Buehrle_A737210.jpg
Sammlung_Buehrle_Candrian.jpg
Buehrle_A7305556.jpg

A major collection of French Painting

The traditionally strong presence of French painting in Switzerland receives a decisive deepening in the area of the collection through the spatial and organisational connection of the Emil Bührle Collection under the roof of the Kunsthaus Zürich. With this highly publicised focus, Zurich now ranks directly behind Paris in Europe.

Works by the Nabis, the Fauves, the Cubists and other representatives of the French avant-garde after 1900 are attached to this core. Older art is represented by the great Dutch 17th century and Venetian masters, as well as by a group of Gothic wooden sculptures. The Emil Bührle Collection includes world-famous works such as 'The Sower at Sunset' by Vincent van Gogh, 'Little Irene" by Auguste Renoir, 'The Field of Poppies at Vétheuil' by Claude Monet, 'The Boy with the Red Waistcoat" by Paul Cézanne and a 'Reclining Nude' by Modigliani. The artists in the collection include Canaletto, Ingres and Delacroix, as well as Manet, Degas, Gauguin, Signac, Vlaminck, Braque and Picasso. The loan contract for 203 works is permanent and can only be terminated with many years' notice, for the first time at the end of 2034.

2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_cezanne.png
Paul Cézanne, Le Garçon au gilet rouge, about 1888/90, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_monet.png
Claude Monet, Champ de coquelicots près de Vétheuil, about 1879, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_gaugin.png
Paul Gauguin, L'Offrande, 1902, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_delacroix.png
Eugène Delacroix, Muley Abd-el-Rahman, 1862, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_canaletto.png
Antonio Canal (Il Canaletto), Santa Maria della Salute, about 1738/42, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
Contentbild_970x970_Portrait_Buehrle_neu.png
Emil Bührle, about 1946

The world-renowned Impressionist works bequeathed by Emil Bührle (1890-1956) are closely intertwined with his activities as an armaments industrialist and with contemporary history, which is the subject of a detailed documentation. It is part of the tour through the halls, in which around 170 works are shown on more than 900 m2 , and conveys the historical context of Bührle's role as industrialist, patron and collector, who was closely associated with the Kunsthaus.

Gifts such as the large-format water lily paintings by Claude Monet or the Gates of Hell by Auguste Rodin have become an integral part of the collection. By financing an exhibition wing in the 1950s, Emil Georg Bührle created a platform for unique events, where art and the public meet directly to this day.

The archives of the E.G. Bührle Collection Foundation and the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft are represented in the documentation room with regularly changing presentations. An audio guide links the documentation to the exhibition and deals with art historical topics as well as questions about the provenance of certain works. Guided tours with changing focuses are also offered, providing background knowledge on the origins of the collection. Independently of the museum visit, a digitorial on the collection can be consulted online, which supplements the detailed information on the provenance of the works accessible on the website of the Emil Bührle Collection. The entire digitised archive of the Bührle Collection and that of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft is open to researchers in the Kunsthaus Library. A thorough presentation 'The Emil Bührle Collection. History, Complete Catalogue and 70 Masterpieces' (2021) by Lukas Gloor, long-time director of the collection, places it in the larger context of the cultivation of modern art in the 20th century. This creates both easily accessible and academically sophisticated conditions for studying the Emil Bührle Collection.

Website of the E.G. Bührle Foundation

floorplan_iphone_mockup_05.jpg

Where can I find the Collection Emil Bührle?

With our digital visitor guide you can prepare for your tour and find your way around the museum.

Buehrle_A737210.jpg
Sammlung_Buehrle_Candrian.jpg
Buehrle_A7305542.jpg

Une collection importante de peinture française

La présence de la peinture française en Suisse, traditionnellement importante, se voit encore considérablement renforcée par le rattachement spatial et organisationnel de la Collection Emil Bührle à celle du Kunsthaus Zürich, qui l’accueille désormais. Grâce à ce pôle particulièrement attractif, Zurich se classe désormais directement derrière Paris en Europe.

