in 1818 to secure Zurich’s main artistic attraction, the ‘Gessnerische Gemählde-Cabinet’, for the city; it comprises 24 gouache pictures of idyllic landscapes and a large number of drawings by Salomon Gessner.

Kunsthausgebäude 1847, Franz Hegi
Franz Hegi, Das Kunsthausgebäude, 1847, Malerbuch, Bd. 17, fol 1, Kunsthaus Zürich

In 1847 the rotating exhibition organized by the Swiss Fine Arts Association from 1840 onwards provided the impetus to annex a small gallery designed by Gustav Albert Wegmann to the original premises. For a long time the new ‘museum’ was dominated by the collection donated by Colonel Keller zum Mohrenkopf in 1854, a representative selection of Zurich painting from Hans Asper to the 18th century.

« Here at the Kunsthaus we wish to dedicate ourselves to that end and draw encouragement to make our house into a house of art. » — Prof. Arnold Meyer, Rector of Zurich University, in the formal address at the opening of the Kunsthaus Zürich on 17 April 1910
« Let our home be far removed from all false appearance and grandeur, from all luxury that is not in tune with its means (…). » — Prof. Arnold Meyer, Rector of Zurich University, in the formal address at the opening of the Kunsthaus Zürich on 17 April 1910
Edvard Munch, «Dr. Wilhelm Wartmann», 1923
Edvard Munch, Bildnis Dr. Wilhelm Wartmann, 1923, Kunsthaus Zürich, gift of Alfred Rütschi, 1929

Owing to the small size of the collection, the first curator and later Director from 1909 until 1949, Wilhelm Wartmann, initially concentrated on Swiss art and alongside the most interesting works of the time he put together groups of late Gothic painting and pictures by Henry Fuseli.

When the Kunsthaus held a large Ferdinand Hodler exhibition in 1917, it became clear that the financial resources of the Kunstgesellschaft were insufficient, and Alfred Rüetschi responded by founding the ‘Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde’ (Society of Zurich Friends of Art), which to this day regularly helps to extend the Kunsthaus Collection with significant acquisitions. Rüetschi himself made a number of large compositions and important landscapes by Hodler available to the Kunsthaus.

In 1920 the Kunsthaus was bequeathed the collection of Hans Schuler and with it, for the first time, works of French Impressionism and Post-Impressionism by Renoir, Cézanne, Van Gogh and Bonnard. After many years of preparation Wartmann organized his first exhibition of Edvard Munch in 1922 and began to build up the largest collection of works by the Norwegian artist outside Scandinavia.

Karl Moser extended the Kunsthaus in 1925 and in 1929 Dr. Hans E. Mayenfisch began to buy works by living Swiss artists for the Kunsthaus; by the time of his death in 1957 the collection had increased to over 450 works. The Nobel Prize winner Leopold Ruzicka set up a foundation in 1949 with his outstanding collection of 17th-century Dutch painting. When René Wehrli replaced Wilhelm Wartmann as Director in 1950 he moved the focus on to French painting since Monet; following the Monet retrospective the two large water lily panels were acquired.

The largest column-free exhibition gallery in Switzerland

1958 saw the opening of the large, adaptable exhibition gallery with an auditorium and spacious restaurant beneath that had been planned since 1944 by the Pfister brothers and was financed by Emil G. Bührle. A group of art lovers close to the Bechtler brothers created a foundation in 1965 with the most important collection of works by Alberto Giacometti, to which the artist donated additional pieces. In 1966 Nelly Bär endowed the Werner Bär gallery, donating a group of sculptures from Rodin to Richier. Thanks to Gustav Zumsteg and the support of a number of patrons and the artist himself the Marc Chagall gallery was created in 1973.

Highlights from the history of Kunsthaus

Umgebaute Eingangshalle 1958
Reconstructed entry hall, 1958, Archive Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo Walter Dräyer, Zürich
Historische Aussenaufnahme
Historic picture, 1959, Archive Kunsthaus Zürich
Amerikanische Kunst 1969
Exhibition «Amerikanische Kunst 1948-1968», 1969, Photo Walter Dräyer
SliderSmall_Hochformat_Geschichte_Bib.png
Reading room of the library and the collection of prints and drawings in the enlarged Kunsthaus end of 1925, photo Ernst Linck
Erweiterung von Erwin Müller, 1976
Extension of Erwin Müller, 1976, Archive Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo Walter Dräyer

In this period, Erna and Curt Burgauer began donating works from their collection of modern art to the Kunsthaus. 1976 brought the opening of the extension by the architect Erwin Müller, while Felix Baumann replaced René Wehrli as Director. In 1980, thanks to numerous donations, an extensive collection of works documenting the Dada movement was established. The Johanna and Walter L. Wolf Collection added significant new works of French art from Impressionism to Classical Modernism in 1984. Betty and David M. Koetser gave their important collection of Dutch paintings, Italian Baroque and the Venetian Settecento to their foundation in 1986 and in 1995 Walter Haefner presented the Kunsthaus with twelve outstanding paintings by artists from Monet to Magritte.

