KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Signaletik.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfileldbau_Sammlung_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Sammlung_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Festsaal.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Shop_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Bar_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Nachtansicht.jpg
KHZ_Moserbau.jpg

Architectural guided tours

In our ‘Chipperfield’ tour of the building you’ll learn all about the extension and its star architect’s vision.

Together with the existing Kunsthaus building it constitute Switzerland’s largest art museum. The extension is due to be opened in autumn 2021. The project will be distinguished by four core elements: its focus on art of the 1960s and later, the Emil Bührle Collection, medium-sized temporary exhibitions, and its central entrance hall, a new form of public space in which to experience art.

The New Kunsthaus is a gateway to the world of art, in all its rich and varied forms. It reflects and shapes contemporary trends and builds on the existing strengths that make the Kunsthaus Zürich collection unique. With a series of greatly enhanced facilities, it opens up a vibrant public space in the heart of Zurich.

Showing art in a dynamic context

The extension will enhance the Kunsthaus Zürich’s focus on art of the 1960s and later, in all of its abundant significance and complex contingency. The finished project will demonstrate parallel techniques within discrete epochs of artistic production, and how the genres of painting, graphic arts, sculpture, photography and new media interrelate. Traditionally proportioned galleries are also planned for showing paintings of the 19th century and works of Classical Modernism.

Rückbau auf dem Kantonsschulareal.jpg
Demolition on the cantonal school grounds 2015, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Baugrube.jpg
Construction pit 2016, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Bau Stand Januar 2017.jpg
Construction stage 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Zustand Ende 2017 .jpg
Status end 2017, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Erweiterung Kunsthaus Baustelle
March 2018, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
Photovoltaik und Oberlichter.JPG
Photovoltaics and skylights 2019, photo © Amt für Städtebau, Juliet Haller
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_2.jpg
Kunsthaus extension 2020

Background and facts

Detailed information about the idea, form and content of the extension can be found in our brochure on the new Kunsthaus. The chronology describes all the key stages in the project, from the competition through the start of construction to completion. See what happened on the construction site in our time-lapse video.

Idea, Form, Content (PDF)

Chronicle (PDF)

To the time-lapse video

One of a kind: French Impressionism

The assimilation of the Emil Bührle Collection into the buildings and organization of the Kunsthaus is a unique opportunity and a quantum leap for the collection, making the Kunsthaus the best place outside Paris to explore the hugely popular topic of French painting

The largest art museum in Switzerland

The extension will provide space to show 20 percent of the Kunsthaus collection, fully twice that available at present. It will make the Kunsthaus Zürich the largest and most dynamic art museum in Switzerland. Thanks to the extraordinary commitment shown by the Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft, half of the construction costs are to be met from private sources. The City and Canton of Zurich are responsible for the remaining half.

KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_zentrale_Halle.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Signaletik.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfileldbau_Sammlung_1.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Sammlung_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Festsaal.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Shop_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Bar_2.jpg
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Nachtansicht.jpg
KHZ_Moserbau.jpg

Architekturführungen

In unserer Architekturführung «Chipperfield» erfahren Sie alles über den Erweiterungsbau und die architektonischen Visionen des Star-Architekten.

Zusammen mit dem heutigen Gebäude entsteht bis Herbst 2021 ein dynamisches Ensemble – das grösste Kunstmuseum der Schweiz. Die Eröffnung erfolgt im Herbst 2021. Vier inhaltliche Kernelemente wird der Erweiterungsbau dabei aufnehmen: Kunst ab den 1960er Jahren, die Sammlung Emil Bührle, mittelgrosse Wechselausstellungen sowie eine zentrale Eingangshalle als neuartiger, offener Ort der Kunsterfahrung.

Das erweiterte Kunsthaus bietet Zugang zu allen Gattungen der Kunst. Es setzt aktuell wechselnde Akzente in der Gegenwartskunst und baut Schwerpunkte in der Sammlung aus, die das Kunsthaus Zürich einmalig machen. Mit einer erweiterten Angebotsstruktur erschliesst es der Öffentlichkeit einen lebendigen Raum im Zentrum von Zürich.

Kunst im dynamischen Kontext zeigen

Die Kunst ab den 1960er Jahren, ihr Bedeutungs- und Beziehungsreichtum, werden verstärkt zur Geltung gebracht. Die Umsetzung des Konzepts wird aufzeigen, welche parallelen Techniken innerhalb einzelner Epochen der Kunstproduktion bestehen und wie sich die Gattungen Malerei, Grafik, Skulptur, Fotografie und neue Medien zueinander verhalten. Darüber hinaus sind Galerien klassischen Formats für Gemälde des 19. Jahrhunderts und der Klassischen Moderne vorgesehen.

Rückbau auf dem Kantonsschulareal.jpg
Rückbau auf dem Kantonschulareal 2015, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
Baugrube.jpg
Baugrube 2016, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
Bau Stand Januar 2017.jpg
Bau Stand 2017, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
Zustand Ende 2017 .jpg
Zustand Ende 2017, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
Erweiterung Kunsthaus Baustelle
Stand Mai 2018, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
Photovoltaik und Oberlichter.JPG
Photovoltaik und Oberlichter 2019, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller
KHZ_Chipperfieldbau_Aussen_2.jpg
Kunsthaus-Erweiterung 2020, Foto © Stadt Zürich, Juliet Haller

Hintergründe und Fakten

Detaillierte Informationen zu Idee, Form und Inhalt finden Sie in unserer Broschüre. Die Chronik informiert über alle wichtigen Projektetappen vom Wettbewerb, über den Baustart bis zur Realisierung. Was bisher auf der Baustelle geschah, können Sie zudem in unserem Zeitraffervideo verfolgen. Im jährlich erscheinenden Baubericht beleuchten Beiträge von Nachbarn und der Bauherrschaft die Erweiterung aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven.

Idee, Form, Inhalt (PDF)

Chronik (PDF)

Zum Zeitraffervideo

Einzigartig: Französischer Impressionismus

Die räumliche und organisatorische Anbindung der Sammlung Emil Bührle unter einem Dach mit dem Kunsthaus bietet eine einmalige Gelegenheit – die Chance zum Quantensprung im Bereich der Sammlung. Nur in Paris wäre der publikumswirksame Schwerpunkt Französische Malerei noch besser vertreten.

Das grösste Kunstmuseum der Schweiz

Der Anteil der Sammlung, der gezeigt werden kann, verdoppelt sich mit der Erweiterung auf 20 Prozent und macht das Kunsthaus Zürich zum grössten und dynamischsten Kunstmuseum der Schweiz. Dank des ausserordentlichen Engagements der Zürcher Kunstgesellschaft kann die Hälfte der Baukosten von privater Seite finanziert werden. Die andere Hälfte steuern Stadt und Kanton Zürich bei.