ImageFullwidth_1416_Bibliothek.jpg

Opening hours

Mon–Fri 1 p.m.–6 p.m.
Summer holidays: 22.7.–18.8.19 closed
The loan period for items falling due during this time will be extended until 19.8.
Special opening hours

Address

Rämistrasse 45, 8001 Zürich
Google Maps

Contact

bibliothek@kunsthaus.ch
+41 44 253 85 31

All media may be used free of charge in the library reading room. Most of the books and magazines may be borrowed by anyone who is a member of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft. School pupils, students, journalists and ICOM members can register as users free of charge.

ONLINE CATALOGUE

Download user regulations (PDF)
Download Fees and charges (PDF)

miwe_6.jpg

A subscription to art

As a member of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft you enjoy numerous benefits throughout the year: borrowing rights in the library, free admission to the museum, invitations to exhibition openings and events, a 10% discount in the museum shop and Kunsthaus restaurant, and much more besides.

Using the library

Loans

Loan periods:

Items may be borrowed for 30 days; unless they have been reserved, this period is automatically extended by a further 60 days. Items may be recalled at any time during this extension and must then be returned within 10 days.

Returns:

Please return items you have borrowed direct to the library during opening hours.

Fees and charges:

Reminder fees will be charged for items that are overdue. See fees and charges.

Detailed information about loans can be found in our user regulations (PDF).

Interlibrary loans

Interlibrary loans are only available for titles relating to art history. The Kunsthaus library will lend books from other libraries to you and will supply copies of articles from journals. Loan periods and restrictions on use will be as stipulated by the library that holds the items. Details of charges can be found in our fees and charges (PDF).

For registered users

Ordering:

If you cannot find a title either in the Kunsthaus library or in another library in Zurich (please checkNEBIS first), use our form for interlibrary loans.

Delivery periods:

Orders from Swiss libraries are normally delivered within two weeks. The delivery period will depend on the location of the supplying library.

For libraries

The Kunsthaus library lends out media and makes copies as part of national or international interlibrary loans. Interlibrary loan orders are normally dispatched within one working day. The International Standard Identifier for Libraries and Related Organizations (ISIL) for the Kunsthaus Zürich library is CH-000273-5.

Guided tours and training

We offer guided tours of the library for groups who want to learn more about the library’s work, history and collection. Special introductions to using the library tailored to the specific needs of a group can also be arranged.

Search training

There are many ways of searching for literature, pictures and facts related to modern art. In our training sessions you’ll learn how to use the relevant sources from printed publications and online offerings.

To register and for further information, contact:

thomas.rosemann@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 85 31

Reading room

The reading room contains reference works on art history and related fields, current issues of journals, exhibition catalogues and new acquisitions which can be consulted freely, but only in the reading room.

All other media are held in the closed stacks and can be ordered via the online catalogue. Orders will be ready in a short time (usually no more than 15 minutes).

Orders for the same library opening day are accepted until 5.45 p.m. Detailed information can be found in our user regulations (PDF).

Journals

All journals can be searched for in the online catalogue. Availability is shown under ‘Holding information’. Volumes of journals may be loaned out; issues from the current year can be consulted in the reading room.

Current journal subscriptions can be identified by the shopping cart symbol.

Online catalogues

The Kunsthaus library catalogue can also be accessed via the following online catalogues:

Art Discovery Group Catalogue (an association of major art libraries in Europe and North America), Swiss Serials Portal.

Bibliothek libri rari

Treasures from the library

Although the Kunsthaus library does not normally purchase rare and expensive books, a number of these exceptional works have been acquired over the years. Some were gifts; others entered the library as new publications and were neither rare nor valuable at the time. Examples include Wassily Kandinsky and Franz Marc’s ‘Der blaue Reiter’ from 1912 and Edward Ruscha’s ‘Babycakes with Weights’ from 1970.

All rare books may be consulted on submission of an application in writing bibliothek@kunsthaus.ch

ImageFullwidth_1416_Bibliothek.jpg

Öffnungszeiten

Mo–Fr 13–18 Uhr
Sonderöffnungszeiten

Adresse

Rämistrasse 45, 8001 Zürich
Google Maps

Kontakt

bibliothek@kunsthaus.ch
+41 44 253 85 31

Sämtliche Medien können im Lesesaal der Bibliothek kostenlos genutzt werden. Die meisten Bücher und Zeitschriften sind ausleihbar. Voraussetzung für die Ausleihe ist eine Mitgliedschaft bei der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft. Für Schüler/innen, Studierende, Journalistinnen und Journalisten sowie ICOM-Mitglieder ist eine kostenlose Benutzeranmeldung möglich.

ONLINE-KATALOG

Benutzungsordnung herunterladen
Gebührenordnung herunterladen

miwe_6.jpg

Das Abo zur Kunst

Als Mitglied der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft profitieren Sie das ganze Jahr über von zahlreichen Vorteilen: Ausleihe in der Bibliothek, freier Eintritt ins Museum, Einladungen zu Vernissagen und Veranstaltungen, 10 % Rabatt im Museumsshop und im Kunsthaus Restaurant und vieles mehr.

