KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Signaletik.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfileldbau_Sammlung_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Sammlung_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Festsaal.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Shop_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Bar_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Nachtansicht.jpg
KHZ_Moserbau.jpg

Architectural guided tours

In our ‘Chipperfield’ tour of the building you’ll learn all about the extension and its star architect’s vision.

Together with the existing Kunsthaus building it constitute Switzerland’s largest art museum. The extension is due to be opened in autumn 2021. The project will be distinguished by four core elements: its focus on art of the 1960s and later, the Emil Bührle Collection, medium-sized temporary exhibitions, and its central entrance hall, a new form of public space in which to experience art.

The New Kunsthaus is a gateway to the world of art, in all its rich and varied forms. It reflects and shapes contemporary trends and builds on the existing strengths that make the Kunsthaus Zürich collection unique. With a series of greatly enhanced facilities, it opens up a vibrant public space in the heart of Zurich.

Showing art in a dynamic context

The extension will enhance the Kunsthaus Zürich’s focus on art of the 1960s and later, in all of its abundant significance and complex contingency. The finished project will demonstrate parallel techniques within discrete epochs of artistic production, and how the genres of painting, graphic arts, sculpture, photography and new media interrelate. Traditionally proportioned galleries are also planned for showing paintings of the 19th century and works of Classical Modernism.

Rückbau auf dem Kantonsschulareal.jpg
Demolition on the cantonal school grounds 2015, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Baugrube.jpg
Construction pit 2016, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Bau Stand Januar 2017.jpg
Construction stage 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Zustand Ende 2017 .jpg
Status end 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Erweiterung Kunsthaus Baustelle
March 2018, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Photovoltaik und Oberlichter.JPG
Photovoltaics and skylights 2019, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_2.jpg
Kunsthaus extension 2020

Background and facts

Detailed information about the idea, form and content of the extension can be found in our brochure on the new Kunsthaus. The chronology describes all the key stages in the project, from the competition through the start of construction to completion. See what happened on the construction site in our time-lapse video.

Idea, Form, Content (PDF)

Chronicle (PDF)

To the time-lapse video

One of a kind: French Impressionism

The assimilation of the Emil Bührle Collection into the buildings and organization of the Kunsthaus is a unique opportunity and a quantum leap for the collection, making the Kunsthaus the best place outside Paris to explore the hugely popular topic of French painting

The largest art museum in Switzerland

The extension will provide space to show 20 percent of the Kunsthaus collection, fully twice that available at present. It will make the Kunsthaus Zürich the largest and most dynamic art museum in Switzerland. Thanks to the extraordinary commitment shown by the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft, half of the construction costs are to be met from private sources. The City and Canton of Zurich are responsible for the remaining half.

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Signaletik.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfileldbau_Sammlung_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Sammlung_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Festsaal.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Shop_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Sammlung_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Nachtansicht.jpg
KHZ_Moserbau.jpg

Le nouveau bâtiment et le musée actuel formeront d’ici 2020 un ensemble dynamique, qui sera le plus grand musée d’art de Suisse. La mise en service est prévue pour l'automne 2021. L’extension abritera quatre sections principales: l’art des années 1960, la collection Emil Bührle, des expositions temporaires de taille moyenne ainsi qu’un hall d’entrée central qui accueillera les visiteurs dans cet espace d’un genre nouveau, ouvert, dédié à l’expérience de l’art.

Le nouveau Kunsthaus sera une porte d’entrée vers tous les genres artistiques. Il mettra en exergue certains aspects de l’art contemporain et renforcera les axes majeurs de la collection qui rendent le Kunsthaus si exceptionnel. Son offre restructurée et élargie créera pour le public un espace vivant en plein cœur de Zurich.

Visites guidées architecture

Avec la visite du bâtiment «Chipperfield», vous saurez tout sur l’extension et sur les visions architecturales du célèbre architecte.

Le nouveau bâtiment et le musée actuel formeront d’ici 2020 un ensemble dynamique, qui sera le plus grand musée d’art de Suisse. La mise en service est prévue pour l'automne 2021. L’extension abritera quatre sections principales: l’art des années 1960, la collection Emil Bührle, des expositions temporaires de taille moyenne ainsi qu’un hall d’entrée central qui accueillera les visiteurs dans cet espace d’un genre nouveau, ouvert, dédié à l’expérience de l’art.

Le nouveau Kunsthaus sera une porte d’entrée vers tous les genres artistiques. Il mettra en exergue certains aspects de l’art contemporain et renforcera les axes majeurs de la collection qui rendent le Kunsthaus si exceptionnel. Son offre restructurée et élargie créera pour le public un espace vivant en plein cœur de Zurich.

Montrer l’art dans un contexte dynamique

L’art à partir des années 1960, la richesse de ses significations et de ses liens, seront mieux mis en valeur. La mise en œuvre de ce concept montrera quelles techniques parallèles cohabitent au sein de chaque époque de production artistique, et quels rapports entretiennent les différents genres tels que la peinture, l’estampe, la sculpture, la photographie et les nouveaux médias. Des galeries de format plus classique sont par ailleurs prévues pour la peinture du 19e siècle et l’art moderne.

Rückbau auf dem Kantonsschulareal.jpg
Démolition sur le terrain de l'école cantonale 2015, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Baugrube.jpg
Fosse de construction 2016, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Bau Stand Januar 2017.jpg
Ètat de la construction en 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Zustand Ende 2017 .jpg
Fin 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Erweiterung Kunsthaus Baustelle
Mars 2018, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Photovoltaik und Oberlichter.JPG
Photovoltaïque et verrières 2019, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_2.jpg
Kunsthaus extension 2020, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller

Faits et perspectives

Retrouvez toutes les informations utiles sur l’idée, la forme et le contenu de l’extension dans notre brochure sur le nouveau Kunsthaus. La chronique retrace quant à elle les principales étapes du projet, du concours à la réalisation en passant par le début des travaux. Suivez l'évolution du chantier de construction en accéléré dans notre vidéo timelaps.

Idea, Form, Content (PDF en anglais)

Chronique (PDF)

Timelaps chantier

L’impressionnisme français: un ensemble unique

Le regroupement spatial et organisationnel de la collection Emil Bührle dans les locaux du Kunsthaus représente une opportunité unique: la possibilité d’un saut quantique pour la collection. Il n’y a qu’à Paris que la peinture française, toujours très appréciée du public, est encore mieux représentée.

Le plus grand musée d’art de Suisse

L’extension permettra d’exposer 20 % du fonds total du musée, soit deux fois plus qu’avant, ce qui fera du Kunsthaus Zurich le plus grand et le plus dynamique des musées d’art de Suisse. Grâce à l’engagement extraordinaire de la Société zurichoise des beaux-arts, la moitié des coûts de construction ont pu être couverts par des fonds privés. L’autre moitié est financée par la ville et le canton de Zurich.