Buehrle_A737210.jpg
Sammlung_Buehrle_Candrian.jpg
Buehrle_A7305556.jpg

A major collection of French Painting

The traditionally strong presence of French painting in Switzerland receives a decisive deepening in the area of the collection through the spatial and organisational connection of the Emil Bührle Collection under the roof of the Kunsthaus Zürich. With this highly publicised focus, Zurich now ranks directly behind Paris in Europe.

Works by the Nabis, the Fauves, the Cubists and other representatives of the French avant-garde after 1900 are attached to this core. Older art is represented by the great Dutch 17th century and Venetian masters, as well as by a group of Gothic wooden sculptures. The Emil Bührle Collection includes world-famous works such as 'The Sower at Sunset' by Vincent van Gogh, 'Little Irene" by Auguste Renoir, 'The Field of Poppies at Vétheuil' by Claude Monet, 'The Boy with the Red Waistcoat" by Paul Cézanne and a 'Reclining Nude' by Modigliani. The artists in the collection include Canaletto, Ingres and Delacroix, as well as Manet, Degas, Gauguin, Signac, Vlaminck, Braque and Picasso. The loan contract for 203 works is permanent and can only be terminated with many years' notice, for the first time at the end of 2034.

2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_cezanne.png
Paul Cézanne, Le Garçon au gilet rouge, about 1888/90, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_monet.png
Claude Monet, Champ de coquelicots près de Vétheuil, about 1879, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_gaugin.png
Paul Gauguin, L'Offrande, 1902, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_delacroix.png
Eugène Delacroix, Muley Abd-el-Rahman, 1862, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_canaletto.png
Antonio Canal (Il Canaletto), Santa Maria della Salute, about 1738/42, Emil Bührle Collection, long-term loan at the Kunsthaus Zürich
Contentbild_970x970_Portrait_Buehrle_neu.png
Emil Bührle, about 1946

The world-renowned Impressionist works bequeathed by Emil Bührle (1890-1956) are closely intertwined with his activities as an armaments industrialist and with contemporary history, which is the subject of a detailed documentation. It is part of the tour through the halls, in which around 170 works are shown on more than 900 m2 , and conveys the historical context of Bührle's role as industrialist, patron and collector, who was closely associated with the Kunsthaus.

Gifts such as the large-format water lily paintings by Claude Monet or the Gates of Hell by Auguste Rodin have become an integral part of the collection. By financing an exhibition wing in the 1950s, Emil Georg Bührle created a platform for unique events, where art and the public meet directly to this day.

The archives of the E.G. Bührle Collection Foundation and the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft are represented in the documentation room with regularly changing presentations. An audio guide links the documentation to the exhibition and deals with art historical topics as well as questions about the provenance of certain works. Guided tours with changing focuses are also offered, providing background knowledge on the origins of the collection. Independently of the museum visit, a digitorial on the collection can be consulted online, which supplements the detailed information on the provenance of the works accessible on the website of the Emil Bührle Collection. The entire digitised archive of the Bührle Collection and that of the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft is open to researchers in the Kunsthaus Library. A thorough presentation 'The Emil Bührle Collection. History, Complete Catalogue and 70 Masterpieces' (2021) by Lukas Gloor, long-time director of the collection, places it in the larger context of the cultivation of modern art in the 20th century. This creates both easily accessible and academically sophisticated conditions for studying the Emil Bührle Collection.

Website of the E.G. Bührle Foundation

floorplan_iphone_mockup_05.jpg

Where can I find the Collection Emil Bührle?

With our digital visitor guide you can prepare for your tour and find your way around the museum.

Buehrle_A737210.jpg
Sammlung_Buehrle_Candrian.jpg
Buehrle_A7305556.jpg

Bedeutende Sammlung Französischer Malerei

Die traditionell starke Präsenz der französischen Malerei in der Schweiz erhält durch die räumliche und organisatorische Anbindung der Sammlung Emil Bührle unter dem Dach des Kunsthaus Zürich eine entscheidende Vertiefung im Bereich der Sammlung. Mit diesem publikumswirksamen Schwerpunkt rangiert Zürich in Europa nun direkt hinter Paris.