On peut y voir des œuvres des nabis, des fauves, des cubistes et d’autres représentants de l’avant-garde française après 1900. L’art antérieur est représenté par des œuvres de l’Âge d’or hollandais et de maîtres vénitiens, ainsi que par un groupe de sculptures gothiques en bois. Dans la Collection Emil Bührle figurent des œuvres mondialement connues telles que «Le Semeur au soleil couchant» de Vincent Van Gogh, «La petite Irène» d’Auguste Renoir, «Le Champ de coquelicots près de Vétheuil» de Claude Monet, «Le garçon au gilet rouge» de Paul Cézanne, et un «Nu allongé» de Modigliani. Elle contient également des œuvres signées Canaletto, Ingres et Delacroix, ou encore Manet, Degas, Gauguin, Signac, Vlaminck, Braque et Picasso. Le contrat de prêt porte sur 203 œuvres et s’inscrit dans la durée: sa résiliation ne pourra intervenir qu’au terme d’un long préavis, et pour la première fois à la fin de l’année 2034.

2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_cezanne.png
Paul Cézanne, Le Garçon au gilet rouge, vers 1888/90, Collection Emil Bührle, prêt permanent au Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_monet.png
Claude Monet, Champ de coquelicots près de Vétheuil, vers 1879, Collection Emil Bührle, prêt permanent au Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_gaugin.png
Paul Gauguin, L'Offrande, 1902, Collection Emil Bührle, prêt permanent au Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_delacroix.png
Eugène Delacroix, Muley Abd-el-Rahman, 1862, Collection Emil Bührle, prêt permanent au Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_canaletto.png
Antonio Canal (Il Canaletto), Santa Maria della Salute, vers 1738/42, Collection Emil Bührle, prêt permanent au Kunsthaus Zürich
Contentbild_970x970_Portrait_Buehrle_neu.png

Les œuvres impressionnistes d’importance mondiale léguées par Emil Bührle (1890-1956) sont étroitement liées à ses activités d’industriel de l’armement et à l’histoire contemporaine, qui fait l’objet d’une documentation détaillée. Cette dernière est intégrée dans le parcours de visite des salles, où environ 170 œuvres sont exposées sur plus de 900 m2, et renseigne sur le contexte historique dans lequel Bührle a œuvré en tant qu’industriel, mécène et collectionneur étroitement lié au Kunsthaus.

Impossible, aujourd’hui, d’imaginer la collection du Kunsthaus sans les grands Nymphéas de Claude Monet ou la Porte de l’Enfer d’Auguste Rodin. En finançant l’aile destinée aux expositions, Emil Georg Bührle a permis dans les années 1950 la naissance d’une plateforme dédiée à des événements originaux, où aujourd’hui encore, le public entre directement en contact avec l’art.

Les archives de la Fondation Collection E.G. Bührle et de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts donnent régulièrement lieu à des présentations temporaires dans la salle de documentation. Un audioguide fait le lien entre la documentation et l’exposition. Outre les thématiques liées à l’histoire de l’art, il aborde également les questions de provenance de certaines œuvres. De plus, des visites guidées dont les thèmes varient permettent de comprendre les origines de la collection. Indépendamment de la visite du musée, un digitorial sur la collection peut être consulté en ligne. Il complète les informations détaillées que le site de la Collection Emil Bührle fournit sur la provenance de ses œuvres. L’intégralité des archives numérisées de la Collection Bührle et de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts est accessible aux chercheurs dans la bibliothèque du Kunsthaus. Une présentation détaillée, «Die Sammlung Emil Bührle. Geschichte, Gesamtkatalog und 70 Meisterwerke» (2021) de Lukas Gloor, directeur de longue date de la Collection Emil Bührle, replace cette dernière dans le contexte plus large de la protection des arts et de la pratique de collection au 20e siècle. Cette somme à la fois facilement accessible et d’un haut niveau scientifique fournit tous les outils permettant d’étudier la Collection Emil Bührle.

Site web de la Fondation E.G. Bührle

floorplan_iphone_mockup_05.jpg

Où puis-je trouver la collection Emil Bührle ?

Avec notre guide du visiteur digitale, vous pouvez préparer votre visite et vous orienter dans le musée.