Slider_small_Warhol_Andy.original.png
Andy Warhol, Big Torn Campbellʼs Soup Can (Vegetable Beef), 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, © Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc. / 2019 ProLitteris, Zurich
Picasso, Grand nu, 1964
Pablo Picasso, Grand nu (Big Nude), 1964, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1969, © Succession Picasso / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Pollock_Jackson.png
Jackson Pollock , Number 21, 1951, Kunsthaus Zürich, Geschenk des Holenia Trust im Andenken an Joseph H. Hirshhorn, 1988, © Pollock-Krasner Foundation / 2019 ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Bacon_Francis.png
Francis Bacon, Three studies of the Male Back, Triptych, 1970, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1982, © Estate of Francis Bacon. All rights reserved / 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
Twombly, Achilles, 1962
Cy Twombly, Vengeance of Achilles, 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1987, © Cy Twombly Foundation
Hamilton, Interior 1, 1964
Richard Hamilton, Interior I, 1964, Kunsthaus Zürich, legs Erna and Curt Burgauer, 2002, © R. Hamilton. All Rights Reserved / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Rothko, Untitled, 1963
Mark Rothko, Untitled (White, Blacks, Grays on Maroon), 1963, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1971, © 1998 Kate Rothko Prizel & Christopher Rothko / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Baselitz_Georg.png
Georg Baselitz, Nachtessen in Dresden (Supper in Dresden), 1983, Kunsthaus Zürich, © 2019 Georg Baselitz
Slider_small_Beuys_Joseph.png
Joseph Beuys, Olivestone, 1984, Kunsthaus Zürich, Donated by Baronessa Lucrezia De Domizio Durini in memory of the deep friendship and close collaboration which she and her husban Barone Giuseppe Durini had enjoyed with Joseph Beuys, 1992, © 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Johns, Zone, 1962
Jasper Johns, Zone, 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1973, © 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Nauman_Bruce.png
Bruce Nauman, Model for Tunnel. Square to Triangle, 1981, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1998, © Bruce Nauman / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich

In the 1940s and 1950s, abstraction in the US was a radically new form characterised by subjectivity and expressiveness. Artists such as Jackson Pollock and Willem de Kooning, an emigrant from the Netherlands, sought to use paint in a more spontaneous and emotional fashion; they found their solutions in the intuitive techniques of European Surrealism, where the gestural painting process was supposed to give free rein to the artist’s inner imaginings. The result was the largely uncontrolled application of paint that was termed Action Painting.

In the 1950s, artists such as Mark Rothko and Barnett Newman constrained the impulsiveness of Action Painting within their ‘colour fields’, but retained the emotional character of Abstract Expressionism. In their works, areas of colour combine in stark contrasts or complementary interplay. Rothko wanted to use the impact of colour fields to engage the viewer’s sensibilities, while Newman was more interested in a quest for absolute beauty and the sublime.

Meanwhile in Paris, which had held that position for the preceding century and a half, abstract movements came to the fore in the shape of the ‘informel’. Yet figurative art in Europe was by no means a spent force, thanks in particular to Pablo Picasso and—notably through his work as a sculptor—Alberto Giacometti. Francis Bacon (1909–1992), an Irish born British painter working in London, kept the theme of the human image going, producing radically new paintings of violently contorted figures seemingly trapped within cagelike structures.

The Collection

Visit the complete collection (including audio guide)

Ticket-Sammlung
Teaser digitale Sammlung

Online collection

Discover the most important paintings, sculptures, installations and graphic works from the Kunsthaus in our online collection. The selection is being continually expanded and complemented by the latest scientific findings. With the generous support of the Federal Office of Culture (FOC).