Diesem Kern angegliedert sind Werke der Nabis, der Fauves, der Kubisten und weiterer Vertreter der französischen Avantgarde nach 1900. Ältere Kunst ist mit dem grossen holländischen 17. Jahrhundert und mit venezianischen Meistern vertreten, sowie mit einer Gruppe gotischer Holzskulpturen. Zur Sammlung Emil Bührle gehören weltbekannte Werke wie «Der Sämann bei Sonnenuntergang» von Vincent van Gogh, «Die kleine Irene» von Auguste Renoir, «Das Mohnblumenfeld bei Vétheuil» von Claude Monet, «Der Knabe mit der roten Weste» von Paul Cézanne und ein «Liegender Akt» von Modigliani. Zu den Künstlern der Sammlung zählen neben Canaletto, Ingres und Delacroix auch Manet, Degas, Gauguin, Signac, Vlaminck, Braque und Picasso. Der Leihvertrag über 203 Werke ist auf Dauer angelegt und eine Kündigung nur mit langjährigen Vorlaufzeiten möglich, erstmals auf Ende 2034.

Cezanne_Knabe mit roter Weste.png
Paul Cézanne, Le Garçon au gilet rouge, um 1888/90, Sammlung Emil Bührle, Dauerleihgabe im Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_monet.png
Claude Monet, Champ de coquelicots près de Vétheuil, um 1879, Sammlung Emil Bührle, Dauerleihgabe im Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_gaugin.png
Paul Gauguin, L'Offrande, 1902, Sammlung Emil Bührle, Dauerleihgabe im Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_delacroix.png
Eugène Delacroix, Muley Abd-el-Rahman, 1862, Sammlung Emil Bührle, Dauerleihgabe im Kunsthaus Zürich
2_1_Slider_small_buehrle_canaletto.png
Antonio Canal (Il Canaletto), Santa Maria della Salute, um 1738/42, Sammlung Emil Bührle, Dauerleihgabe im Kunsthaus Zürich
Contentbild_970x970_Portrait_Buehrle_neu.png
Emil Bührle, um 1946

Die von Emil Bührle (1890–1956) hinterlassenen weltbedeutenden impressionistischen Werke sind mit seiner Tätigkeit als Rüstungsindustrieller und mit der Zeitgeschichte eng verflochten, was Gegenstand einer ausführlichen Dokumentation ist. Sie ist Bestandteil des Rundgangs durch die Säle, in denen auf über 900 m2 rund 170 Werke gezeigt werden, und vermittelt den historischen Kontext zu Bührles Rolle als Industrieller, Mäzen und Sammler, der dem Kunsthaus eng verbunden war.

Geschenke wie die grossformatigen Seerosenbilder von Claude Monet oder das Höllentor von Auguste Rodin sind aus der Sammlung nicht mehr wegzudenken. Mit der Finanzierung eines Ausstellungstraktes ermöglichte Emil Georg Bührle in den 1950-er Jahren eine Plattform für einmalige Anlässe, wo sich Kunst und Publikum bis heute unmittelbar begegnen.

Die Archive der Stiftung Sammlung E.G. Bührle und der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft sind mit regelmässig wechselnden Präsentationen im Dokumentationsraum vertreten. Ein Audioguide verknüpft die Dokumentation mit der Ausstellung und behandelt neben kunsthistorischen Themen auch Fragen zur Provenienz bestimmter Werke. Angeboten sind ferner Führungen mit wechselnden Schwerpunkten, die Hintergrundwissen zur Entstehung der Sammlung vermitteln. Unabhängig vom Museumsbesuch kann ein Digitorial online zur Sammlung konsultiert werden, das die auf der Website der Sammlung Emil Bührle zugängliche detaillierte Information zu den Provenienzen der Werke ergänzt. Das gesamte digitalisierte Archiv der Sammlung Bührle und dasjenige der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft steht Forschenden in der Kunsthaus-Bibliothek zur Benutzung offen. Eine gründliche Darstellung «Die Sammlung Emil Bührle. Geschichte, Gesamtkatalog und 70 Meisterwerke» (2021) von Lukas Gloor, langjähriger Direktor der Sammlung, stellt diese in den grösseren Zusammenhang der Kunstpflege der Moderne im 20. Jahrhundert. Damit sind für eine Beschäftigung mit der Sammlung Emil Bührle sowohl einfach zugängliche wie auch wissenschaftlich anspruchsvolle Voraussetzungen geschaffen.

Website der Stiftung E.G. Bührle

floorplan_iphone_mockup_05.jpg

Wo finde ich die Sammlung Emil Bührle?

Mit unserem Besucherguide können Sie sich auf Ihren Rundgang vorbereiten und sich im Museum orientieren.