Villa Tobler
Villa Tobler, © Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo: Franca Candrian

Renovation of the buildings and structures

From 1998 to 2000 the Villa Tobler, a protected historic monument located at Winkelwiese 4, was restored in a manner befitting its status as a new renaissance palazzo to become the new home of management and to serve as a venue for official events. In September 2000 Christoph Becker succeeded Felix Baumann as the new Director and the electorate of Zurich voted in favour of a loan of 28.5 million Swiss francs for renovation of the Kunsthaus. In 2001 the museum board adopted a new artistic strategy, with in-house working groups and a public commission of experts on the future of the Kunsthaus to support reforms of internal structures, while renovation work began.

The extension: a museum for art and its public in the 21st century

On 28 May 2002 the outgoing President of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft, Thomas W. Bechtler, Director Christoph Becker and the Mayor of Zurich, Elmar Ledergerber, presented plans for a new extension to the Kunsthaus at Heimplatz. The project, one of the principal aims of which is to create more space for the growing collection, was also backed by Walter B. Kielholz, who in June 2002 became President of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft, one of the largest European art associations with 19,000 members. The extension designed by David Chipperfield is due to be completed by 2020. In the intervening period, a number of prestigious collections have moved into the Kunsthaus or announced their intention to do so; they include the Old Master collection of Karin and Ferdinand Knecht,the Looser Collection of art post-1960 and the internationally famed Emil Bührle Collection , which has enjoyed close ties with the Kunsthaus for generations. Together with the Kunsthaus’s own holdings it will create the most important collection of French painting and Impressionism in Europe outside Paris. Some of the works are already regularly displayed at the Kunsthaus.

Fondée en 1787, la Künstlergesellschaft (Société des artistes) commence à collectionner des œuvres d’art en 1794. Les artistes et amateurs d’art qui en sont membres offrent à tour de rôle l’un de leurs dessins ou celui d’un autre artiste pour réaliser un «Malerbuch», un recueil de peintures et de dessins. En 1812, ils achètent à crédit une petite propriété, le Güetli, qui sert d’abord de club-house et de taverne. Grâce à une collecte internationale, ils réussissent en 1818 à obtenir pour Zurich le «Cabinet Gessner». Attraction majeure de la ville, il comprend 24 gouaches de paysages idylliques et de nombreux dessins de Salomon Gessner.

Kunsthausgebäude 1847, Franz Hegi
Franz Hegi, Das Kunsthausgebäude, 1847, Malerbuch, Bd. 17, fol 1, Kunsthaus Zürich

Les expositions itinérantes qu’organise le Schweizer Kunstverein (Association suisse d’art) à partir de 1840 donnent le coup d’envoi en 1847 à l’extension du site, qui s’agrandit d’une petite aile de galerie conçue par l’architecte Gustav Albert Wegmann. Ce nouveau «musée» reste longtemps dominé par la collection offerte en 1854 par le colonel Keller zum Mohrenkopf, sélection représentative de la peinture zurichoise de Hans Asper au 18e siècle.

« Ici, au Kunsthaus, nous voulons nous vouer à cette noble tâche qui est de faire de notre propre maison une maison de l’art. » — Le professeur Arnold Meyer, recteur de la Haute école de Zurich, dans le discours prononcé à l’occasion de l’inauguration du Kunsthaus Zurich le 17 avril 1910
« Puisse notre foyer rester à l’écart de toute apparence trompeuse, de tout faste ou luxe ne correspondant pas à ses moyens (…). » — Le professeur Arnold Meyer, recteur de la Haute école de Zurich, dans le discours prononcé à l’occasion de l’inauguration du Kunsthaus Zurich le 17 avril 1910
Edvard Munch, «Dr. Wilhelm Wartmann», 1923
Edvard Munch, Bildnis Dr. Wilhelm Wartmann, 1923, Kunsthaus Zürich, don de Alfred Rütschi, 1929

Le fonds étant encore très modeste, Wilhelm Wartmann (de 1909 à 1949), premier conservateur et futur directeur, se concentre tout d’abord sur l’art suisse: outre la production artistique locale, particulièrement intéressante à l’époque, il rassemble des peintures du gothique tardif et des tableaux de Johann Heinrich Füssli.

En 1917, à l’occasion de la grande exposition Ferdinand Hodler, il s’avère que la Kunstgesellschaft dispose de fonds d’acquisition insuffisants. Alfred Rütschi fonde alors la «Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde», l’Association des amis du Kunsthaus, qui aujourd’hui encore enrichit régulièrement la collection en acquérant des œuvres majeures. Alfred Rütschi met lui-même à la disposition du Kunsthaus plusieurs grandes compositions et d’importants paysages de Hodler provenant de sa propre collection.

En 1920, le Kunsthaus reçoit en legs la collection de Hans Schuler et, avec elle, pour la première fois, des œuvres d’impressionnistes et de postimpressionnistes français: Renoir, Cézanne, Van Gogh, Bonnard. En 1922, après de longues années de préparation, Wartmann organise sa première exposition Edvard Munch et commence à constituer la plus grande collection d’œuvres de l’artiste norvégien en dehors de Scandinavie.