Slider_small_Warhol_Andy.original.png
Andy Warhol, Big Torn Campbellʼs Soup Can (Vegetable Beef), 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, © The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, Inc. / 2019, ProLitteris, Zürich
Picasso, Grand nu, 1964
Pablo Picasso, Grand nu (Grosser Akt), 1964, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1969, © Succession Picasso / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Pollock_Jackson.png
Jackson Pollock , Number 21 (Nummer 21), 1951, Kunsthaus Zürich, Geschenk des Holenia Trust im Andenken an Joseph H. Hirshhorn, 1988, © Pollock-Krasner Foundation / 2019 ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Bacon_Francis.png
Francis Bacon, Three studies of the Male Back, Triptych [Drei Studien des männlichen Rückens (Triptychon)], 1970, Kunsthaus Zürich, Vereinigung Zürcher Kunstfreunde, 1982, © Estate of Francis Bacon. All rights reserved / 2019, ProLitteris, Zurich
Twombly, Achilles, 1962
Cy Twombly, Vengeance of Achilles (Die Rache des Achilles), 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1987, © Cy Twombly Foundation
Hamilton, Interior 1, 1964
Richard Hamilton, Interior I (Interieur I), 1964, Kunsthaus Zürich, Legat Erna und Curt Burgauer, 2002, © R. Hamilton. All Rights Reserved / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Rothko, Untitled, 1963
Mark Rothko, Untitled (White, Blacks, Grays on Maroon) [Ohne Titel (Weiss, schwarze und graue Töne auf Kastanienbraun)], 1963, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1971, © 1998 Kate Rothko Prizel & Christopher Rothko / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Baselitz_Georg.png
Georg Baselitz, Nachtessen in Dresden, 1983, Kunsthaus Zürich, © 2019 Georg Baselitz
Slider_small_Beuys_Joseph.png
Joseph Beuys, Olivestone, 1984, Kunsthaus Zürich, Geschenk von Baronessa Lucrezia de Domizio Durini in Erinnerung an die tiefe Freundschaft und enge Zusammenarbeit, die sie und ihren Gatten Barone Giuseppe Durini mit Joseph Beuys verbunden hat, 1992, © 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Johns, Zone, 1962
Jasper Johns, Zone, 1962, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1973, © 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich
Slider_small_Nauman_Bruce.png
Bruce Nauman, Model for Tunnel. Square to Triangle (Modell für Tunnel. Quadrat zu Dreieck), 1981, Kunsthaus Zürich, 1998, © Bruce Nauman / 2020, ProLitteris, Zurich

Die Abstraktion in den USA der 1940er- und 1950er-Jahre war eine radikal neue, von Subjektivität und Expressivität geprägte Kunstform. Künstler wie Jackson Pollock oder der aus den Niederlanden emigrierte Willem de Kooning suchten nach einem spontaneren und emotionaleren Umgang mit Farbe und fanden zu den intuitiven Techniken des europäischen Surrealismus. Der gestische Malprozess sollte den inneren Eingebungen des Künstlers folgen. Dabei entstand eine weitgehend unkontrollierte Aktionsmalerei – das Action Painting.

In den 1950er-Jahren zügelten Künstler wie Mark Rothko und Barnett Newman den Impetus des Action Painting in der Farbfeldmalerei, hielten aber am emotionalen Charakter des Abstrakten Expressionismus fest. In ihren Werken treffen Farbflächen in starken Kontrasten oder im komplementären Zusammenspiel aufeinander. Rothko suchte mittels der Wirksamkeit der Farbfelder die Empfindungen der Betrachter zu erreichen, während Newman eher nach der absoluten Schönheit, dem Erhabenen, strebte.

Auch im zuvor während eineinhalb Jahrhunderten dominierenden Paris rückten in Form des «Informel» abstrakte Tendenzen ins Zentrum. Zugleich war die figürliche Kunst in Europa noch keineswegs an ihr Ende gelangt. Dafür bürgten insbesondere Pablo Picasso und – vor allem als Bildhauer – Alberto Giacometti. Der 1909 in Irland geborenen und in London tätige britische Maler Francis Bacon (1909–1992) trug das Thema des Menschenbildes weit in die zweite Jahrhunderthälfte hinein und malte radikal neue Bilder von Personen, die in seiner Malerei in gewaltsame Torsionen und käfigartige Strukturen gebunden wurden.

Die Sammlung

Besuchen Sie die gesamte Sammlung (inkl. Audioguide)

Ticket-Sammlung
Teaser digitale Sammlung

Sammlung Online

Entdecken Sie die bedeutendsten Gemälde, Skulpturen, Installationen und grafischen Werke des Kunsthauses in der Sammlung Online. Die Auswahl wird laufend erweitert und um neueste wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse fliessend ergänzt. Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Bundesamtes für Kultur (BAK).