Die Bibliothek benutzen

Ausleihe

Leihfristen:

Die Leihfrist beträgt 30 Tage; solange keine Vormerkung vorliegt, wird sie automatisch um 60 Tage verlängert. Während der Verlängerung kann das Medium jederzeit zurückgerufen werden und muss dann innerhalb von 10 Tagen retourniert werden.

Rückgabe:

Bitte geben Sie die ausgeliehenen Medien während der Öffnungszeiten direkt in der Bibliothek ab.

Gebühren:

Bei verspäteter Rückgabe fallen Mahngebühren an. Siehe Gebührenordnung.

Detaillierte Informationen zur Ausleihe finden Sie in unserer Benutzungsordnung.

Fernleihe

Der Fernleihservice beschränkt sich auf Titel aus dem Fachgebiet der Kunstgeschichte. Bücher aus anderen Bibliotheken werden von der Bibliothek des Kunsthauses an Sie ausgeliehen, Zeitschriftenartikel erhalten Sie in Kopie. Die Ausleihfristen und allfällige Benutzungsbeschränkungen richten sich nach den Weisungen der besitzenden Bibliothek. Die Kosten können Sie unserer Gebührenordnung (PDF) entnehmen.

Für angemeldete Benutzer und Benutzerinnen

Bestellung:

Wenn Sie einen Titel weder in der Bibliothek des Kunsthauses, noch in einer anderen Zürcher Bibliothek finden können (bitte vorab bei NEBIS prüfen), nutzen Sie unser Bestellformular zur Fernleihe.

Lieferfristen:

Bestellungen aus Schweizer Bibliotheken werden normalerweise innerhalb von zwei Wochen geliefert. Die Lieferzeit hängt vom Standort der liefernden Bibliothek ab.

Für Bibliotheken

Die Bibliothek des Kunsthauses verleiht Medien und fertigt Kopien im Rahmen der nationalen oder internationalen Fernleihe an. Fernleihbestellungen werden normalerweise innerhalb eines Werktages verschickt. Die Bibliothek des Kunsthaus Zürich hat das Bibliothekssigel (ISIL): CH-000273-5.

Führungen und Schulungen

Für Gruppen, die mehr über die Aufgaben, die Geschichte und die Sammlung der Bibliothek erfahren möchten, bieten wir Führungen durch die Bibliothek an. Auch ist es möglich, spezielle, auf die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse einer Gruppe zugeschnittene Einführungen in die Bibliotheksbenutzung zu buchen.

Rechercheschulungen

Für die Recherche nach Literatur, Abbildungen und Fakten auf dem Gebiet der modernen Kunst gibt es vielfältige Möglichkeiten. In unseren Schulungen erfahren Sie, wie Sie aus gedruckten Publikationen und Onlineangeboten die passenden Quellen nutzen.

Anmeldung und weitere Informationen: thomas.rosemann@kunsthaus.ch, +41 44 253 85 31

Lesesaal

Im Lesesaal befinden sich Nachschlagewerke zur Kunstgeschichte und angrenzenden Fachgebieten, aktuelle Zeitschriftenhefte, Ausstellungskataloge sowie Neuerwerbungen zur freien Benutzung. Diese Medien können nur im Lesesaal eingesehen werden.

Alle übrigen Medien befinden sich im Magazin und können über den Online-Katalog bestellt werden. Bestellungen liegen in kurzer Zeit (in der Regel max. 15 Minuten) bereit.

Bestellungen für denselben Öffnungstag werden bis 17.45 Uhr entgegengenommen. Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie in unserer Benutzungsordnung

Zeitschriften

Sämtliche Zeitschriften sind im Online-Katalog recherchierbar. Die Verfügbarkeit ist unter den Exemplarinformationen angezeigt. Zeitschriftenbände sind ausleihbar, die Hefte des laufenden Jahrgangs können Sie im Lesesaal benutzen.

Laufende Zeitschriftenabonnemente erkennen Sie am Symbol des Einkaufswagens.

Online-Kataloge

Der Katalog der Kunsthaus-Bibliothek kann auch über folgende Online-Kataloge erreicht werden:

ArtDiscovery Group Catalogue (Verbund bedeutender Kunstbibliotheken Europas und Nordamerikas) und Schweizer Zeitschriftenportal .

Bibliothek libri rari

Schätze aus der Bibliothek

Obwohl die Bibliothek des Kunsthauses normalerweise keine libri rari, also seltene und wertvolle Bücher kauft, sind doch im Laufe der Zeit einige dieser besonderen Werke zusammen gekommen. Einige waren Geschenke, andere wurden als Neuerscheinungen aufgenommen und waren zum Zeitpunkt der Erwerbung weder selten noch wertvoll. So zum Beispiel Wassily Kandinskys und Franz Marcs «Der blaue Reiter» von 1912 oder Edward Ruschas «Babycakes with weights» von 1970.

Alle libri rari sind nach schriftlicher Anmeldung benutzbar. bibliothek@kunsthaus.ch