En 1925, l’architecte Karl Moser agrandit le Kunsthaus. En 1929, Hans E. Mayenfisch commence à acheter pour le Kunsthaus des tableaux d’artistes suisses vivants. À sa mort en 1957, la collection comptera plus de 450 œuvres. En 1949, Leopold Ruzicka, lauréat du prix Nobel de chimie, créé une fondation avec sa collection exceptionnelle de peintures néerlandaises du 17e siècle. En 1950, René Wehrli remplace Wilhelm Wartmann à la direction du Kunsthaus. Il axe la collection sur la peinture française depuis Monet. Après la rétrospective consacrée à Monet, le Kunsthaus acquiert deux grands panneaux de la série des Nymphéas.

La plus grande salle d’exposition sans pilier de Suisse

1958 marque l’ouverture de la grande salle d’exposition modulable, avec son auditorium et son spacieux restaurant. Projetée depuis 1944 par les frères Pfister, elle est financée par Emil G. Bührle. En 1965, un groupe d’amateurs d’art de l’entourage des frères Bechtler transforme la collection d’œuvres d’Alberto Giacometti (la plus importante qui soit) en une fondation, à laquelle l’artiste lui-même fait don d’autres travaux. En 1966, Nelly Bär offre la salle Werner Bär, un groupe de sculptures allant de Rodin à Richier. Et grâce à Gustav Zumsteg, à différents mécènes et à l’artiste même, la salle Marc Chagall voit le jour en 1973.

Temps forts de l'histoire du Kunsthaus

Umgebaute Eingangshalle 1958
Hall d'entrée converti, 1958, Archives Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo Walter Dräyer, Zürich
Historische Aussenaufnahme
Image historique de l'extérieur, 1959, Archives Kunsthaus Zürich
Amerikanische Kunst 1969
Vue de l'exposition «Amerikanische Kunst 1948-1968», 1969, Photo Walter Dräyer
SliderSmall_Hochformat_Geschichte_Bib.png
Salle de Lecture et de la collection d'arts graphiques dans le Kunsthaus agrandi vers la fin de 1925, vue ouest de l'entrée principale, photo Ernst Linck
Erweiterung von Erwin Müller, 1976
L'extension de Erwin Müller, 1976, Archives Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo Walter Dräyer

À la même époque, Erna et Curt Burgauer commencent à offrir au Kunsthaus des œuvres de leur collection d’art moderne. En 1976, le nouveau bâtiment construit par l’architecte Erwin Müller est inauguré. Felix Baumann remplace René Wehrli au poste de directeur. Le soutien de nombreux donateurs permet en 1980 de constituer une vaste collection consacrée au mouvement Dada. En 1984, la collection de Johanna et Walter L. Wolf vient enrichir considérablement le fonds d’art français de l’impressionnisme à l’art moderne. En 1986, Betty et David M. Koetser cèdent à leur fondation leur importante collection de peintures néerlandaises, d’œuvres du baroque italien et du Settecento vénitien. En 1995, Walter Haefner offre au Kunsthaus douze tableaux remarquables d’artistes comme Monet et Magritte.

Villa Tobler
Villa Tobler, © Kunsthaus Zürich, Photo: Franca Candrian

Rénovation des bâtiments et des structures

De 1998 à 2000, la Villa Tobler, au n° 4 de la Winkelwiese, fait l’objet de travaux de rénovation et de conservation pour devenir le nouveau siège de la direction et un lieu de réception. En septembre, Christoph Becker succède à Felix Baumann au poste de directeur et les électeurs de la ville de Zurich votent un crédit de 28,5 millions de francs suisses pour la rénovation du Kunsthaus. En 2001, le Kunstrat (conseil des arts) adopte une nouvelle stratégie artistique: des groupes de travail internes et une commission publique d’experts se penchent sur l’avenir du Kunsthaus et appuient la réforme des structures internes. Pendant ce temps-là, la rénovation commence.

Extension: un musée pour l’art et le public du 21e siècle

Le 28 mai 2002, Thomas W. Bechtler, président sortant de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts, Christoph Becker, directeur du Kunsthaus, et Elmar Lederberger, maire de la ville de Zurich, présentent les plans d’une extension du musée sur la Heimplatz. Walter B. Kienholz, nouveau président depuis juin 2002 de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts, qui avec ses 19 000 membres est l’une des plus grandes associations d’art en Europe, apporte son soutien au projet, dont l’objectif est notamment d’offrir plus d’espace à une collection de plus en plus riche. Le bâtiment de l’extension conçu par David Chipperfield doit être achevé en 2020. De prestigieuses collections ont déjà rejoint le Kunsthaus ou annoncé leur arrivée: celle de Karin et Ferdinand Knecht dans le domaine des maîtres anciens, la collection Looser dans le département consacré à l’art depuis 1960 et la collection Emil Bührle, de renommée internationale et liée au Kunsthaus depuis des générations. En rejoignant le fonds du Kunsthaus, ces collections vont donner naissance au plus important pôle de peinture française et impressionniste en Europe après Paris. Certains pans de cet ensemble sont déjà régulièrement exposés au Kunsthaus.